X

BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger Review

Posted: July 2, 2009
BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/39621/blazblue-calamity-trigger-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/165332_LGST/xp20090702_blazblue_rev.jpg
Video_39621
Available for the first time on consoles, 'BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger' offers a rich fighting game experience, but will its depth make it inaccessible to casual gamers? Our X-Play review of 'BlazBlue: Calamity Trigger' will let you know.

Comments are Closed

  • sdc10

    Wow the game gets a 4/5. Yet people still complain how it is apparently a bad review even while admitting that the game should not get a 5/5........i think my head just exploded

    Posted: July 24, 2009 7:54 PM
    sdc10
  • Lancer205

    Blazblue is fun and you can't deny that.

    Posted: July 19, 2009 8:46 PM
    Lancer205
  • brucenatelee

    I am more of a fan of fighters where characters actually look like fighters. Not into buying 2D fighters, since they're not my forte. I'd prefer Street Fighter 4, but from all the reviews I've seen, I'll have to check it out.

    Posted: July 14, 2009 10:02 PM
    brucenatelee
  • nightsavior

    The story line is confusing but actually good. However if you don't get 100% with every character in story mode you will be left drooling scratching your head. I haven't gotten there yet but I've read up on information.

    I agree with everything on the review ACCEPT the slamming of the plot but I assume the reviewer had a small alotted amount of time to play BB before having to move onto something else. I won't hold that againt the person.

    As for the characters being "diverse" I prefer they play differently. Being an old KOF and SF veteran I'm a bit tired of the over used shota moves, shadow tracer specials, and techniques which are only a tad different from each other. 2D fighters needed another kick-start.

    Posted: July 13, 2009 2:25 PM
    nightsavior
  • Jemuzu

    I wont judge this game that much since I don't really play 2d fighters, from what I saw it seemed like a solid game, storyline in many Japanese fighters tend to have many non-Japanese folk turn their head in confusion. I'm more of a fan of 3d fighters like Soul Calibur, 2d just doesn't feel for me. I can't tell certain details with 2d models over 3d, like how can you judge if your low kick is going to hit the little drawn foot of a character before he jumps? I won't belittle 2d fighters (They came first) so I'll go with what I see. Good fighter, hard combat, good fun.

    Posted: July 11, 2009 11:20 AM
    Jemuzu
  • ABXPuPpeT

    bad game it should of not even got a review, bad story recycled characters from guilty gears, cut scenes not even animated just a picture of the character with captions wtf? they should of kept the guilty gears games at least it had more charcters not just some 60$ game that has 10 paper grafix garbage :( this vid is proof that some company paid g4 to give it a good grade

    Posted: July 10, 2009 7:47 AM
    ABXPuPpeT
  • SoulBroRyu

    Man, some of you cats can't help but bite at the bait. Otaku are some of the easiest folks to make fun of because of their heated reactions to criticism. Being one, I should know. ^_^

    Sure XPlay will crack on this game for it's Anime influenced characters or storyline, but overall it looks like they dug it and gave it a positive review. In the end it's their opinion, and it doesn't make it any better or worse then yours or mine.

    Sure, BlazBlue has a convoluted storyline. Personally I think it's awesome that they took so much time to create this universe and that the world of BB has so much depth. However, considering how many games XPlay has to review, I'm sure they didn't have the time or patience to sit down and enjoy all the extras that help to explain the story of BB like Story Mode & "Teach Me, Dr. Litchi!". It shows, because it really didn't get brought up in the review.

    For the most part fighting game players can be broken up into 3 groups:
    - Those that play for sheer competition, more concerned about mastering the game and winning matches.
    - Those that enjoy the game as a whole and everything that embodies it, including the nuances of gameplay, story, characters, and all the trivia that is involved with it's creation. (Otaku, like myself)
    - The casual player. (the majority of folks out there) - they are far less interested in story and all the other minutia we find fascinating and more into having a good time playing.

    XPlay is there to review this game for the casual player. Why try to expose the game to Fighting game Otaku like us who've been salivating for this game since the first screen shots appeared on the internet? The majority of folks watching XPlay will not of heard of BB until they see the review, and it for the most part was positive towards it and hopefully will entice those on the fence or the formally uninformed to rent or even buy it.

    A game like BB can influence a casual player into a die-hard fighting fanatic, with all the bells and whistles Arc System Works blessed this game with, more so than I think SF IV would (And I love that game too), but in the end it's up to those newbies how much effort they want to put into it. BB has great gameplay, presentation, a story with depth (although rather scant on any resolution or revelations until the inevitable sequel), unique characters, and a setting that a keen Otaku can see is a blend of elements presented in many Anime, Manga, Fantasy, and Science Fiction.

    If XPlay may seem to have a bias against games that are uber Japanese, but for the most part I've seen them review great games with appropriate scores. Does, BB deserve to have 5 stars? I actually don't think so:

    - It's the start of a new franchise.
    - It has an unfinished story.
    - It only has twelve characters.

    Then, again, I believe that SF IV deserved a 4/5 as well:

    - Online play is desperately missing a lobby system.
    - No double-blind select is available in Player & Ranked matches (even after the Champ. update)
    - Unbalancing is really starting to show in several characters (Sagat, anyone?)

    Balancing will always rear it's ugly head in fighters, no matter what the game is. How bad it is, just depends on the game. I'm sure BB has it's own issues with balance, but only time will tell what they are.

