X

Palm Pre Review

Posted: June 9, 2009
Palm Pre Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/39036/palm-pre-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/162073_LGST/as20090609_gadgetpron.jpg
Video_39036

If the iPhone 3GS doesn't impress you, Kevin Pereira and Olivia Munn explore the new Palm Pre developed by former designers from Apple while Alison Haislip takes a trip down to the Sprint launch party in Hollywood.

What You Need To Know

  • The Palm Pre is thicker and bulkier than most phones but still manageable and extremely light. The shape fits nicely int your hand.
  • The touch screen is only 3.1" across but has the same resolution (320 x 480) as the iPhone.
  • The swiping and tapping is super responsible, with a nice water ripple effect that lets you know where you touched the screen.
  • Multi-touch also works perfectly, with a gesture area below the screen to switch between apps.
  • The keyboard is small, a bit sticky and the keys bump up against the edge of the phone. Overall, typing is accurate.
  • The Palm Web OS allows users to multitask with each app running on its own "card." It's the most powerful feature on the Palm Pre.
  • You can also browse the web, listen to music, and sync to you iTunes like an iPod.
  • 3 mega-pixel camera with a flash that takes excellent pictures.
  • The Palm app store only has 19 apps available to purchase!

Price

  • $200 with a Sprint contract.
Overall Rating
...

Comments are Closed

  • ZektavSteward

    Lol. He mentioned baddragon.com

    Posted: June 18, 2012 1:33 AM
    ZektavSteward
  • Crandizzle

    she wont even give the phone a chance lol both phones are good but iphone still a little better i think !

    Posted: August 30, 2009 12:28 PM
    Crandizzle
  • Payne80

    Nice review. I'm getting the palm pre in two weeks. Been a sprint subscriber for 5 years, and don't plan on switching anytime soon.

    Coworker of mine has the pre, and from playing around with it and the info about what the phone can do, I'm sure I'll be satisfied with it.

    Remember folks, its what you get out of the phone that matters. ;)

    Posted: August 24, 2009 12:56 PM
    Payne80
  • behindblueeyes

    trekbowler You are an Idiot. This might come as a shock but if you don't come back you won't be missed. It comes down to this. My carrier is sprint I like there coverage and services so I will be getting the pre. Apperantly Just because I don't want to spend $200 to cancel my contract and ,spend an additional $40 dollars a month for what I already get with Sprint, on an AT&T plan That means you Iphone users have to start flaming every board you can find. God Apple geeks are the most insecure people on the planet and it's getting a little old. Get over yourselfs and be happy that there is a device that might compete with the Apple monopoly. And lets other people enjoy some of the features you have had exclusivly for about 4 years. And Olivia is not an Apple homer she has T-mobile and prefers the Blackberry.

    Posted: June 14, 2009 12:15 PM
    behindblueeyes
  • bwright1991

    they should realize that AT&T works great everywhere else. I've lived in new jersey and now in michigan and i get great reception practically everywhere except in like a friends basement with lead in the walls kik

    Posted: June 12, 2009 1:17 PM
    bwright1991
  • TechGuru83

    i hate it when ppl say i phone started this entire craze on touchscreen phones i remember way back when the palm was the only phone you could by that had internet and touchscreen. i really want ppl to stop comparing all phones to the i phone lets talk about all the features and what it does i need info on the phone not how it compares. how do you expect ppl to make an informed decision if you dont inform them

    overall weak review
    uberfailure

    try again

    Posted: June 12, 2009 9:44 AM
    TechGuru83
  • awalker

    @SiteTLG Olivia hates the iphone and make fun of Kevin all the time for having one. She has a ipod touch because of the apps but in not a apple groupie. She thinks the iphone is way overrated and looooooves her blackberry curve. She just believes the pre is not in the same league as the iphone. I think in time the phone will be a serious challenger to apple juggernaunt.

    Posted: June 12, 2009 7:40 AM
    awalker
  • Slk24kgj

    Seriously, they didn't even mention synergy and syncing with the cloud operating system. What a joke of a review, it was littered with inaccuracies.

