X

Prototype Review

Posted: June 10, 2009
Prototype Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/39071/prototype-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/162302_LGST/protoype.jpg
Video_39071
Play as Alex Mercer and gather all the powers you can when we review the highly anticipated game 'Prototype' for multiple platforms.

Comments are Closed

  • Flamespeak

    Prototype is a fine game and deserves the 4 it gets. The camera can be a pain on some ocassions, the enemy A.I. is pretty much non-existant, some of the side missions are just there to be there and feel tacked on, but my biggest complaint is the eratic difficulty level of the game. It will be incredibly easy at some parts and then jump to insanely difficulty a moment later. It doesn't really have a challenging feel to it, so much as just random difficulty spikes.

    All that negative aside, you will feel like the juggernaut on joker juice in this game. It serves its role well as a stress relieving product, pop it in and destroy everything in brutally satisfying and varying ways. The story is decent but handled rather poorly with kind of a clip show style of pacing. Then again this game is purely about action at heart and it does it well.

    To be totally honest, I had a lot more fun with Incredible Hulk Ultimate Destruction, but Prototype is very close to capturing that feel of joy that Hulk laid down back on my PS2.

    Infamous is the better game in terms of story construction, pacing, difficulty, camera control, and atmosphere. It plays like a shooter mainly though and focuses on a karma system. The city feels more alive to, whereas the New York populace just doesn't seem to serve any other purpose other than cannon fodder and health in Prototype. As I said, Prototype is still fun and , to be honest, I will probably play it more after I am finished beating it because of the arcadey feel of the game as opposed to beating InFamous twice and maybe never picking it up again, but InFamous did a lot more right.

    Now stop complaining and go play some games.

    Posted: June 14, 2009 3:31 AM
    Flamespeak
  • ddf

    prototype is better

    Posted: June 13, 2009 11:27 PM
    ddf
  • TWinkles

    this is a really good game missions are bland but thats the only thing

    Posted: June 13, 2009 10:36 PM
    TWinkles
  • 7sign

    protoype = sickness
    infamous = non-sicknes

    nuff said.

    Posted: June 13, 2009 6:42 PM
    7sign
  • Foogey

    The dodge roll annoyed me. Also, the one boss Mother kept pissing me off to no end. On top of constant ranged attacks and super explosions, I felt the need to throw my controller down and shut off my Xbox after 2 hours of constant fighting her. I never get upset with video games, but that boss really made me mad. Special attacks from the air didn't work, air strikes didn't work, and ranged attacks in vehicles were pretty much out of the question. My method was running in and long grabbing her parts close to her while she still shot out range attacks and stunned me nonstop. With this method I was able to get about 3 hits before she did her super explosion. The stun thing is just irritating. When Mother would do the super explosion, Mother would fire range attacks that would stun you making you take critical damage from the explosion. It was utter bull. It's hard enough taking off and running away from the explosion in slow mo after you just did an attack, but range attacks screwed me over countless times.

    Running away after critical damage was crap too. The military is attacking you. Why would the military worry about Alex Mercer when 1) There is a big ass monster coming out of the ground in the middle of Time Square and 2) He is fighting the monster. The military makes a point to fire tanks and guns at you while you are fighting the monster. Alex has enough to worry about like running away from Hunters and ranged attacks at 0HP and finding people to consume while not accidentally running out of the mission area. (Did that once before nearly killing Mother)

    The only other thing I had a problem with was graphics. Yeah. It was no GoW2, but it wasn't even a GTA4. Explosions and buildings crumbling was like GTA Vice City. After destroying a building, explosions would bust out the side while the building still stayed intact. Then pieces would slide out and into the building while the camera shakes and smoke billows out. It kind of seemed like their graphics artist was very lazy.

    Now for some pros. Game play is awesome. The whole idea and setup is very good. Hunting for people who know some information about you made it all the better. Side missions are pretty cool and switched up. Upgrades and stuff are amazing. I was happy that I actually had to buy the powers than Alex just having them right when I jumped into it.

    Posted: June 13, 2009 6:03 PM
    Foogey
  • xnerd23x

    I bet if you had a invulnerable dodge roll, I died so much from that damn dodge roll
    and maybe some more long range stuff this would be better
    and some moral choices would be nice

    Posted: June 13, 2009 2:39 PM
    xnerd23x
  • xnerd23x

    I bet if you had a invulnerable dodge roll, I died so much from that damn dodge roll
    and maybe some more long range stuff this would be better
    and some moral choices would be nice

    Posted: June 13, 2009 2:39 PM
    xnerd23x
  • drieva

    Man inFamous is so much better, but this is defintly still a good game.

    Posted: June 13, 2009 2:26 PM
    drieva
  • sixshotstoomany

    I bought this game the day it came out. I really enjoy it but the story does seem slightly disjointed. The major appeal to the game for me is the "free running" with super human powers. It is incredibly well done and fluid but takes some time to get use to.

    Posted: June 13, 2009 11:28 AM
    sixshotstoomany
  • goblin

    the looks good from what i seen um get and find out what its really based on

    Posted: June 13, 2009 7:35 AM
    goblin
  • yaboy187

    I'm going to rent it before i buy it.

