X

MAG Preview

Posted: July 16, 2009
MAG Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/39948/mag-preview/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/166593_LGST/xp20090716_mag_pre.jpg
Video_39948
Morgan Webb takes a look at Sony's new online strategy-shooter MAG. A PlayStation 3 exclusive, learn about the game's storyline and mechanics, including how the game can accomodate 256 unique players in one session.

Games in this Video:

MAG (PlayStation 3)

Comments are Closed

  • Some_One_Plays

    About "evilriku's" comment:

    lol, I know what you're talking about because Gears of War 2 had lots of problems with matchmaking and was never mentioned in the review.

    I think people are missing the whole point of the comment, which is "instigating." I would say almost all gaming journalist will say something stupid to stir up the community. I love it the most when they say it s just an opinion, when in reality opinions shouldn t be reviews because the whole point of reviews is to tell other gamers whether it s worth it or not. Not to tell us whether they enjoyed the game in a specific genre, this is why I always look at the review criteria of each website. If there is a fun factor you know reviews on based on a bias.

    Posted: July 18, 2009 5:27 PM
    Some_One_Plays
  • thizzianabob

    TREY4LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Posted: July 18, 2009 3:18 PM
    thizzianabob
  • Mnstrboy

    this should be on the 360 and 256 plyers would not be fun because just like in frontlines wit like 34 plyers the maps r so big and spread out u never see any one (except like 5-6 players like u saw in the preview mostly because they dont know the map) and most people camp and use their special equip things like the robo cars and helicopters or they just snipe all game and dont move

    Posted: July 18, 2009 3:15 PM
    Mnstrboy
  • unfungames

    256 players...yet in this video ive never seen more than 5-6 on screen. how is it 256 when the map is so big you never run into anyone? call of duty 4 has a lot more action because the maps are smaller. all this game brings is an incredible amount of lag. its going to bomb just like SOCOM Confrontation did

    Posted: July 18, 2009 3:01 PM
    unfungames
  • Hazerdhat

    ok first of all @ partyboy8967 your a retard for returning a ps3 after playing one game's online and not likeing it, its obviouse that your an xbox fanboy and had no intensions of keeping the ps3. secondly I don't think xplay is bias they poke a little fun at each console I have each one and i like them all for there own characteristics. I sometimes doubt morgan's credibility when she like's iphone games above the psp and ds and plays WoW no offense to WoW. But she has some good thoughts on games most of the time and thats all im going to say.

    Posted: July 18, 2009 2:38 PM
    Hazerdhat
  • RRODisBack

    It's funny how people talk bad about MAG's grapchics (even though it's online only supporting 256 players) but overlook the bad graphics in Halo ODST and LFD2.

    Posted: July 18, 2009 1:31 PM
    RRODisBack
  • RRODisBack

    G4 isn't biased, it's just certain people and Morgan is definitely one of the biased ones.

    Posted: July 18, 2009 1:22 PM
    RRODisBack
  • jamie543

    WOW poeple calm down jeez. Although i would like to see whats wrong with killzone 2's matchmaking CONSIDERING THERE IS NONE lol. You pick the server through search filters! it does exactly what it tries and i prefer that over matchmaking like in COD. But w/e. BTW you got a bit of info in the vid wrong (although it made the game sound more intersteing lol) the goverments arn't defunct they just can't afford a military. The world is not in chaos either. And the factions arent delivering resources, they are fighting with the other factions so they get more contracts from countries by winning. The game is also not class based, its more like COD except you buy your perks and weapons a la counter strike (except you keep them).

    Posted: July 18, 2009 10:10 AM
    jamie543
  • AgainstIgnorance

    God, you guys need to stop acting like insecure 3rd graders who cry over every harsh thing said. So just because Morgan questions the game for trying to do something no one's ever done before, that could lead to disaster, that makes her biased. I don't know if any game has successfully done 256 multiplayer on consoles. This game will be amazing if it works, but pretty bad if it doesn't. But it seems that everyone is ready to jump on X-Play if and when they say anything bad at all about the PS3, or any of it's exclusives. I don't know if it's PS3 owners, who somehow feel insecure about their purchase, and must downplay every criticism. X-Play in no way seems biased, in fact it seems it's the fanboys who twist everything X-Play says into bias. The Killzone 2 review gave it a 5 out of 5, but the fanboys wanted an enormous shower of praise, and went on a rampage as soon as there were any criticisms of the game in the review. Mind you the review had come out before the game had, and people probably didn't know how the game would have played. Seriously, this is the real world. People are allowed to poke fun.

    As for the game, when I read it was a PS3 exclusive I was pretty mad. The articles made the game sound great. As for the video, the visuals weren't great, and I agree that the guns were either really inaccurate, or really underpowered. You also seemed to run really slowly. But this may be pre-Beta. It will be interesting to see how this turns out.

