X

UFC 101 Preview

Posted: August 5, 2009
UFC 101 Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/40498/ufc-101-preview/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/171354_LGST/ufc-101.jpg
Video_40498

Join the MMA chokehold with Blair Butler and Blair Herter as they break down the upcoming UFC 101 event with BJ Penn, Kenny Florian, Anderson Silva and Forrest Griffin. You can just taste the testosterone in the air. It tastes very odd.


 

Comments are Closed

  • hughJ

    This was an improvement compared to a previous Blair/Blair MMA bit I saw. They looked a bit more natural in their analysis, feeling less like they were just hitting XYZ talking points written on the prompter. Overall I think the analysis is still too simplistic (no real interesting insight) for someone who actually watches MMA.

    Rather than just a general fighter summary and choosing a winner/loser, some predictions and reasoning should be made as to specifically how the fight will go, and of course in what round and how it ends. You can even throw up a "Silva - R2 TKO-Strikes" or whatever graphic afterward.

    Also I know the whole 'Blair vs Blair' thing must sound like a license to print money, but you shouldn't shy away from having Kevin offer his own opinion. It's one thing to have him direct questions between an expert panel on tv or films, but in this case his opinion is probably no less educated than the panel's. His banter is really missing from these segments.

    Posted: August 8, 2009 12:07 AM
    hughJ
  • bgreene

    Please let us know what facts we got wrong and we can make sure and correct them...

    Posted: August 7, 2009 10:43 AM
    bgreene
  • duff1972

    I have to agree with a lot of these posts. i love G4 and I love most of the hosts, but if your gonna comment on MMA get a real sports analyst. First off anyone who knows anything about MMa knows that Silva and Griffins styles are not very similiar at all. Plus they left out the fact that Griffins kicks have evolved into nothing short of devastating (he almost broke Rampages leg with one kick). Don't underestimate Forrest, he's fearless and tough as nails plus he just keeps improving. It's gonna be a intresting fight. My money is on Florian. He has improved unbelievably and he's hungry. Some people will disagree with me but I think Penn is lazy and full of himself and he better watch himself with Florian.

    Posted: August 7, 2009 9:56 AM
    duff1972
  • ElProducto

    To be clear, it's not that your opinions are wrong, it's that these guys lack basic knowledge of the sport and the promotion.

    Posted: August 6, 2009 3:02 PM
    ElProducto
  • ElProducto

    This is really, really bad. Saying that they're huge fans of the sport is an out and out lie, because none of them seem to have any idea what they're talking about. 'Studying up on the fights' and being a fan of the sport doesn't mean watching the event preview.

    This really is terrible.

    Posted: August 6, 2009 3:01 PM
    ElProducto
  • mike22rtn

    GSP is in welterweight not middle weight

    Posted: August 6, 2009 2:42 PM
    mike22rtn
  • bgreene

    Thanks for the comments guys!

    We love MMA here at G4, and pride ourselves on really studying up on these fights. We might have misspoken, but we corrected ourselves throughout.

    Opinions are strong from everybody, especially when it has to do with MMA, so we understand that everyone has their own take. That's actually why we do these! We like to hear what everyone thinks on the forums!

    So thanks for watching, and please continue with the constructive criticism. Blair, Blair, and Kevin are huge fans of the sport, and we love to talk about it with you guys!

    Posted: August 6, 2009 10:05 AM
    bgreene
  • jamesmottoy23

    we all now that anderson silvas gonna kick forrest griffin and penn is gonna get his ass handed to him

    Posted: August 6, 2009 9:17 AM
    jamesmottoy23
  • KYFighter

    What i cant wait to see is the Anderson, the crazy technician, versus Forrest, The Dog Fighter, Griffin. I wanna see if Anderson can pick apart The Dog or whether Forrest can, ala Michael Vick, rip Anderson's throat out.

    I do know one thing, UFC 101 is gonna be great!

    Posted: August 6, 2009 2:01 AM
    KYFighter
  • KYFighter

    How can you say that Anderson Silva is not a great stand up fighter? He DESTROYED Rich Franklin breaking his nose and moving it almost an inch sideways. Granted his last couple fights weren't "Knock Out Reel" worthy but he fought a smart fight which was his fight.
    As far as the B.J. Penn vs. Kenny Florian fight... thats like saying the rapists vs. the murderers. Who do i root for?! I HATE them both. Forget the hawaiin versus whats his name.

    Posted: August 6, 2009 1:56 AM
    KYFighter
  • bloodfiendx3

    yeah i agree with both of u silverweed and dirtbag
    im a really big MMA fan some of the stuff that they talk about on this show really gets me mad... obviously kevin doesnt know too much about the sport... this thing had me like REALLY? lol he didnt even know that silva isnt the lightheavy champion i think forrest got it... no one has a heart like forest

    Posted: August 6, 2009 12:00 AM
    bloodfiendx3
  • jephschlager

    if you are going to do this get your facts straight. Anderson Silva holds the record for most wins. cote did not just lay down the whole fight. Travis luter was beaten because he gassed. also bj Penn is not undefeated in the 155 division. He lost to Jens pulver at ufc 35, which was for the title.

    Posted: August 5, 2009 11:59 PM
    jephschlager
  • DirtbagSteph

    I think AOTS needs to leave the MMA to real experts. They don't know what they are talking about. If they want to talk about MMA then bring in real experts... not "fans". That being said, I think Forrest Griffin will smash on Silva. Silva is good but the dedication that Griffin puts into training is unbelievable. He can take a punch, he has the endurance and he has a very strong punch. Silva is just a bitch. Go forrest!

    Posted: August 5, 2009 10:03 PM
    DirtbagSteph
  • Silverweed

    Look I love G4 and am a massive MMA fan, but unless you get a real sports journalist out there to talk about the sport it's nothing more than an insult. Think about it, credential wise this is no different than some UFC fanboy chattering away about UFC 101 on his youtube account. I'm not saying that this is altogether a bad idea but I'm quite sure that any fan of any other sport would feel just as disrespected if said sport was treated as such. The idea that a girl who knows a lot about comic books and an ex member of the real world cast are qualified to give me the "inside scoop" on anything regarding MMA is purely laughable.

    Posted: August 5, 2009 7:03 PM
    Silverweed
AdChoices