X

Resident Evil 5 Review

Posted: March 12, 2009
Resident Evil 5 Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/37175/resident-evil-5-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/138345_LGST/resident-evil-5.jpg
Video_37175
In this X-Play Review, Adam Sessler takes a look at the new multiplatform game 'Resident Evil 5'. With all the fanfare, does this game live up to the hype or fall short? Find out in this review.

Comments are Closed

  • vianna123

    adam I can kick your srry ASS!! for all I care! I waited so long for that game to come out!
    I couldn't wait to see wat Xplay was going to give it I thought it was going to be a 5/5
    but when I heard 3 you pissed me off like hell. I don't watch Xplay anymore
    after that review !! You know you have a big dumb ASS mouth! I have RE5 for the Xbox
    I played and I love it!!! Your just an ass ADAM!!!!

    Posted: December 30, 2009 6:37 PM
    vianna123
  • Apocalyptyc

    i didnt use to agree with xplay on this one, but, when i saw the soapbox review i do now

    Posted: August 12, 2009 3:24 PM
    Apocalyptyc
  • icecoldbeard

    I'll admit that the resident evil franchise has not always had the best control scheme and its a little hard to shoot at first, but once you get use to the controls its really not that hard. they did mess with the game play by adding in coop by adding a second leading character because the AI is just dumb as my old high school gym teacher. but when you have a second player via another controller or a another console its a very well played coop. a memorable scene from resident evil 4 is when you are in the cabin and the zombies are surrounding them and most of us who played the harder difficulty wished we had a buddy helping use mess some zombies up. me and my friends have logged at least 72 hours of game play into this game and no matter what you may think of the game you should at least play it threw once.

    Posted: August 2, 2009 9:52 AM
    icecoldbeard
  • Palzon

    Very well written review. Further, profoundly accurate. I've hardly read a better, more spot-on review of anything. Truly, RE5 has given us A-plus graphics and F-minus controls. Game not replayable and definitely won't be playing RE6.

    Posted: August 2, 2009 2:54 AM
    Palzon
  • HAMMERCLAW

    It's amazing, after all these years, and three consoles down the road, how Japanese developers have not completely accepted, or adjusted to, the analog sticks on the dual-shock controller.I don't know if it's a mental block or laziness on their part,but RS5 isn't the only game to suffer from this apparent nostalgia for the good old days. The thing is, it's deliberate; they WANT you to sweat bullets trying to make it to one their archaic "check-points". The hardcore who made it through the game, deserve every pat on the back they gave themselves.

    Posted: August 1, 2009 7:12 PM
    HAMMERCLAW
  • alex707perez

    i think it deserved a five no matter what the rating re5 was gonna be a great! the controls are cool its challenging others might wine and thinks its to hard cause they dont like challenges besides re4 was sort of racist so dont say this is racist also alot of people and my friends and online play this game so who cares about the review its the best

    Posted: August 1, 2009 3:02 PM
    alex707perez
  • oblivionhero522

    I actually found the Co-Op AI quite good. If you switch into Attack mode instead of Cover Sheva will actually kill people. The cover system is fine. Plus, you don't have to use it. I atcually liked the controls because it's so closely related to RE4. Also, Adam said that Sheva loves to waste ammo, and then he said she likes to stand around; I don't get that.

    However, if someone who has never played and RE game before plays RE5 they will hate it.

    Posted: July 29, 2009 12:00 PM
    oblivionhero522
  • PunitiveZero

    Although I disagree with giving the game a 3 out 5, (That game is awesome!) I see some of your points. The story could've been more fulfilling. It wasn't bad, it just could've been better, especially since this may be the final game featuring Wesker. The AI gets a 5 out of 5 on being a liability. HEY SHEVA OR CHRIS, IM OVER HERE AND SHOOT SOMEBODY FOR GOD SAKES! I love co op as much as the next guy, but single player could've been tweaked a little bit. In the end though, unless I have a friend with me, I play single player the most. Standing and reloading is kind of cheap and the fact that your forgiving 9 sloted inventory (since the game features an item management system that allows you to store all of your belongings in a nearly infinite case that you can go into by simply restarting the game or dying, which I recommend restarting) can only be accessed in real time gets really old. Thank you d pad for your helpful service, or this game would be unplayable. The gameplay is fine and being able to move and shoot your idiot opponents would turn the game into a total gears or metal gear solid 4 knock off. I like originality and that is what many games lack. This is a great game, but I understand that this game won't appeal to a lot people. I suggest still give the game a try gamers.

