X

Review of Fight Night Round 4

Posted: June 25, 2009
Review of Fight Night Round 4
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/39477/review-of-fight-night-round-4/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/164630_LGST/xp20090625_fightnight_rev.jpg
Video_39477
Lace up your boxing gloves and take on the greats in this review of 'Fight Night Round 4'. Will 'Fight Night 3' fans be left scratching their heads or embracing the new controls? Find out in this review.

Comments are Closed

  • eddie29

    they gave madden 5 stars the past couple years. 07 08 was the worst sports games i ever played and 09 was at best a 4/5. G4 is completely biased to ea games , they add 1 feature every year and sill get the same score. They also give bad ratings go rent mlb the show 09 and mlb2k9 , they gave the same score to each a 3/5.Well any true baseball game fan knows that the mlb2k series has always been bad and doesnt have half the features or details as the show, the game sucks it deserves like a 1/5.They also gave nba live 09 the same score as nba2k9 ,if u were gonna nba live 09 over nba2k9 u are obviously a moron.Give ufc the benefit of the doubt , its there first game and working on the next gen consoles just wait to see how good the next 1 is. Its new, its fun to play and involves strategy unlike fn4 were its basically a button masher wat should i do jab or underhook? that all u can do. So yea thise games good ...for a boxing game better then ufc? please be serious now and g4 i hope u get better at giving games ratings its a tragedy wat you did to mlb the show and ufc undisputed

    Posted: June 28, 2009 12:51 PM
    eddie29
  • vashgun

    good stuff! a game that takes time and talent to perfect!

    Posted: June 28, 2009 10:48 AM
    vashgun
  • Angelbattalion

    why do you people use the analog controls it sucks trust me you can't pull any combos with that

    Posted: June 28, 2009 9:12 AM
    Angelbattalion
  • Lawrence123

    this game sucks , I hate punching with the stick . there its no need for skill . all you need to do in online play is just spam the jab but in the single player mode it's like the AI has ESP and knows when to block before you even know what punch your going to throw. It's the only video game that is a button masher without even using buttons. I hate the mini games , there so tedious and you have to be perfect with stick control and I do mean perfect and we all know that the sticks on PS3 and the 360 are very sensitive so its just better to use auto feature . I give it a 3 .

    Posted: June 27, 2009 11:23 PM
    Lawrence123
  • abb921

    Great Game. Mike Tyson and George Foreman! hellz ya. lol my only complaint is that there is no ear-biting mini-game!

    Posted: June 27, 2009 11:05 PM
    abb921
  • king_krazie_87

    Everyone has there opinions but mine goes for this game in a positive aspect this is what a sports game should look like the graphics are amazing i personally like the control scheme it was well worth the money and it's on top of my list for one of the best sports game of all time ea Canada brought it home with this one. p.s. i have both ufc and fight night and when it comes to comparison sorry fight night has it on this one but i love to play both so it the best of both worlds.

    Posted: June 27, 2009 8:13 PM
    king_krazie_87
  • Zos

    i dont get it... why are people complaining about the new button mechanic? i love it, but then again im not lazy. i find button mashing boring, pretty much the same thing over and over (like UFC) im glad that they took a new twist. lol, eddie29, and many other people, still think g4 and other reviewers are getting bribed. lawlz, for one that wouldnt work, because if IGN or GT gave it a sad review, and g4 gave it a good one, wouldnt it be the gamers responisbility to notice this, and see the positives and negatives side of the games and make the decisions themselves. or is their head stuck to far up there A** that they cant see it? the bttom line, G4 isnt getting bribed, FNR4 deserves this title for being a realistic game (that is better than UFC) with great phsyics, gameplay, and graphics. oh and eddie29, "plus they made like 4 fight nights already theres changes but nothing drastic" but yet they used a better physics engine and better graphics, not to mention the better roster. so, what your saying is that all the FNR# are just boxing games being made again and agian? so then why arnt you complaining about FPS being made again and again? thats because your arguement is faulty and uneducated. SlimwiZ, do you play dynasty warriors? you seem to be a guy who enjoys button mashing X and Y and B over and over if you cant enjoy using the new control scheme. and to those who think these graphics are cartoony,lol, go actually play the game and stop basing graphics off something you see on Youtube or G4. So, iv pretty much trashed all the supposedly bad things about this game, and even added some good things. i await to see any comment dragging this great game down with comments like "graphics are cartoony!!" (even if these are some of the most realistc graphics with all the blood and sweat and LIGHTING effects, ever watched a real boxing match?) "control scheme?!? GARBAGE!!" (go back to playing dynasty warriors and go play some more button mashing games with X Y and B, cause the new conrtol scheme is amazing.) and finally! "UFC 2009 Undisputed is WAAAAY better than this game, like 10x better!!!!!!!!!" (.... first off, boxing > UFC and you cant really compare these 2 games, they are different, MMA and boxing, but still, people will say you can compare FPS to third persons shooters, so i guess i have to bring up the arguement. UFC 2009 Undisputed is stiff, not in a good way. the commentators say the same thing over and over for the same move. Superman Punch, another Superman Punch, and another Superman Punch, in the same tone of voice, its different in fight night. and have you even blocked in UFC? very, very stiff, looks unreal, but in fight night, it varies the look and effect by your stance and leanmeant and ect. and finally, the gameplay. you can argue all day about how you can grab them, and throw them to the ground, but does that take skill? does it take a real pro to do that? to button mash the hammerfist button and flick the right stick for a subbmision? no, it doesnt, however it takes a real pro to play fight night round four because its not just button mashing and getting lucky. but i guess i can understand if people think UFC is better, 1. they havent played FNR4 2. peer influence 3. they like to watch UFC 5. they have nothing else to do. 6. you're the one who got their ear bit off by Tyson 7. they dont like a challenge 8. they have never played a true fighting game.

