X

Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires Review

Posted: June 29, 2009
Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/39565/dynasty-warriors-6-empires-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/165132_LGST/xp20090629_dynasty_rev.jpg
Video_39565
We review the new strategy game 'Dynasty Warriors 6: Empires' for the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3. What does the continuation of the franchise deliver? Find out in this review.

Comments are Closed

  • mellophome

    By the way, really Blair? Come on. Washing your "testicles and penis" in a Slapchop? That was a little too low-brow, even for you.

    Posted: July 16, 2009 7:28 AM
    mellophome
  • mellophome

    I've loved DW since the original. It's a lot of fun despite being repetitive. The stories were always interesting. The endings were always strange. And playing DW with friends was always a good time. Yes, they haven't really changed the gameplay over the years but who cares? It's like playing an extremely beautiful retro game if you will. All the fun of the original with much better graphics and motion. Every time anyone ever reviews a DW game, they compare it to the previous games saying things along the lines of "the same gameplay every year...we want innovation, so it's a piece of crap". Not quite the fairest means of reviewing I'd say, but for those who like the franchise or the kind of game where you can just hack n' slash through hundreds of enemies with a friend seeing who can kill more guys or more generals, then I'd say pick it up. But you should probably just wait til it's cheaper because it's probably not worth paying full price.

    Posted: July 16, 2009 7:26 AM
    mellophome
  • Jemuzu

    I've been playing DW since 3XL and the one thing I like about the six series is they added actual Kung Fu to many of the characters. Zhou Yu actually uses a staff motion captured by a real martial artist, as with Lu Xun and Liu Bei. I really found the game fun merely because I love the smooth animations with some of the characters, the graceful slashing through hordes of soldiers made it like the best Jet Li Film ever! Many of you are probably going WTF but for martial arts fans its a guilty pleasure. As one person posted earlier it's awsome to use a Kwan Dao on a hoarde of enemies! If you can't get into the games then go read the Romance of the Three Kingdoms novels their based on! More story for less bad voice acting :) Yes, these games are EXTREMELY REPEDITIVE and time consuming in bad ways but hey, until they make a new Soul Calibur with a MALE Kwan Dao wielding character this will have to do.

    Posted: July 11, 2009 10:42 AM
    Jemuzu
  • masterjew26

    THIS GAME NEEDS A GOD DAM 1 OUT OF 5

    Posted: July 9, 2009 11:44 AM
    masterjew26
  • kerbe3

    Honestly, I love the DW games, yes they are super repetitive, but KOEI seems to understand what the fans want. Nothing has changed much because it doesn't NEED to. They make enough money to keep pumping out new games every now and then. I for one am glad the games are largely the same. Sometimes you just want to kill hundreds and hundreds of enemies while taking in the fact that they aren't going to do anything to stop you.

    Posted: July 7, 2009 8:19 PM
    kerbe3
  • deathomatic

    the DW series is disapointingly stiff but the story is pretty good. this game is a terrible game for gamers who like to play somthing new but i think that DW should at least get a 3/5

    Posted: July 7, 2009 10:18 AM
    deathomatic
  • hoyo420

    ROFL i havent got to watch the review yet but i must say well said V my thoughts exactly while dw is not the most in depth game out and it hasnt evolved much it hasnt managed to mess up the system it made even after countless sequals and spin offs you still have the good fun addicting gameplay i cant think of ne other game with as many sequalsa that hasnt managed to mess itself up and become a worse game than it started so ya maybe the graphics could be better but id rather keep my fun gameplay and deal with sub par graphics

    Posted: July 5, 2009 11:05 AM
    hoyo420
  • Variand

    Here's the thing, I'm Biased because I'm a fan, so what I say will lose a bit of credibility. That said Lets be honest, X-Play's Review is biased in the other direction.

    Let me put this scenario in your head: Madden NFL is the same repetitive gameplay over and over... Get ball... try to move ball to other side of field. Other team has ball, try to not let them move ball to other end of field... and take ball back... Rinse Repeat. Yes, This is an overly simplified generalization of the gameplay, and Madden does have things that add depth to the game. Which in any X-Play review you will hear about ENDLESSLY.