    Posted: June 11, 2009 9:14 PM
    Slk24kgj
  • DeuceNailher

    Did he just refrence bad-dragon.com .....@.@ never thought id see the day..

    Posted: June 11, 2009 7:56 PM
    DeuceNailher
  • raffATTACK

    The only good thing I like about it that my iPhone doesn't have out of the box is background applications.

    But once you jailbreak it, then you can get the background app thing just like this phone.

    So I'd say iPhone still rocks my friggin socks brutha.

    Posted: June 11, 2009 4:15 PM
    raffATTACK
  • HenNaHito

    @ easymark26:
    the pre touchscreen actually works just as well as the Iphones if not better. And remember, Iphone had no apps when it launched. This phone will get apps over time.

    @ Tman1992:
    they actually did compare to the 3gS (didn't you hear the 32gb comment). Problem with that is AT&T has said they haven't decided if they will support MMS and tethering on the 3gS here in the US.

    Posted: June 11, 2009 2:38 PM
    HenNaHito
  • SiteTLG

    OLivia ia such an Apple groupie in the first place. I dont know why anyone would ever take her seriously when it comes to a device thats trying to compete with an apple device. I bought my pre on launch day and the only negative that they mentioned in their review that I have experienced is the stickyness of the keyboard and the lack of available apps. But the phone has only been out for less than a week so Im sure the app catalog will expand eventually.

    Posted: June 11, 2009 6:26 AM
    SiteTLG
  • eddie29

    its a cell phone i remember wen cell phones were black and white with no camera.If u have sprint go wit the palm pre its a great phone i only got it because my two year agreement was up.no phone is goin to make me switch networks thats just a little dumb there why go and get an iphone for 200 dollars pay 100 a month mandatory fee and then have it freeze and break on me.people please just get a phone to your choosing some ppl have different size hands and like different styles of phones

    Posted: June 10, 2009 4:26 PM
    eddie29
  • Tman1992

    they only compared it to the iphone 3g and not the 3gs

    Posted: June 10, 2009 2:38 PM
    Tman1992
  • easymark26

    my friend bought a Pre and I have been playing around with it since sunday and I am not all that impressed, that being said Im not all that impressed with the iphone either, the keyboard on the pre makes me a little upset with the stickyness, its not as small a keyboard as some reviews said.
    the multiple application web os is cool, but the touchscreen isnt as accurate as one would hope and there arent enough apps to interest me.

    Posted: June 10, 2009 2:11 PM
    easymark26
  • Goku87

    ill take that phone i don't care
    that phone, it looks good and it seem it works ok

    Posted: June 10, 2009 1:39 PM
    Goku87
  • McFly88

    ROFL @ trekbowler haha, way to base a whole site on one review you thought was bogus. i'll give pre some props, until the new Iphone software comes out.

    Posted: June 10, 2009 1:30 PM
    McFly88
  • trekbowler

    Talk about a sloppy web review and a stupidly biased review of the phone in general. The female (aka "Brains") probably has trouble deciphering her left hand from her right. Everything she said was somehow negative in some regard, especially if the iPhone already had whatever feature was in discussion. I like how they think that the form is good unless opened...because the clunky iPhone obviously is far more sleek and thin.

    This was my first and last foray into the G4 website/realm if only because it seems that this new device was not even given a chance to be equal with the iPhone in area's where it IS clearly better. Very disappointing in the network and I think you should get a new piece of arm candy...she is no looker.

    Posted: June 10, 2009 1:11 PM
    trekbowler
  • ninjakiller9

    "i had an iphone once, its in the garbage now" lmfao but both the iphone and the pre are pretty sick

    Posted: June 10, 2009 1:01 PM
    ninjakiller9
  • ParcFerme

    "The shape fits nicely int your hand."

    "The swiping and tapping is super responsible..."

    "...sync to you iTunes like an iPod..."

    wtf

    Posted: June 9, 2009 10:41 PM
    ParcFerme
AdChoices