    Posted: July 27, 2009 9:25 PM
    PunitiveZero
  • PunitiveZero

    Although this is one of the best games I've ever played and disagree with the rating, I not only respect your opinion, but agree with some of your points. I give the AI a 5 out of 5 on being a liability.Single player is still fun, but it has a couple of bugs. The story was descent, but a dissapointment in the end. If that is supposed to be how resident evil ends, shame. It wasn't as bad as extinction, but still. Not everyone likes the same games, so gamers, don't take on the words of others. Give it try yourself. I recommend the game. Sessler's 3 out 5 is a little much, but his points are well pointed out.

    Posted: July 25, 2009 10:24 PM
    PunitiveZero
  • dragrxx

    this is stupid a con in their review is racisim their being racist i mean its mean they like talking about racism

    Posted: July 16, 2009 5:39 PM
    dragrxx
  • ABXPuPpeT

    this game was a good game it should of got 5/5 if freakin gaylo 3 got a 5/5 why didnt this game and gaylo sucked big one, and stereotype wtf, since when multiplatform games cared bout race, if thats the case re-review COD4 and 5 ha haa

    Posted: July 10, 2009 7:54 AM
    ABXPuPpeT
  • spicypooptastic

    If only I read this review before I purchased this crappy game. I feel like IGN gets paid or somethin.

    Posted: July 4, 2009 1:07 PM
    spicypooptastic
  • elflakodr13

    i think i know what he means in the disappoints couse we all remember re4 scared us to the bones especially the when they spotted you but not on this game i do agree about the inventory you could carry more stuff and you can not expand it unlike re4 i like leon more than chris oh 1 more thing i do disagree about the score it was too low for such a good game i stull think re4 was better.

    Posted: June 21, 2009 11:22 PM
    elflakodr13
  • FYCY

    I don't understand they gave too human a 4 out of 5. that is one of the crappiest games on the 360.

    Posted: June 20, 2009 7:52 AM
    FYCY
  • blackheart6922

    O, btw Adam, u can go to hell for all i can care

    Posted: June 16, 2009 6:52 PM
    blackheart6922
  • blackheart6922

    Adam Lessler ur an idiot by making fun of this game. I waited soooo long for this game on the PS3 and I heard ur comment on X-PLAY & it REALLY pissed me off so badly i wanted to jump through the tv and to kick ur sorry ass for saying that bad review 'bout Resident Evil 5 and everytime X-PLAY comes on, i see u on there, i sure as hell don't watch it anymore with ur smartass mouth. Just to be precise: u can go piss off & go kill yourself ya jerk!!!!!!! BTW, Morgan Ur still HOT & u will always be (^_^)

    Posted: June 16, 2009 6:50 PM
    blackheart6922
  • meechp123

    I agree with Adam is saying, but this game is definitely a 4/5, not a 3.

    Posted: June 14, 2009 7:36 AM
    meechp123
  • F0r3s7

    Oh come on people the controls werent that bad.Sure you cant move while you shoot but it would be way too easy if you could and also...LOOK AT ALL THE GUNS

    Posted: June 12, 2009 8:48 PM
    F0r3s7
  • thefloppyllama

    Watch Adam's soap box for a thorough justification for his revew.

    In the end, he stresses like MANY reviewers, one cannot simply quantify for quality via a numerical score.

    Obviously, most things don't work that way, however, the majority just want a quick answer, about as efficient as fast food.


    NortheastMonk:

    "No.. Adam just doesn't settle for anything the industry throws at us and calls it a masterpiece!"

    I concur.

    Bottomline - great game but the 3/5 isn't as simple as it sounds.

    Posted: June 10, 2009 11:14 AM
    thefloppyllama
  • solidsnakeckw

    nice and honest review. Nice job, adam.

    Posted: June 6, 2009 6:39 PM
    solidsnakeckw
AdChoices