    Now for DW6:Empires, Consider this. For those who actually practice and Train in Martial Arts, the Dynasty Warriors Series is our version of Madden. So in essence, Armchair Quarterbacks have Madden to live out their dreams, Bruce Lee wannabes have Dynasty Warriors (or any of the other Warriors Games).

    Granted even I feel the DW Series is in serious need of a retooling, but the gameplay is still solid. Empires even gives you the Risk-like strategy with bits of role-playing. To be honest though, the game does lack quite a bit, and I don't really disagree with your 2/5 rating (though i would have given it a 3 because I'm a biased fan and Any game that lets me play with a Kwandao will get an extra point from me).

    What I DO have a problem with are two things. 1) Blair Herter is still a tool and is not funny. I've asked everyone I know, people who, like me, are big X-Play followers no longer watch the show nearly as often because of Him. He's actually pretty good with In-The-Field interviews, but his studio and stage presence is just.... extremely lacking.

    As for the review. I found it almost overtly Ignorant. I used to sing praises about Extended Play's well educated reviews, un-biased opinions, and the least subjective reviews (as all reviews are inevitably subjective). But in the past couple years or so, you're reviews have gone to bottom of the toilet. In this case, you failed to mention anything good about this game. And instead, you had Blair Herter make indecent and completely offensive penis jokes. Seriously? Have you fallen so low? I'm all for dirty humor, but it has to have some wit to it. And the only Wit Blair Herter seems to know of is the little bit he finds in the name tWITter, and no more.

    Please. X-Play editors, Reviewers, Hosts, EVERYONE INVOLVED WITH THE SHOW. Please only review games if you are going to be well educated and informative. Honestly, I feel the only reason you reviewed this game in the first place is because you wanted to seem like you're better than other Game Reviewers by trying to cover all Niche titles, and because wanted to try to have a negative review be funny. (It wasn't... at all).

    Again, I COMPLETELY AGREE with your score on this game. I COMPLETELY DISAGREE with your review of this game. Content, Context, and presentation are all marked as FAIL in my book.

    Next time you review a Dynasty Warriors Games (or a Warriors series of games. ie Gundam, Orochi, Samurai, the new Troy series Specifically designed for western Audiences and all their spin offs). Just keep my earlier analogy in mind. Madden for wannabe Football Fans, Warriors games for wannabe Ancient Warlord wannabes.

    Hopefully, the X-Play people read this, but I doubt it. But I've said my Piece either way.

    BRING ON THE FLAMES!

    Posted: July 4, 2009 9:13 PM
    Variand
  • SigmaHeartless

    Ok First off. X-Play should stop with the lame jokes. Seriously it's getting old. Second. If your not into DW don't play it and stop complaining that it's bad. There are some ppl that like this game. So stop tryin to ruin it for some folks. This DW is an okay game. Not great but ok. 3/5 maybe.

    Posted: July 3, 2009 3:15 PM
    SigmaHeartless
  • 1nitial_D

    I mean come on Koei please do something new with Dynasty Warriors. You have the next gen consoles of 360 and ps3 but yet the graphics suck and texture popping it is bad. You make the combat better.

    Posted: July 1, 2009 11:36 AM
    1nitial_D
  • Sylvanio

    I think whoever was the voice for the video is trying a bit too hard to be funny. I mean its nice to have humor in the reviews, but I was distracted from the review itself wondering why he was saying what he did.

    Posted: June 30, 2009 10:54 PM
    Sylvanio
  • ZetaCrossfire

    When i get home i need to pick up my copy at game crazy.

    I love the DW series and iv been waiting for 6empires for a while.

    I hope in 7 that they give Sun Ce back his badass weapon. I hate his new spear D:

    Posted: June 30, 2009 11:08 AM
    ZetaCrossfire
  • ZetaCrossfire

    When i get home i need to pick up my copy at game crazy.

    I love the DW series and iv been waiting for 6empires for a while.

    I hope in 7 that they give Sun Ce back his badass weapon. I hate his new spear D:

    Posted: June 30, 2009 11:07 AM
    ZetaCrossfire
  • supremepizzaxxx

    ridiculous crappy game

    Posted: June 30, 2009 2:08 AM
    supremepizzaxxx
  • ultra man 38

    ok game

    Posted: June 30, 2009 1:37 AM
    ultra+man+38
AdChoices