X

Review of Fight Night Round 4

Posted: June 25, 2009
Review of Fight Night Round 4
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/39477/review-of-fight-night-round-4/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/164630_LGST/xp20090625_fightnight_rev.jpg
Video_39477
Lace up your boxing gloves and take on the greats in this review of 'Fight Night Round 4'. Will 'Fight Night 3' fans be left scratching their heads or embracing the new controls? Find out in this review.

Comments are Closed

  • kandyman140

    gameplay good the story mode is bad the traning is so crap i think it killed the game for me go on fan boys put my comment down

    Posted: August 17, 2009 4:36 AM
    kandyman140
  • ilovePS3

    Yea eddie's right NBA live sucks a lot compared to 2k9. Nba2k9 crushes Nba live.

    Posted: July 28, 2009 3:14 PM
    ilovePS3
  • Zerogamerxeo

    The only reason people like the controls from fn3 , is because everyone thought they were so good at the game. In fact the only reason people were good at it is beacause you could do awful the whole fight but do one lucky haymaker and all a sudden you get the win. FNR4 is more technical and intuitive than FNR3, so stop repeating I miss the old controls. In this game they would just get you knocked out even faster. It takes practice to get the precesision needed forthe analog controls, but that is part of the fun.

    Posted: July 25, 2009 9:45 AM
    Zerogamerxeo
  • titansrule825

    FN4 is a good game, and i do feel it is better than FN3, however i really dislike how in the single player mode it takes 3 knock downs to defeat an opponent. I have played it for awhile and every fight it takes me 3 knockdowns to score a knockout. Does anyone else have this problem.

    Posted: July 23, 2009 3:24 PM
    titansrule825
  • Slightly_Insane

    think the royalties from this game is enough to get tyson out of the poor house? haha

    Posted: July 19, 2009 8:44 PM
    Slightly_Insane
  • bell22

    this game sucks as soon as i played it i turned my 360 off ufc is way better WAY BETTER

    Posted: July 18, 2009 12:54 AM
    bell22
  • KamronFultz

    Someone told me you cant change the punching controls from the analog stick to the buttons. Is this true?

    Posted: July 7, 2009 10:21 AM
    KamronFultz
  • KamronFultz

    Someone told me that you cant change the punching from the analog stick. Is this True?

    Posted: July 7, 2009 10:19 AM
    KamronFultz
  • 00_ZeRo

    this game is a joke. they took away button customization?? why?? it was the best way to accurately throw the punch u wanted..WHEN and WHERE u wanted..
    they've given in-fighting an unfair advantage...tall fighters can't stay away to throw their punches cuz the push off button is useless...and u can't slip a punch and slide around an opponent..and u can't dash backwards...try fighting online and see what i mean..the fighters who continue to walk forward will stick on u like glue.
    they have a block meter, i assume cause they don't want fighters to block all the time...but the guy who's throwing 100+ punches a round to a blocking opponent doesn't get fatigued...or in the real world, punching himself out of a fight.

    Posted: July 6, 2009 6:48 PM
    00_ZeRo
  • Motorhead151

    UFC 09> This garbage. Taking away button punching was a horrible mistake, the punches look AWFUL too. The arms move like cartoons, the graphics are not that good, the roster sucks besides a handful....just bad EA, bad.

    Posted: July 5, 2009 10:52 PM
    Motorhead151
  • Huenylove

    I must say this game is the best boxing game I have played so far. I like playing with the analog(with people that hate it. This isn't 2002 anymore grow up). Its not about combos but finding your opponents weakness and taking advantage.

    Posted: July 5, 2009 9:07 PM
    Huenylove
  • A_Floating_Emu

    Great BOXING game (for all you complaining about UFC). Very good collision detection and graphics. Has a learning curve but is rewarding and fun once you pass it. AI needs to rely less on counter punches and actually box more. Some things could be worked on but solid game, 4/5.

    Posted: July 1, 2009 11:35 PM
    A_Floating_Emu
  • olympicheropaul

    The single player experience may be my favorite of any sports "sim" ever. Great variety and I love the controls. Not that the controls are easy mind you. The game does have a somewhat steep learning curve but the four difficulty levels take care of that.

    The thing that this review does not address however, and is by far the worst part of this game is there are no penalties for online quitters. This makes an online title attempt infuriating and practically impossible. I can't believe any reviewer would rate this game having tried to play online and not bring this up. It makes me question if the people reviewing this game really experience the whole package before they post the rating. I'm not just picking on G4 here, most reviews don't mention this. Online play is such a HUGE part of any title these days. Why would you not mention something that ruins the whole experience?

