X

Prototype Review

Posted: June 10, 2009
Prototype Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/39071/prototype-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/162302_LGST/protoype.jpg
Video_39071
Play as Alex Mercer and gather all the powers you can when we review the highly anticipated game 'Prototype' for multiple platforms.

Comments are Closed

  • PUNCHKEY

    put aside the fact of which game is bette and consider this... if the dude frome prototype got into a fight with the dude from inFamous, prototype would totally kick his @$$

    Posted: June 11, 2009 4:25 PM
    PUNCHKEY
  • Pwnproof

    thank god iam not buying this. its just to blaa for me, especially after playing infamous! no thanx but to those who are having fun tearin it up!!! more power to ya. ;) but if you have a ps3 and have not played infamous and was waiting for this instead trust me go for infamous instead!!

    Posted: June 11, 2009 3:27 PM
    Pwnproof
  • Jaucoholic

    Prototype vs. Infamous....The winner is Prototype. Why are people saying that inFamous is so good? In my opinion, inFamous felt rushed and had many flaws, and even though Prototype may have some flaws, it's not nearly as bad as inFamous. I would give Prototype a 5/5 and inFamous a 3/5, and i feel i'm being a little bit generous with inFamous.

    Posted: June 11, 2009 2:33 PM
    Jaucoholic
  • Ryker7

    I like how Adam tells ya'll to stop b!tchin about, and compating inFAMOUS and [Prototype], yet you all do it anyway... 0__o

    Anyway, I think this review is totally fair. The dodge roll is indeed jacked up, the missions are mostly just "find the big blue glowing pillar, kill these people, cutscene, find the next big blue glowy pillar." However, combat is immensely satisfying. I was kinda disappointed by the graphical difference between cutscene and gameplay. It's like the amazing cutscene graphics made the acceptional gameplay graphics look mediocre.

    I totally agree with a 4/5.
    And I also agree with inFAMOUS's 5/5.
    There I said it. (cringe!!!)

    Posted: June 11, 2009 1:08 PM
    Ryker7
  • BCMM1

    I have Infamous and it's one of the best game I've ever played... I also can't wait to get this game, but unfortunately I don't have money :( Too many good games coming out in too short of a time... C'mon! I got bills to pay people!! lmao

    Posted: June 11, 2009 12:55 PM
    BCMM1
  • ParanoiDave

    I'm definitely picking this game up. I think the gore will give it that extra sense of originality over other open-world games. Like others have said, though: This game and inFamous only have two things in common; the main character having superpowers and open world gameplay.

    STOP COMPARING THE GAMES!!! They are two different games!!!

    Maybe if some of you fanboys could actually learn how to read instead of impulsively posting comments based solely on the number of stars it got, you'd know that not everything on X-Play is some sort of "Fanboy Propaganda."

    Play the game yourself and find out if it's good or not.

    Posted: June 11, 2009 12:01 PM
    ParanoiDave
  • POONCAKES44

    POONCAKES44's comment is abusive and has been removed.

    Posted: June 11, 2009 11:22 AM
    POONCAKES44
  • POONCAKES44

    POONCAKES44's comment is abusive and has been removed.

    Posted: June 11, 2009 11:19 AM
    POONCAKES44
  • POONCAKES44

    POONCAKES44's comment is abusive and has been removed.

    Posted: June 11, 2009 11:18 AM
    POONCAKES44
  • POONCAKES44

    POONCAKES44's comment is abusive and has been removed.

    Posted: June 11, 2009 11:15 AM
    POONCAKES44
  • POONCAKES44

    POONCAKES44's comment is abusive and has been removed.