    Posted: June 13, 2009 7:09 AM
    yaboy187
  • cancan912

    Guys honestly i have played both games and to me prototype was way better, And whoever said that infamous had better graphics... are u effing stupid or are u just playing it on some 12" Tv from 1986, you most not be playing it in hi def Prototypes graphics were much better and as for the problems with prototype like the dodging and the targeting that can easily be fixed with a patch. I completely lost interest in Infamous after i beat it and prototype has a new game plus mode so u can start over with everything and has a much better replay value. The parkur and free roaming is also much better in prototype... and infamous had almost no blood that was really disappointing, and the damn cut scenes were crappy drawings in Infamous . All in all though both games are good but after finishing Infamous its no longer fun. I beat the game in 5 hours and was completely done with it.

    Posted: June 13, 2009 5:46 AM
    cancan912
  • MaddBoy

    Sorry Adam but until sony fails and bankrupts (in what.... 3 weeks?)they shall be compared.

    Kinda like sibling.

    One's a coke dealer and the other is an executive ceo for toys r us stocks whatev. They make the same amount its just people are gonna find a few things wrong with the other.

    They're both bad bcuz ceo cheats on his wife after driving the company bankrupt for personal gain and dealer just killed someone.
    But the dealer is just tryin to support his family and the ceo once gave a quarter to a homeless bum.

    btw ceo = ps3
    and 360= dealer"

    Posted: June 13, 2009 12:18 AM
    MaddBoy
  • MaddBoy

    Sorry Adam but until sony fails and bankrupts (in what.... 3 weeks?)they shall be compared.

    Kinda like sibling.

    One's a coke dealer and the other is an executive ceo for toys r us stocks whatev. They make the same amount its just people are gonna find a few things wrong with the other.

    They're both bad bcuz ceo cheats on his wife after driving the company bankrupt for personal gain and dealer just killed someone.
    But the dealer is just tryin to support his family and the ceo once gave a quarter to a homeless bum.

    btw ceo = ps3
    and 360= dealer"

    Posted: June 13, 2009 12:17 AM
    MaddBoy
  • MaddBoy

    Sorry Adam but until sony fails and bankrupts (in what.... 3 weeks?)they shall be compared.

    Kinda like sibling.

    One's a coke dealer and the other is an executive ceo for toys r us stocks whatev. They make the same amount its just people are gonna find a few things wrong with the other.

    They're both bad bcuz ceo cheats on his wife after driving the company bankrupt for personal gain and dealer just killed someone.
    But the dealer is just tryin to support his family and the ceo once gave a quarter to a homeless bum.

    btw ceo = ps3
    and 360= dealer

    Posted: June 13, 2009 12:16 AM
    MaddBoy
  • shadow_117

    this looks like an awesome game cant wait 2 get it !!!!!!

    Posted: June 12, 2009 7:18 PM
    shadow_117
  • shadow_117

    this looks like an awesome game cant wait 2 get it !!!!!!

    Posted: June 12, 2009 7:18 PM
    shadow_117
  • rageofox

    My you people are so making this game seem horrible. Yes I only have a X-Box 360, so that doesn't mean that im just another fanboy. I'll admit inFAMOUS looks great and im sure it plays great to, BUT inFAMOUS and [PROTOTYPE] are nothing ALIKE. inFAMOUS you have electrical powers that result from a post-apocaliptic blast, [PROTOTYPE] you have close up and personal death/destruction dealing tools that are result from government experimenting. Besides look at the facts, [PROTOTYPE] is a multiplatform game which means that ActiVision had to focus on more systems which probably meant they couldn't focus on graphics as much as you all wish they did so get over it, inFAMOUS isn'ta multiplatformer its exclusive to the PS3 which means that Sucker Punch only had to make it for one system and not worry about getting all the systems equel in not only graphics but in everything else to. Really [PROTOTYPE] is more realistic in the way that you can be kicked out of a roll, come on if your facing a strong enemy and you try to roll away what is he going to do, he's going to hit you and get you out of the roll, THATS A FACT. I'm sure that inFAMOUS deserves the 5/5 it got, but I don't really don't care that much, personally think that [PROTOTYPE] should have earned a 5/5. HELLO a review is an OPINION OF THE PERSON REVIEWING THE GAME OR WHAT EVER THEY ARE REVIEWING, so shut up about stupid "X-Play Conspericy" that X-Play was paid by SONY to give inFAMOUS a better review. I own a PSP and have a game called Moster Hunter Freedom 2 and they gave it a 1-3/5 I think it was, but I still play it and think its a great game, thats just my opinion. If you don't like [PROTOTYPE] thats you're opinion and you shouldn't be forcing it on others, honestly, let people decide for themselfs if its a good game or not

    Posted: June 12, 2009 6:13 PM
    rageofox
  • CrazyIvan62

    I want to get this game so bad its scary

    Posted: June 12, 2009 5:50 PM
    CrazyIvan62
  • DYRN

    This game did deserve a 4 out of 5 good job guys

    Posted: June 12, 2009 4:18 PM
    DYRN
AdChoices