X

BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger Review

Posted: July 2, 2009
BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/39621/blazblue-calamity-trigger-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/165332_LGST/xp20090702_blazblue_rev.jpg
Video_39621
Available for the first time on consoles, 'BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger' offers a rich fighting game experience, but will its depth make it inaccessible to casual gamers? Our X-Play review of 'BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger' will let you know.

Comments are Closed

  • GTO_Neko

    The game not being accessible comment they made, I actually know what they mean about that. The thing one has to remember is that not everyone can just "pick up and play". You're going to run into a few people who are going to complain about the control scheme feeling "too new" or "not feeling right" when it comes to a new fighter and that's what they're trying to give a heads up one, for those few.

    When it comes to the "story"....yeah, fighters aren't usually that strong in that field, but even then, at least a few games do try to keep it entertaining.


    At least for those who are complaining about the score, you should be glad that it did at least get a 4/5 instead of 3/5 since there were PLENTY of praises for it. It ain't perfect, but it got near close to it.

    Posted: July 5, 2009 7:27 AM
    GTO_Neko
  • d33boy

    5/5 or not, 2D games shouldn't be in high-end consoles, it's just BS. I wouldn't want to buy something for my PS3 that can be compacted into a PSP. It's a friggin waste of money, and these games don't come cheap. I bought a powerful console, developers should at least give us what our money's worth and generate some worthwhile games. Games like these are such rip-offs.

    Posted: July 4, 2009 10:02 PM
    d33boy
  • blazegear64

    i agree with neutravega, G4 is always throwing bombs at games that are anime related or has some anime influence. Sure the story is hard to get but i think is kinda cool that they combined machinery and magic. And who besides this A-holes from G4 can put this game down with those graphics and gameplay, i mean which other game gives the noobs a fighting chance? none. and thats y i give this a 5/5. I have to, therer's really no major flaw in this game they're just looking for flaws cuz they love that, they cant never give a anime game a perfect score thats the hard truth.

    Posted: July 4, 2009 2:16 PM
    blazegear64
  • i_3at_ur_kat

    got it, played it, loved it, easily better than SF4

    Posted: July 4, 2009 2:06 PM
    i_3at_ur_kat
  • tomasvlc

    Anyone add me 5199-0185-1832

    Posted: July 4, 2009 8:11 AM
    tomasvlc
  • Fitz_7

    Am I the only person who thought this game had a really intriguing story? ... At any rate, this has become one of (if not my most) my favored fighting game... and I believe it is very accessible. Don't get me wrong though, I'm not trying to bash on G4's review, because I am well aware that everyone is entitled to their opinion. :)

    Posted: July 4, 2009 1:59 AM
    Fitz_7
  • sonicspd145

    Lol that is true. but there is one thing i do not agree with the review that the game is not very accessible I've played both street fighter 4 and blazblue. and i must say blazblue is so much more easier in my opinion. dont get me wrong sf4 is a great game. but i just find this one so much more easier. .

    Posted: July 4, 2009 1:33 AM
  • geothadon

    I love that so many people complain about G4's reviews of stuff, when they keep coming back to see the review over and over.

    Posted: July 3, 2009 8:26 PM
    geothadon
  • Killa01

    I actually thing this game shows some promise to tell you the truth. As a fan of 2-D fighting games, I've logged in some mad hours with games like the Guilty Gear, and to say the least, the only problem with this game I can see is it isn't very frenzied. I like frenzied in your face action, bumping my opponent against the wall for some rag-n-tag, some air combo's n stuff, but this game doesn't look like it has any of that. I love bashing up my opponents as much as the next guy, but this game isn't any mugen.

    Hopefully developers will start seeing that gamers want more customization too in their videogames, I'm sure a bunch of guys out there would pick this game up if it let you make your own character, with you own sets of attacks and stuff like S.C. 2. anyone else with me on this?

    Posted: July 3, 2009 6:42 PM
  • CloudSoul

    I will never understand how something not being accessible is in itself a negative trait. Why is targeting a game towards a niche audience a BAD thing? It's far more reasonable than trying to cover some grand sweeping arena only to fall short in the majority of areas.

    Posted: July 3, 2009 12:57 PM
    CloudSoul
  • vinny87

    Jin's the easiest to use intially so that's why. I love this game though. Any fighting fan has to pick this up. No it isn't better than Street Fighter but it's still awesome.

