X

Fat Princess Review

Posted: August 4, 2009
Fat Princess Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/40486/fat-princess-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/145286_LGST/fat-princess.jpg
Video_40486
Join in on the multiplayer fun as Morgan Webb reviews the PSN exclusive 'Fat Princess'.

Comments are Closed

  • ultima12

    I've been watching G4 for a while now and of course that means that I watch X-Play. It absolutely astounds me that they still take shots at the PS3 every chance they get. I have all three consoles and I actually really like all of them. I'm a fan of games before I'm a fan of consoles which is clearly not how X-play feels. I absolutely love how they complain about the matchmaking problems with Fat Princess, which is a $14.99 game. Just a little less than a year ago a little game came out called Gears of War 2. When that game first came out it would take my friends and I sometimes over 30 minutes to get into a match, but X-Play neglected to mention that. In fact they still claim that it was one of the best games to come out in the past year. The multiplayer in that game is completely broken and Epic has been coming out with patch after patch to try and fix it up. Now they have a weak and ridiculous experience points system that you can't do anything with. Is it just me or does it feel like Epic doesn't know what to do with their over-hyped and ultimately broken game. PS3's exclusives have been incredible and they are getting better and better and the last few 360 exclusives were complete dissappointments. Does anybody play Halo Wars? Come on, X-Play. Stop being complete blind fanboys and review games for the games themselves and not what console they're on.

    Posted: August 6, 2009 12:21 PM
    ultima12
  • ABXPuPpeT

    The PlayStation 3 often gets a bad rap, yah from 360 fANBOYS

    Posted: August 6, 2009 9:49 AM
    ABXPuPpeT
  • Niguy1

    I totally agree with the score they gave to fat princess, (like always). Anyways, love XPLAY!!! Watch it every day on Itunes cause my TV can't receive G4. :(

    Posted: August 6, 2009 9:15 AM
    Niguy1
  • BorderLineStaker

    Really...G4 is just beating a dead horse, bringing up PS3's rocky start....its going on 3 years now STOP BEATING THE HORSE, its dead already..its been dead.

    (ps) your not funny G4 staffers and your just giving more ammunition to the flame wars and fanboys.

    Posted: August 5, 2009 9:24 PM
    BorderLineStaker
  • Aurochs18

    The network connection issues have been addressed already, and they are going to fix it, so I'm not too concerned about it at all. After watching the Dev Diaries, it's obvious that they really care about the feedback and offering a great experience.

    So ya, so far the connection problems have been annoying, but they should be fixed within the near future. Other than that, this game is a lot of fun, and, surprisingly enough, I DID get into a game where my whole team had mics (including me) and it turned out to be really awesome. There is a depth to different strategy. Also, Priest is nowhere near overpowered. Dark Priest can't kill, only weaken and if a Priest is healing, they are wide open for Rangers/Warriors to kill.

    Posted: August 5, 2009 9:05 PM
    Aurochs18
  • Lionheart377

    Thanks WrekingKrew, that's exactly what I was trying to say. I'm sorry if I started a flame war here Dana, but I just wanted to bring something up that I have been noticing. I'm really trying not to be an ignorent fanboy with this topic, but trying to get some perspective on why I have seen this happen so many times with the reviews.

    Posted: August 5, 2009 9:02 PM
    Lionheart377
  • cwhas2godhands

    the priest are too powerful. the game lags when too many people are on-screen. it's hard to connect, and stay connected. there is no depth to the combat. lack of teamwork kills the strategy element, take for instance building a catapult in your own castle. and there's no leveling. i don't like fat princess. should have spent five more dollars for wipeout hd.

    Posted: August 5, 2009 5:13 PM
    cwhas2godhands
  • iReviewForYou

    It's a pretty sweet game no doubt, simple yet fun to play, but commenting @ sukTHEfacc's comment ("this is easily a 5/5 geez it seems like G4 gives 4/5 like candy to every downloadable game") G4 isn't going to give 5/5 just to any game, and 4/5's are safer to say that "you'll most probably like it" BUT the game itself is not perfect. But overall, a great game to download for the PS3

    Posted: August 5, 2009 3:58 PM
    iReviewForYou
  • sukTHEfacc

    @Lionheart

    You are absolutely right and I completely agree with you...
    I have fun with new titles for my PS3 just about every night. G4 is so wrong in this aspect, because Sony has put out tons more exclusive titles (ORIGINAL IP's) than the 360. it's just factual math, so no xbot on earth can argue that. In fact, I buy about 4-6 games every month on PSN, and generally I'm picky, so that says a lot.

    so to that I say, wtf G4?