    Posted: June 27, 2009 8:06 PM
    Zos
  • zackcaster

    I m so sick of people like you eddie29 . Let me start off by saying that before you post anything on the internet you should take lesions on typing, spelling and making sense. You decided to post a comment on something you know nothing about. I played the demo of this game . Demos are not the final product so to review a game when you clearly haven t picked up the full version is ridiculous to say the least. G4 does not get paid extra money to give a game a good or bad review. If that was the case no game would have bad reviews and clearly they don t ride EA s jock. If you simply look at past reviews they ve torn into some games. The graphics are nowhere close to cartoony. Blood, sweet and realistic body physics prove that point completely false. No one is trying to tell you how to play the game. The control scheme is what it is and if you re too lazy to learn a new style of play then don t pick up the controller because this style of game play is becoming the standard. For example: NHL 09 is all about the stick controls. Do you complain when a game doesn t give you a choice to play stick controls and just has a button interface? Bottom line, you re a sorry excuse of a human being and I request that you stop wasting my air. Don t post comments if you re not a gamer. Oh and UFC Undisputed (notice how I used proper capitals and spelling when describing this game) is not better than FNR4. In fact I took it back once my fighter was forced to retire yet the game still stated that he was only 24 years of age but somehow I was suddenly in the UFC for 17 years, really?

    Posted: June 27, 2009 3:55 PM
    zackcaster
  • eddie29

    yea seriosly 5 stars WAT ARE U GUYS ON G4 ON . I know wat it is u get bribed by ea sports to give them such high ratings on games thats wat it is . i played the demo of this game its good like a 3/5 there are flaws plus they made like 4 fight nights already theres changes but nothing drastic. I cant belive u guys woudlnt give ufc undipusted a higher rating its a new genre of games brand new to the new consoles.Just think how ufc next game is goin to be,proply alot better. Can some1 please give an honest review at g4 and forget about taking the money under the table from ea sports. Like u guys give madden a 5/5 every year and u even gave nba live a 4/5 the same as NBA2K9 like u guys r dumb and clearly are ea sports happy

    Posted: June 27, 2009 11:27 AM
    eddie29
  • SlimwiZ

    The control system just SUCKS!!! I can deal with everything else...I really hope EA Canada brings out an update online to fix that problem...Enough said...

    Posted: June 26, 2009 9:40 PM
    SlimwiZ
  • torres0068

    five star's is this guy crazy ? this game has possibly the worst control system ever look's and feel's like a cartoon half the time you feel like your dancing in circle's sorry but ufc is ten time's better game period

    Posted: June 26, 2009 7:51 PM
    torres0068
  • pipspoolcleaning3

    This game did everything extremely well except for the SHOTTY CONTROLS! UGH! I HATE THEM!!!! Im trading it in and warning anyone and everyone I know that its not fun until EA pulls its head out of its a** and gives the player the option to play with normal controls. Frankly Im shocked and extremely pissed that EA is gonna decide for me how I can play the game. A 5 star game thats not even worth playing cause its so damn frustrating and not fun AT ALL!

    Posted: June 26, 2009 5:50 PM
    pipspoolcleaning3
  • AngMan420

    One word: TYSON!!!!!!!

    Posted: June 25, 2009 10:15 PM
    AngMan420
  • TreyIM2

    ThaiFighter1605 - You are the 3rd person saying this game is worse than FN3 and I ask, what flavor of crystal meth are YOU on? ANYONE who says FN4 is worse than FN3 most likely mad cuz they went analog punching, only and/or they got so sucked into the weak gameplay of FN3 that they think that FN3 IS boxing.
    This game is waaay better than FN3. I have yet to get to the mini games in legacy mode but I am more into this version than any other Fight Night or Knockout Kings, for that matter. This game feels like a real boxing game on multiple levels. Some serious strategy going on in this one and you actually have to think even moreso than FN3.

    Posted: June 25, 2009 9:35 PM
    TreyIM2
  • FreddyD

    Excellent review!!! the game is simply fantastic in EVERY WAY, and quite simply one of the BEST sport games I've ever touched.

    Everybody who is complaining about this game is either:

    A: upset about the button removal

    B: UFC is terrible compared to this game

    Posted: June 25, 2009 7:13 PM
    FreddyD
  • ThaiFighter1605

    the graphics are cartoony the controls are a bit disappointing. The punch detection is flawed and it never looks realistic. The action is too fast. Overall it is an unrealistic game and a step down from FNR3

    Posted: June 25, 2009 5:31 PM
    ThaiFighter1605
  • ThaiFighter1605

    The Graphics are terrible. It looks like punch out. The punches never look like they land clean and the action is way too fast. All in all its a big disappointment compared to the last game. Much less realistic and a lot less fun to play.

    Posted: June 25, 2009 5:28 PM
    ThaiFighter1605
  • Plasma_Cake

    Good job Canada

    Posted: June 25, 2009 4:42 PM
    Plasma_Cake
  • dynomite

    jus got fight night. great game!

    Posted: June 25, 2009 3:55 PM
    dynomite
  • TH3_N3RD

    My only problem with the game is the graphices sometimes look cartoony but other than that I like it

    Posted: June 25, 2009 2:53 PM
    TH3_N3RD
AdChoices