    In the end, if you're a die-hard fan of fighters, BB is definitely for you. If your a casual gamer, you can definitely start slow and get a handle of one or two characters in a few hours of gameplay. The Drive button is a great addition and it allows you to pull off awesome maneuvers from jump. Plus there is a shortcut system if beginners want to do special moves with little trouble. The music and presentation is top-notch and it is a fun ride the whole way through.

    I look forward to the next installment in the series, which I'm sure will be better on every level than the original. It can wait until I've exhausted all the fun I'm having with BB, SF IV, and will soon have with King of Fighters XII. It's been a great year for fighters, and we should consider ourselves for having so many good ones available in such a short amount of time.

    Peace,
    Soul Bro Ryu
    Twitter.com/SoulBroRyu
    Gundamn.net

    Posted: July 8, 2009 12:06 PM
  • TheDivineHand

    To TomMyG17

    You are crazy to think that BB is better than SFIV...first the accessible is horrible and I know plenty of SF haters that will agree that BB accessible is horrible as well as the game BB has to many pauses between hits...oh and after a while all those things that pops up when you do a move gets a little annoying after a while...also SFIV is by far the best fighting game that came out and it gives you more options in skills and moves that any other fighting game out now and KOF 12....5/5 don't think so at best 4/5 in my opinion 3.5/5 is what BlazBlue deserves...now the graphics are nice but to say that SFIV doesn't deserve a 5 is because?????? you can't name me 1 thing that the game has that is horrible and please don't say the lag or the waiting time(blah blah) that has nothing to do with the game but with your online system not the game itself. By far SFIV is the best overall fighting game out point blank.

    Posted: July 8, 2009 9:31 AM
    TheDivineHand
  • TheFrag

    havent played the game, but as usual g4 is down on the anime games just like they hated on crisis core, and that was my favorite psp game.

    Posted: July 8, 2009 6:38 AM
    TheFrag
  • Seluhir

    The reason people get mad seeing 4/5 on a g4 review is that they give 5's out so easily that its almost an insult to get anything less.


    Thats pretty common from a lot of reviews... like reviews on the run, an average game gets 7.5-8, a good gets 8.5-9, a great gets 9.5-10...

    I'm getting sick of seeing such forgiving reviews honestly... people need to stop 'giving 5's away'.

    That being said, thanks to all the comments you guys have left bitching about the review, I know the game is probably worth me picking up ;)

    Posted: July 7, 2009 10:24 PM
    Seluhir
  • MasterCheifPlumer

    Looks good

    Posted: July 7, 2009 5:30 PM
    MasterCheifPlumer
  • MasterCheifPlumer

    looks good

    Posted: July 7, 2009 5:30 PM
    MasterCheifPlumer
  • xigouix

    Topgamer101

    I completely agree with what he wrote.

    you dont have to be very coordinated to play this game like SFIV or KoFXII. I relly, hate the fact that when i first got this played a little bit with Ragna then went online and demolished a level 9!!! i jumped past level 2 and went straight to level 3 from that. i mean WTH then i play level 20 with no losses, double KOed the first match and really gave it to him the second match. this game is a complete button masher.

    Love the visuals, story is best out SO FAR, i would like more of a CapcomXNamco story with fighting games. i Alsp stated somewhere in this forum that this game does have some of the best palying options online and off.

    personally i would give this a 3.5 out of 5. Keep in mind i am 100% Otaku and Own more anime than most of you have seen.

    Posted: July 7, 2009 8:59 AM
    xigouix
  • NortheastMonk

    I'm waiting for the price to drop. Just because I believe $60 is a lot for a fighting game. Please developers understand what I mean by that, please!

    Posted: July 7, 2009 6:34 AM
    NortheastMonk
  • wwstar30

    This is a great game just like street fighter Iv both have pretty lame stories but both look great and have a great fighting system this one stick out more to me cause you can download replays. Im not sure how this game doesnt get a 5 out of 5 from a gameplay standpoint its almost flawless.

    Posted: July 6, 2009 11:46 PM
    wwstar30
  • i_3at_ur_kat

    i think that most people online are just newbies who spam one move, personally i use Jin since i used Ky in Guilty gear, so changing games was a biit easier, btu most people online who use jin just spam the dash and rapid, though i have met and fought very good people but there are some who can't use any character well and pick the ones who have cheaper abilities

    Posted: July 6, 2009 5:43 PM
    i_3at_ur_kat
  • Huenylove

    I don't you people sometimes. I thought reviews were to point out the good and the BAD but for some o you its only the good you want to here. I think its good for a review to find every little thing because then you will know they tried and that.....the bad the things were only little. 4/5 is better then good just not perfect so deal with it.

    Posted: July 5, 2009 9:15 PM
    Huenylove
  • kennetho111

    cool

    Posted: July 5, 2009 6:30 PM
    kennetho111
  • topgamer101

    Guys, they are entitled to their opinion if you like it or not. Just because they didn't like a certain aspect of the game doesn't condemn it to the pits of hell. It got a 4/5 which means it's an above average game. That's GOOD PRAISE.

    Honestly I don't understand why you people get so uptight. I prefer a picky reviewer. I can see what they didn't like and see if that matches my tastes. Get over yourselves and how you have to justify your opinions based on other peoples like it's politics or something.

    Posted: July 5, 2009 2:53 PM
    topgamer101
  • FullMetalEnvy

    I love the story, I do not see why people put it down so often.

    Posted: July 5, 2009 2:13 PM
    FullMetalEnvy
AdChoices