    Posted: August 5, 2009 3:07 PM
    sukTHEfacc
  • Lionheart377

    I really wasn't trying to start anything, I just don't see why all these ps3 reviews have to start with something like "the ps3 has major problems but here is a bright spot" or "The ps3 has been collecting dust for a while and now you have a reason to play it!" That just isn't the case to me anymore and I believe it deserves more respect. I understand that it used to be fact, but why bring it up in almost all the new reviews? It was a rocky start, but that's just old news.

    Posted: August 5, 2009 2:57 PM
    Lionheart377
  • Stonerbackwards

    This game is fun really fun, the fix is coming soon.

    Posted: August 5, 2009 2:30 PM
    Stonerbackwards
  • benhamean

    Okay children...Everyone just needs to stop talking about the lack of games/content/reputation of the ps3 because there simply isn't a lack of this anymore. Big exclusives out now and coming, yes we know, we watched E3. If might just stop if everyone wouldn't keep bringing up the past.

    Posted: August 5, 2009 11:20 AM
  • dvinson

    I think you guys are bringing your own issues to the table in terms of the PS3 stuff. I wasn't busting on it at all; in fact, I was trying to applaud it by branching out and offering an awesome game on PSN. I mentioned the fact that the PS3 "often gets a bad rap." I didn't say "deserves a bad rap." That wasn't commentary, it was just fact. This review wasn't about whether the PS3 is better or worse than the 360, so I didn't think it was worthwhile to include anything about all the great, upcoming PS3 exclusives, as we'll talk about those individually when they're released. I just wanted to tell you how much I thought you'd like Fat Princess. Plus, it's a review, so of course I'm going to mention things that are wrong with the game, along with telling you how great it is.

    Posted: August 5, 2009 10:47 AM
    dvinson
  • sergeant95

    Why does G4 always bust on the ps3 I played all consoles and i know all their features and the ps3 is the best and has the best games yeah sure we dont have Halo, Gears, left for dead, or Fable. But we have Infamous, Killzone, Ratchet and clank series, Buzz, all these psn exclusives like fat princess, god of war series,LBP best game ever,and so much more i just cant think of the rest right now so G4 please stop picking on the ps3 you know and I know its better

    Posted: August 5, 2009 9:26 AM
    sergeant95
  • Unseen_Soul

    GO FAT PRINCESS.
    this is the castle crashers of the ps3 but by my understanding we're getting caste crashers soon.

    at anyrate 360 users need to shutup about how we dont have any games and actually play a ps3 for a hour and see how fun it is

    Posted: August 5, 2009 7:20 AM
    Unseen_Soul
  • RRODisBack

    Why wasn't the online matchmaking problems and lag mentioned in the Gears 2 review?

    Posted: August 5, 2009 6:54 AM
    RRODisBack
  • master753123

    best psn or live game ever

    Posted: August 4, 2009 10:44 PM
    master753123
  • Lionheart377

    I'm glad to see this game is doing well, but I have a problem with the way that almost all X-play reviews treat the ps3 when they review a new great exclusive. I'm sorry because I'm going to sound like a dumb fanboy, but it seems like at the start of every review they say how the ps3 has a huge lack of great games and how bad it did at launch. With Warhawk, heavenly sword, killzone 2, infamous and now this game, they have taken a stab at sony's console. I don't know about anyone else, but I find there to be a very large amount of great games on the ps3 right now and an even larger amount coming very soon. I actually think that the exclusives are starting to surpass the 360. If you look at the line up for the ps3 between now and 2010, you have Uncharted, Rachet, Heavy rain, GOWIII, Gran Turismo, The last guardian, demon's souls and so many more. The 360 is sorely lacking in software now, with really only a few great exclusives coming soon. Halo 3 ODST may be full priced, but it is till an expansion. L4D 2 basicly just online, which really splits the install base. Mass effect 2 will be awesome, and so will Conviction, but there just seems to be many more amazing games coming for the ps3. I just hope that the bad talk on the ps3 will stop. I love x play, but they would stop much of the flame wars that they complain about if they stopped taking stabs at a system everytime a good review for an exclusive hits.

    Posted: August 4, 2009 10:31 PM
    Lionheart377
  • nitsuj1295

    I think it is only 4/5. I've played it, but there really is no competitive factor. Gladiate mode would be better with a friend. No rankings yet?

    Posted: August 4, 2009 8:39 PM
  • sukTHEfacc

    this is easily a 5/5 geez it seems like G4 gives 4/5 like candy to every downloadable game

    Posted: August 4, 2009 7:12 PM
    sukTHEfacc
AdChoices