Ubiquitous fake-friend aggregation site Facebook has revised their terms of service. When you click on "I Agree," here's what you've consented to: Facebook retains the rights to anything you post publicly on the sit -- forever. Before this update, the rights reverted to you when you left the site, but no more. Here's the text:
You may remove your User Content from the Site at any time. If you choose to remove your User Content, the license granted above will automatically expire, however you acknowledge that the Company may retain archived copies of your User Content.
That applies to everything: Updates, photos and even the 25 interesting things about me!
Facebook says they are doing nothing unusual, in fact, on the company's blog, Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg said the revised TOS solves some problems unique to social networking:
People want full ownership and control of their information so they can turn off access to it at any time. At the same time, people also want to be able to bring the information others have shared with them-like email addresses, phone numbers, photos and so on-to other services and grant those services access to those people's information. These two positions are at odds with each other. There is no system today that enables me to share my email address with you and then simultaneously lets me control who you share it with and also lets you control what services you share it with.
Do you still use Facebook? Or are you afraid to post anything because your mom and your aunt Hilda will see whatever you put up there?