    Posted: July 18, 2009 9:20 AM
    AgainstIgnorance
  • g4ismediocre

    Hmmmm... I still have to see how it holds up to be. Because the guns didn't seem accurate when the person was shooting and it took many bullets to kill one enemy. But gaming sites said they loved the game. So I guess we'll have to get our hands on it to really see what's all the commotion about. But I'll be reading previews and articles on this game because it looks like it''s fun but if there's lag or inaccurate shooting then it might as well be a pass. After all, I still need to get Uncharted 2 Among Thieves, Killzone 2, and all the other great Sony exclusives out there.

    Posted: July 18, 2009 8:46 AM
    g4ismediocre
  • powerade310

    maybe g4 isn't bias maybe xbox 360 is just better than the ps3 if they use their professional judgement to determine this that doesn't mean they have a bias... to begin with at least

    Posted: July 18, 2009 8:36 AM
    powerade310
  • ABXPuPpeT

    ha haa yes morgan i will take that offer ha hah ahahahahaha hahahahahaaa

    Posted: July 18, 2009 7:34 AM
    ABXPuPpeT
  • XXXSpartan118XXX

    ^^^Melee is the best!!!!

    Posted: July 18, 2009 7:00 AM
    XXXSpartan118XXX
  • ParanoiDave

    Ugh, it's got melee. Pass, unless it's going to be disc-based instead of a fee...

    Not to be off topic, but no melee is why I love games like Call of Juarez (the only balanced class-based multiplayer) and the UT series.

    However, my purchase of this game is going to be based solely on how incompetent or competent the community will be. I don't want some manic depressive frat boy or sugar-high 8-year-old running my faction. After all, it's not Killzone and it's not another CoD installment, so maybe the community will be different. We'll see.

    Posted: July 17, 2009 5:41 PM
    ParanoiDave
  • wess105

    Well, why don't we talk about the GAME now? I can't wait for the beta, and I would like a release date. Just about everyplace you go except for Zipper (the developers that are making the game) have a release date that is probably based on speculation or unconfirmed announcements by individuals or such.

    Posted: July 17, 2009 1:08 PM
    wess105
  • xX_PEIN_Xx

    @Evilriku I feel the exact same way you do. I don't think they ever mentioned the existence of the RROD on the show. Not even once. Whether they know it or not they fuel the flames of the console war because of their biased positions. If I were Morgan Webb I would be ashamed for being biased, she's only part of the show because she caters to a certain demographic of viewers. On top of that she's biased? And Adam Sessler, all I have to say about him is that he once said my childhood sucked because of FF7. You read right, Final Fantasy 7...nuff said.

    Posted: July 17, 2009 11:58 AM
    xX_PEIN_Xx
  • Wingnut766

    @partyboy8967,Get your head out your butt none of the Consoles will have lag free online. Also did you ever consider that some of the lag issues could actually be the server that the developers of the game uses. As for Morgan Webb and Adam Sessler, I have always respected their responses to a game, and thinking they really do try not to be bias. You can always get a sense that they are. They joke to try to keep you interested but I doubt they know that they are actually bashing a console. They should watch what they say if they want to make it seem like they are unbias towards games and consoles.

    Posted: July 17, 2009 2:41 AM
    Wingnut766
  • partyboy8967

    @evilruku no offence but your soo dumb could it be that they bash killzone 2 because the online IS CRAP ok its not crap but it aint the best. I bought a ps3 (i already owned an xbox 360) and i returned the ps3 after i beat killzone 2 b/c the online was not that great and I can now see why XBL is worth paying for. From what i can see the xbox has more users so naturally there going to talk about the xbox more, and they probably dont talk about the wii b/c i doubt a lot of people who actually read indepth articles on this site rly care about the wii that much, this site is more for the hardcore gamers and more hardcore gamers are on the 360 so that is why x play and g4tv talk about the xbox more! Seriously the only bad thing about g4tv is that there programming on T.V. (not the website) is clutterd with shows like cheaters, cops and nija warrior. When i first started watching G4TV it was alll gaming and thats it. BUT EVILRIKU GET UR HEAD OUT OF UR but AND just respect the people who try to inform you on what u want to know and grow a sence of humor

    Posted: July 17, 2009 1:16 AM
    partyboy8967
  • evilriku

    Why do they let Webb still touch PS3 games. All she does is mske fun of other PS3 games while prising (or bashing) the game they are reviewing/preivewing. I like Killzone 2, theres absolutly nothing wrong with the online, hince why its in the best online game catagory.

    I came back to this site, hopeing and praying that there would be less fanboys and X-Play would in turn would too. But from what I have watched on TV and on this site, I can tell that Webb and the staff at X-Play love bashing the PS3 while they do their song and dances about the 360.

    FYI X-Play, If your going to do a top 10 XBLA games, you ahould probebly consider doing a top 10 PSN games. If you bash playstation, bash xbox.

    In the end im trying to help you guys. You guys always talk about how unbias you are and Adam always talks about how the fanboyism needs to stop. Well if you guys want the fanboyism to stop, take a good long look at yourselves then come back when you guys are truely unbias against the PS3 (and the Wii considering how you talk about that machine too).

    Posted: July 17, 2009 1:04 AM
    evilriku
  • brk1234

    can't wait for this game

    uncharted 2 and this is going to keep me busy

    Posted: July 16, 2009 6:46 PM
    brk1234
AdChoices