X

Guitar Hero Smash Hits Review

Posted: June 29, 2009
Guitar Hero Smash Hits Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/39563/guitar-hero-smash-hits-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/163533_LGST/guitar-hero-smash-hits.jpg
Video_39563
Rock out to the best of the best from the 'Guitar Hero' series when we review 'Guitar Hero Smash Hits'. Does this title deliver anything more than old favorites on current generation consoles? Find out in this review.

Comments are Closed

  • Lord_of_rock

    The drum peripheral is way better then rock band's drum set, it's more advanced. I play drums, for 4 years and I like Guitar Hero better.

    Posted: December 12, 2009 2:22 PM
    Lord_of_rock
  • Slightly_Insane

    the pros;
    ''A solid collection of songs''
    the cons:
    ''Mediocre recharting of songs''

    witch is it?

    Posted: July 19, 2009 8:31 PM
    Slightly_Insane
  • jedisatan

    I absolutly agree with everything you guys said. Ive been playing GH since December of 07, and been playing Expert for about a year, and the over-charting of all of the songs (Most noticably TTFAF) is so frusterating, I would like to start calling Activision, Craptivision. The only thing i could think of that someone would want to buy this, would be just to have the collection. Ther are so many songs that me and my friend said that they should've put in Smash Hits. We were sitting there one day saying "Wheres War Pigs? Wheres Cliffs of Dover? WHERE THE HELL IS ALL THE AEROSMITH MUSIC?!?" Guitar Hero 5's setlist is all garbage, and from the looks of what Neversoft is doing, they are going to end up killing themselves. Who knows, maybe Guitar Hero: Van Halen could save them if it ever gets made.

    Posted: July 6, 2009 10:36 PM
    jedisatan
  • Motorhead151

    If I hear one more moron say "OMG Play real instruments" I will kill them. Listen idiot, many people do BOTH! You can play Football and play Madden too stupid.

    Activision needs to relax on the amount of games, but releasing new games is better than keeping the same weak game with a million DLC's ala Rock Band 2. The visuals in that game look so dated not that long after it's release, seriously.

    Posted: July 5, 2009 11:00 PM
    Motorhead151
  • levinaganog4

    How dare you give Guitar Hero Smash Hits a 3 out of 5. I was expecting the game to get a 2 out of 5, which never happened to a Guitar Hero game before.

    Posted: July 3, 2009 10:10 PM
    levinaganog4
  • Xboc980

    I think this game is way 2 easy. I do think that redoctane should make a guitar hero Michael Jackson edition. If they do many of his fans but they should sell it as a band addition.

    Posted: July 3, 2009 1:25 PM
    Xboc980
  • SBsonic

    If this game was downloadable, it would cost twice as much due to the average DLC prices (unless it was 1 big pack and they offered a sizable pack discount).
    But I do agree that this game added nothing to the franchise. And being forced to play Through the Fire and Flames was quite difficult in more ways than one.

    Posted: July 2, 2009 11:08 AM
  • levinaganog4

    Worst Guitar Hero game Ever!

    Posted: July 1, 2009 11:06 AM
    levinaganog4
  • CLUNGEHUNTERPJ

    i have two things to say

    firstly, why don't they just make a big fat GH game to end all GH gamnes with every song on it?
    and secondly, go and get a real guitar, no really, it's much healthier, more satisfying and i'm pretty sure it's more likely to get you sex

    Posted: June 30, 2009 10:34 AM
    CLUNGEHUNTERPJ
  • patricksmeltzer

    gutiar hero SUCKS every way you look at it

    Posted: June 30, 2009 7:41 AM
    patricksmeltzer
  • Oinkness

    Whoever reviewed this is an idiot. You played with a Rock Band drum set on easy. You have no right to make any critique on this game. Very amateur. You and I are done professionally. You want me to come trash your lights?

    Posted: June 29, 2009 11:48 PM
  • ryo_ortega

    personally i am pretty happy with the difficulty level. i've always been a fan of how impossible GH 3 was, and so i prefer songs to actually challenge me rather than just entertain me. and GH: smash hits was actually easier than GH3, so i dont know what the complaining is about, i mean maybe psycho billy is harder, but killing in the name is much easier, so it's w/e. also im pretty happy with the setlist too, i mean of course it's not perfect, but it's called guitar hero : smash HITS, not guitar hero Jon Thoresen.

    the only complaint i have about this game is that through the fire is in the actual setlist, i dont think you should be required to beat the song to beat the game, im amazing at guitar hero, there are probably less than 20 songs ever charted i cant pass (not including custom stuff), and through the fire is much too difficult for a necessity

    Posted: June 29, 2009 10:49 PM
    ryo_ortega
  • bobamonkey

    I actually like this game. The main reason is the convenience and drums. I mean if u enjoy switching between gh1, 2, 3, and 80's just to shred a few songs then whats the point in buying this? I dont like that one bit. But sum of the charting is horrid like Stop, Pyschobilly Freakout, and Mother (sumhow got half way into the game!) On the other hand songs like Stellar, More Than a Feeling, and Cowboy From Hell needed new charts. This is better than world tour in my oppinion. the only thing that was good about WT was Tool... Oh well, i think this is a great addition to anyones collection! just try not to cry when pyschobilly freak out makes its redemption!!! i swear i pissed myself! lol jk

    Posted: June 29, 2009 10:35 PM
    bobamonkey
  • Pyroco101

    @ Samm24f:

    WHO BUYS MUSIC?!?

    Posted: June 29, 2009 8:03 PM
    Pyroco101
  • Samm24f

    Honestly I used to love guitar hero way back from the 2nd to 3rd one but then all my friends started to learn real instruments and I didn't. And now I wish instead of playing music games that don't share my taste in music (punk rock and I sware to god if they come out with a punk rock Guitar Hero I will shove it down the throats of whoever buys/sells it cuz I dont want a bunch of punk wannabees wearing black and with tomhawk telling me I'm not punk cuz I don't like Green Day or I dont own Guitar Hero Punk Rock). But now instead of being able to play London Calling on guitar I wont be able to ever play it cuz I was too busy playing GH. What Im saying is that if you like guitar hero and the music in it go out and buy an instrument and learn that song. And buy an album by the band who created your fav. song on guitar hero instead of going to itunes and buying single songs. You'll prbly end up liking the whole band anyway. The world needs less guitar hero junkies (people who only listen to songs from guitar hero) Music is a great thing so don't ruin it by ignoring your inner musician like I did. And if you think you cant play an instrument then be a drummer. Cuz you know what they call people who can't play an instrument? A drummer. LOL jk.
    BUT GO LEARN AN INSTRUMENT AND BUY AN ALBUM!!

    Posted: June 29, 2009 6:40 PM
    Samm24f
  • ricosan

    Expert+ on drums is hella fun especially on The Beast and the Harlot... plays exactly like RL drumming... Through the Fire and the Flames on the other hand is insane... give me some years to master that badboy

    Posted: June 29, 2009 6:37 PM
    ricosan
  • leakime

    Whoops..... I must be a prodigy because Through the Fire and the Flames is a simple song if you get the strategy down. I think it's a great final song for the game. What do you people have against difficulty? GHWT was the most boring game of the series... and what's wrong with guitar battles? The Slash Battle on GHIII Was awsome. oh well that's just my opinion.

    Posted: June 29, 2009 6:20 PM
    leakime
  • PoOpSaUcE

    guitar hero is a generic rckband.

    Posted: June 29, 2009 6:20 PM
    PoOpSaUcE
AdChoices