    Posted: July 3, 2009 12:49 PM
    vinny87
  • XIN_Kai

    yeah this games the shiz, but so many people use Jin its
    rediculous, a good 85% of my matches are againts Jin,
    Jin is pretty much the Street Fighter IV ken in this game

    Posted: July 3, 2009 10:48 AM
    XIN_Kai
  • vinny87

    The Story is one of the strengths of the game not a weakness. The way it's presented and how it introduces the characters to you. It smashes Street Fighters atempt at a story. As for gameplay it plays differently and to me any way is accesible.

    Posted: July 3, 2009 2:29 AM
    vinny87
  • TomMyG17

    Most of X-Play's reviews are way off, this one's no different but w/e.
    For one thing this games tons better than SFIV, purely offensive no turtle tactics which kept SF4 boring. The online has no lag whatsoever wtf kind of connection must X-play have to get any lag? The story yeah its meh, but who cares about a fighter's story for the most part, its not as bad as xplay claims. Its pretty accessible to me because you can just pick one fighter, learn how to use him, and then kick ass, not too challenging. This game deserves a 5/5 because its simply better than Street Fighter IV which did not deservie its rating, BlazBlue has better graphics/gameplay/online/ and to an extent a better story, simply because there actually is one.
    How could X-play rate a piece of crap like SFIV 5 but not a game better in every way? Also its not because I'm bad at SF4 that I hate it, I'm pretty good at it i just don't like it.

    Posted: July 2, 2009 10:00 PM
    TomMyG17
  • TheMuncho

    I agree with the awful story... but albeit from that the game is tremendously solid.
    As much as I like SFIV I feel like BlazBlue is uniquely set apart from other 2D fighters, especially with the competition.

    I can dig the accessibility being a draw-back but it should be a minor one at that.
    An hour or so practicing or going through arcade was enough to get my confidence up for one of the best online systems I have ever used.

    10 victories and 4 losses later I feel at home playing the game.
    4/5 is a good rating for it but I would give it a 4.5/5 personally.

    Posted: July 2, 2009 8:58 PM
    TheMuncho
  • Cak3

    I don't normally complain about the reviews here but the bit about "grating voice acting" used the worst possible clip imaginable. Quite frankly it shows the script writer has not been subjected to English voice acting for very long. Hell, I remember when anime dubs were physically painful to listen to. If you want me to agree with you use something that actually helps your case.

    Posted: July 2, 2009 8:48 PM
    Cak3
  • cruzzercruz

    It's funny how every other review I've read for this game is in glorious praise and says the game is different than Guilty Gear and G4 is of course the only one to rain on the parade.

    what a bunch of dicks.

    Game's awesome, story is ridiculous but leaps and bounds ahead of anything I've ever seen in a fighting game. It deserves praise for at least trying to put a legitimate story into play. It's also incredibly accessible. I managed to beat people online after just learning how to play, unlike in SFIV and (ESPECIALLY) SFII HDRemix where the noobs get absolutely and completely raped by people. And there isn't serious asymmetry among the characters. I've seen people rock with Arakune and Carl just the same as the typical Noel and Jins.

    Posted: July 2, 2009 7:37 PM
    cruzzercruz
  • hostelowner

    i played this in the arcade in chinatown for a long as while now and the game is great people should seriously stop comparing it to guilty gear when pretty much the only thing daisuke ishiwatatri is doin is composing the music
    he barely had a role in this game
    sure theres a big resemblance and inspiration from gg but really by much
    and as for EdSabre who said name a fighting game with good story
    king of fighters has a great story line with story that continues through sagas down through every amount of sequels.
    from the orochi saga to the nest saga to the ash saga pretty much a solid storyline.

    Posted: July 2, 2009 6:45 PM
    hostelowner
  • TheSledBaron

    G4 not liking an anime game is not bigotry. Let's get some perspective here.

    Posted: July 2, 2009 4:50 PM
    TheSledBaron
  • ProxyVirus

    Yeah I half-agree with NeutralVega. The story is very, very confusing at times and with the typical G4 hyperbole humor, I agree with the story negative.

    However, just because the characters are very Japanese in feel and custom, it doesn't mean Americans won't understand. The controls and moves are very accessible, especially if you played SF4. Saying this game isn't accessible means you have to say the same for Murumasa. But you're not gonna do that, now are ya?

    Posted: July 2, 2009 3:34 PM
    ProxyVirus
AdChoices