    Posted: June 30, 2009 10:06 AM
    olympicheropaul
  • TAZGBD

    Got this game on Wednesday and its a must have, 5 out of 5!! And to those people complaining that they screwed up the controls, stop being a baby and go southpaw

    Posted: June 29, 2009 2:53 PM
    TAZGBD
  • ttommygunn

    they should have stuck with the round 3 config #1 setting. that analog setting is a better setup. also, recovering from a knock down, healing in between rounds, and the graphics weren't all that great either. over time you get used to it, but graphics will alway's pale in comparison to round 3.

    on another note: ufc is pretty cool but in the words of GSP "i was not impressed". but then again, duplicating mma moves and putting them into a game are next to impossible. way too much info, not enough input. you'd need another 2 hands and another controller to make ufc as realistic as it should be. there is just too much going on at once in mma to duplicate it in a game. for what it's worth, they did an awesome job trying. it's fun, kinda close to realistic, and just diffrent in every way to a boxing game. all in all i like them both. hell, if you put anything under the microscope, your gonna find cracks.

    Posted: June 28, 2009 8:16 PM
    ttommygunn
  • duff1972

    I don't even know what the hell mmmmmmmmmmmm means sorry!!!

    Posted: June 28, 2009 2:09 PM
    duff1972
  • duff1972

    mmmmmmmmmm

    Posted: June 28, 2009 2:07 PM
    duff1972
  • duff1972

    In real life I'm a much bigger UFC fan than a boxing fan (but I still love boxing), but I have to say as much as I love The UFC game, Fight Night is just more fun to play. This is not a button mashing retard game and actually takes practice and skill to get good at it (so is UFC so I fail to see the argument). Hey if it's to hard for your simple minds to get around thiers always Punch Out. Real boxing is all about timing, counter-punching, and finding then exposing your opponents weakness and FN4 does this beautifully. Button mashers stay home and play Punch Out.

    Posted: June 28, 2009 2:04 PM
    duff1972
  • Knowledgge

    All I can say about this game is love the concept of creating your character going online a fighting for the title all that good stuff. Even fighting Tyson against Foreman is priceless.....but CONTROLS, CONTROLS,........HUH CONTROLS. I don't like being told how control my fighter that analog stick punch system is not for me I don't want to have to do a fireball motion to to a left hook with if I miss the motion.....right you get clocked. That was the very smart nor was it appreciative of the fans of EA boxing since it came out on the PS before Xbox. Come on man why did you have to go do that everyone seem to love FN3 no had that many complaints fine improve the graphics give us more fighters and options don't take away the bread and butter. So my FN4 got trader for less then half the price but that's another story waiting on the next best thing.......I'll just keep playing my UFC which I might add is not overall best game but its fun and guest what EA the used the same controls you used for FN3 and it works. Yeah the still have room for improvement but your game is back on the shell and there's is being play.....go figure.

    Posted: June 28, 2009 1:38 PM
    Knowledgge
  • Realtalk23

    What????? A 5? Please did EA pay you guys alot of money to give this a good rating. First off the ring girls are ugly and there are only like 3 of them in the entire game. LOL! Career mode training almost impossible to gain points. The entrance to the ring is boring and all the same. FIGHT NIGHT 2 custom entrance was better. It's almost impossible to duck and weeve when in the corner. Ha, Ha, Ha, you should try getting up after being knocked down......LOL Career mode BORING!!!! No face buttons......LOL! But I don't care. ATTENTION EA some people do, so you will loose sales........LOL! Come on this is Next Gen, where is the personality from ALI taunting and talking trash while in the ring or the excitment and RAGE from TYSON while he is about to tear your head off. Ring anouncers are so DAMM BORING! Saying the same crap over and over again. If you learn the SWEET SCIENCE......LOL You can maybe have some fun but overall it will get old because the controls will make you tired. Honestly, the best thing about this crap is the Graphics and by that I mean only on the boxers. Everything else around it is average. SAVE YOUR MONEY AND WAIT FOR THE PRICE TO DROP. THIS IS NOT WORTH $65......LOL! BESIDES IT'S RECESSION TIME!!!! I WOULD RATHER WAIT ON MORDEN WARFARE 2

    Posted: June 28, 2009 1:32 PM
    Realtalk23
AdChoices