X

Prototype Review

Posted: June 10, 2009
Prototype Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/39071/prototype-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/162302_LGST/protoype.jpg
Video_39071
Play as Alex Mercer and gather all the powers you can when we review the highly anticipated game 'Prototype' for multiple platforms.

Comments are Closed

  • Fonkeymunkey

    its taking for ever getting this thing shipped tomy house

    Posted: June 11, 2009 6:07 AM
    Fonkeymunkey
  • ProudFilipino

    When I saw gameplay for both games I wasnt sure which wuz betta so I bought both Infamous and Protoype and they are both AWESOME!

    Posted: June 11, 2009 5:56 AM
    ProudFilipino
  • Keybearer70

    Holy God! I can't believe it! Are reviews actually becoming the opinions of people? And are people actually posting about a different game in another games comments? I really can't tell if Prototype is about inFAMOUS or itself! I think we are having something called "Console Wars" going on right now!
    My main point: Grow up.
    Really some people who are posting here have inFAMOUS, but haven't even TRIED [PROTOTYPE]. Ok maybe inFAMOUS is better but post it in the inFAMOUS comments. Do any of you actually bother to think, "To me inFAMOUS actually looks like a 3rd person Mirrors Edge with a better combat system, BUT wait I don't have the game so what do I know? Really? Am I posting with 3 year olds?

    Posted: June 11, 2009 4:55 AM
    Keybearer70
  • look2leap4

    While I love love the story, and cut scenes of prototype I find the combat to be messy and unresponsive. The targeting is just horrible and at times I feel as though I am just in it for the story and not the open world destruction that I had hoped for. The side missions aren't great but they offer a challenge since you can't control your characters actions anyway. All I can say is I was hoping the combat would've been more evolved to the point that I could enjoy the level of destruction this character is capable of. It just seems like a mess and I don't understand why they developed such an amazing storyline without putting the same amount of effort into the combat system.

    Posted: June 11, 2009 1:04 AM
    look2leap4
  • blee427

    I rarely write on these blogs, but I'm surprised about the reaction to this review. I shouldn't be, but I am surprised. As soon as I heard that inFamous received a perfect score, I suspected the Prototype comparisons would shoot up a notch. I felt that the game was going to get a 4, and I suspected that harsh words were going to come shortly afterwards.

    Must everything delve into some kind of console flame off? Do you guys have to be that predictable? How many emotional hurdles must you overcome to realize that gaming is all consoles and all genres? JRPG's are no better than a FPS. Gaming is for everyone. It's great to have a voice to express love for games. Don't be that guy who constantly needs to fill that non-existent niche of bashing one game, system, or genre to elevate the other.

    Posted: June 11, 2009 12:05 AM
    blee427
  • JimDanD

    Im surprised they said "exceptionally well created New York City", the ign review showed a few good shots of the city and the buildings looked pretty bad, square and bland. Really the only bad thing i can see from any video of the game.

    Posted: June 10, 2009 11:06 PM
    JimDanD
  • JimDanD

    Thats a good review, still need to think about getting it but if i do im sure ill like it.

    Posted: June 10, 2009 11:02 PM
    JimDanD
  • Genesis482

    I have both this and Infamous.. I like em both but on the side of an straight action game this one is the one to have a lil repetitive but I have had a blast with it 4 stars is a well deserved score... I can't see how some people are hating on this game.

    Posted: June 10, 2009 11:02 PM
    Genesis482
  • eersfan

    Let the final sale numbers do the talking. Not too many people will buy Prototype if they own a PS3. They are too much in "love" with Infamous. IMO that game saved the PS3. All the other exclusives were garbage. I have both systems and games. Honestly, Prototype has more balls and action than Infamous. I respect both games, but I give the edge to Prototype. Having played them both I would say that is fair. Still, if you have the dough, and both consoles, buy both, you won't be upset at all.

    Posted: June 10, 2009 10:52 PM
    eersfan
  • Nintendan

    The sad thing is if this came out in April when it was meant to people would be calling InFamous the clone.

    Posted: June 10, 2009 10:03 PM
    Nintendan
  • Nintendan

    I'm sick of the Infamous is so much better 1337 1337 post. The games are nothing alike and never made to be. And for ps2 and xbox graphics? Are you kidding I would love to see a PS2 run a huge open world game with the same graphics and little to no loading times. Oh wait, it can't because if it even tried it would explode.

    Posted: June 10, 2009 10:00 PM
    Nintendan
  • d33boy

    Well, I guess my hunch was right. All that HYPE just overrated Prototype. I guess it's just a wide-world hack and slash game. Renting it would be a better choice.

    Posted: June 10, 2009 9:53 PM
    d33boy
  • Energy_Vampire1974

    "some of the side missions are nonsenseical, like assaulting enemy strongholds"

    hahaha, what is nonsenseical about that?

    "Some of the side missions veer into the nonsensical, such as rooftop orb-collecting races that feel very out of place given the premise of the game."

    I'll agree with that, the orb collecting races do seem very out of place.

    Posted: June 10, 2009 9:51 PM
    Energy_Vampire1974
  • Aerindel_Prime

    If could afford to shell out $450 for a pS3 I would get infamous based on its review, however, I can't afford to spend that much on games right now so I'm spending $59.99 for Prototype.

    $450 for a 5/5
    $60 for a 4/5 seems like a good bargain for me.

    If only one console would destroy the other so we could just buy games based on how good they where rather than what we could afford.

    Posted: June 10, 2009 9:33 PM
    Aerindel_Prime
  • GameTech37

    My folks gave me 2 options. Either buy inFAMOUS when it came out OR buy Prototype when it came out later.

    I bought inFAMOUS and haven't looked back on my purchase. I know Adam said it wasn't an infamous clone, and I respect the man, but face it, it IS an infamous clone.

    Come on, guy gets power he doesn't know how, a decaying city, the ability to soar or glide...COME ON!!

    Posted: June 10, 2009 9:24 PM
    GameTech37
  • premythous

    both games have their flaws but infamous is the better game i played both i didnt beat prototype yet but so far its a let down after waiting so long for this it should have look and played better.

    Posted: June 10, 2009 9:20 PM
    premythous
  • mmhlaw360

    I see, give this a 4 and infamous a 5 when you have the same opinion about both, ya your not bias or anything

    Posted: June 10, 2009 9:20 PM
    mmhlaw360
  • Slymerz

    This review does a good job to show the Pro's & Con's. The AI not recognizing a Stealth Proto guy doing Halo jumps and flying is pretty bad.

    InFamous main bad point is not being able to just Drop straight down while your hanging from a ledge.

    Posted: June 10, 2009 9:13 PM
    Slymerz
  • Frezdez

    inFamous is so much better

    Posted: June 10, 2009 8:53 PM
    Frezdez
  • DarknellStealth

    Crackdown 2 WILL TAKE BOTH GARBAGE GAMES (PROTOTYPE AND INFAMOUS) TO THE DUMPSTER WHERE BELONG!!! HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

    Posted: June 10, 2009 8:31 PM
    DarknellStealth
AdChoices