    Posted: June 11, 2009 11:14 AM
    POONCAKES44
  • assassinatur54

    I like inFAMOUS because you sort of have to play the game twice, once a hero, and once inFAMOUS. But prototype is also good too. I love the gore and the city does feel really big. But it seems like there is something missing. In both games actually. I dunno, the jumping and parkour in prototype is sort of rushed, I would say, but then again, some parts of the city in inFAMOUS loads once your near the area. I think both scores are reasonable in X-Play. 5/5 inFAMOUS, 4/5 Prototype. Infamous just got a 5/5 because the details in climbing was better, whereas Prototype you just run up buildings, and the action roll doesn't really evade. I don't think X-Play is corrupt at all. They post reviews on the experiences they had playing the game. Just because you didn't experience it doesn't mean they are automatically corrupt.

    Posted: June 11, 2009 10:57 AM
    assassinatur54
  • Trityler

    Whether you are for Prototype, Infamous, or both, listen up. You bought your game. You are probably enjoying it and thought it was worth the $60. If that's the case, then why should you care what others think? When all is said and done, the only opinion of the game that affects your enjoyment of it is your own. For example, I loved RE5, it got a 3/5. I didn't care and continued to play it and continued to love it. It dosen't matter if F@NB0yZ1836 doesn't like your taste in gaming, or if a reviewer did not get as much out of the game as you did. Lingering on what other people think will only detract from your game experience and raise your blood pressure. I guess what I'm trying to say is if you see a comment you think is stupid or immature, don't stoop down to their level. It's sad that internet forums have lost their intended purpose of sharing mature, arguable, well-reasoned opinions. Now just about every forum is 80% fan bashing when it can. And even though I like to think I'm making the comments board a better place, I know I'm not accomplishing a darn thing. But it's just my way of blowing off steam after wasting several minutes of my life looking for interesting comments and finding nothing but this stuff...several minutes I'm never going to get back.

    P.S. Saying that someone else's favorite game is worse than your favorite is NOT going to magically make yours more fun to play.

    Posted: June 11, 2009 10:21 AM
    Trityler
  • Grave_Chapel

    After reading the review this seems like a mix of GTA IV and the first God of War but with zombies and violence that would make the hardest serial killer blush.

    Posted: June 11, 2009 9:51 AM
    Grave_Chapel
  • stankbuda

    i think infamous is way better

    Posted: June 11, 2009 8:38 AM
    stankbuda
  • jdchubs2

    personally I think that this has to do with the numbers of consoles that the game is released on think about it prototype was released on 3 different consoles where infamous only had to worry about the ps3 I would bet if prototype would have picked a console to solo on it would have been a more refined game you can't play to the consoles strengths if there are 3 of them also i look forward to buying proto type i have infamous i enjoy it going to sit down with prototype and see how it goes looking forward to it

    Posted: June 11, 2009 8:37 AM
    jdchubs2
  • 1eyedjack

    I think prototype is a fun game and pretty much that all that really matters.
    All games have faults but it doesn't stop them from being enjoyable.
    I love the mobility your character has, Awesome!!!

    Posted: June 11, 2009 8:31 AM
    1eyedjack
  • igetpwnd445

    I got this game the day after it came out. i found it to be really fun. i did tho have a few complants about it.like (i am may be the only one) that if you don't get the guys that tell you what the hell is going on the story dosen't seem to go togther very well, but all in all it is a great game. i do really injoy just going into a street and killing and taking in civilons.

    Posted: June 11, 2009 8:27 AM
  • learnedfist

    I picked up Prototype on day 1. At first I was somewhat disappointed by the graphics (draw distance, pop in), and because the AI of the pedestrians was subpar. If you stand in one place and observe, the game can be ugly - but this game is NOT designed for standing still, it's for frantically running around smashing, cutting and blowing stuff up, with countless enemies, vehicles and peds on screen at once. The battles are extremely fun, and there is always some new power to try out. For me, I was mildly dissappointed at first, but now that I have a sense for what the game is all about, I just want to keep playing. In my opinion, it was well worth the purchase price.

    Posted: June 11, 2009 7:56 AM
    learnedfist
  • demwarrior192

    cant wait untill I buy the game...its gonna be so much fun...all the ass kicking and shyt...lol:)

    Posted: June 11, 2009 7:24 AM
    demwarrior192
AdChoices