X

Madden NFL 12 - Xbox 360

Game Description:Madden NFL 12 continues the rich tradition of the storied Madden franchise by bringing fans closer to the NFL than ever before. Madden NFL 12 delivers Everything You See On Sunday including all 32 NFL teams, stadiums, and every player in the league- all with the level of authenticity that fans have come to expect. Whether playing your rival on the couch or online, leading your favorite team to the Super Bowl in Franchise mode, or building a dream team in Madden Ultimate Team, Madden NFL 12 captures all the drama of the NFL.
G4TV Rating
3 / 5
  • Avg User Rating
    (14 Ratings)
    3.1 / 5
  • Rate This Game
Madden NFL 12 First Look Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/games/ps3/65001/madden-nfl-12/articles/74453/madden-nfl-12-first-look-preview/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/269101_LGST/madden-nfl-12.jpg
Article_74453

Madden NFL 12 First Look Preview

By Miguel Concepcion - Posted May 05, 2011

For as long as the Madden series has been around, it’s come to the point where “new year, new roster” jokes just aren’t funny anymore. EA has rolled with those jabs and proved its worth with meaningful improvements and results, most notably with the last couple Maddens. So it’s a bit of a surprise that this year my obligatory introductory question of, “So, what’s new?” gave way to me asking, “So, what took you so long to add these features?” During an hour-long demo session with EA’s latest, Madden NFL 12, so much was focused on improvements and overhauls that I wondered where EA found the time to implement all these elements in one game. I suppose that’s what happens with prolonged experience with the current consoles’ dev tools.


We work in television, so we can appreciate the lengths that EA Tiburon has gone to overhaul its camera work for Madden NFL 12. It’s quite a remarkable change; actual cameramen from NFL Films were motion captured so now you can pick up minuscule POV nuances like how the cameraman tries to limit his breathing. Moreover, these experienced shooters expounded on their experience on how specific parts of the game would be shot, things that are filmed with care that the viewer doesn’t (and shouldn’t) notice. Take for example the limited room a cameraman would have to get close to capturing a quarterback warming up. In a videogame, you can go as close as you like. That’s obviously not the case in real life, where there are distance rules you have to follow, and this will be followed in Madden 12. It might sound like a minor change but should speak volumes across an hour-long game.

From the camera switching in the imaginary master control room to the cameras on the ground, there’s now this greater sense of the visuals reacting to the action. Picture a linebacker who gets too close to the camera. In past games, the linebacker would just pass through the camera. Now the camera actually gets out of the way. It’s all for the sake of providing a more natural and organic experience.

Good camerawork can only go so far if the gameplay isn’t there. One gameplay feature EA wanted to highlight were the enhancements made to last year’s GameFlow option. While praised for reducing overall playtime, GameFlow was somewhat criticized for not offering enough flexibility in play selection. Now, you can rate your plays so that Gameflow will recognize your favorite plays more often. Furthermore, you’ll be able to guide the play calling, say if you wanted GameFlow to pick more pass-heavy plays, or run-heavy, balanced, aggressive plays (among others). What I found to be especially intriguing was the long-awaited addition of Custom Playbooks and its integration with GameFlow. Now you can mix and match plays and tweak a team’s existing playbook.


You can also save multiple playbooks, say if you know your best friend’s football methodology inside and out and want to tailor your playbook so you have the best chance against him. You can also have a playbook designed for the single-player season and another well rounded playbook to take on strangers online.

Sometimes the best details in a game are the ones that the consumer can’t put their finger on but will still notice and appreciate during a playthrough. In the case of Madden 12, one standout improvement involves improving the collision animation. This was illustrated to me in a case involving a tackle. In the past, the momentum-based animation would be dictated by how the ball carrier and the initial defender collided, never taking into account the collisions of any other subsequent defenders. In real life, there should at least be some additional motion and momentum coming from those later hits, and Madden 12 looks to offer that sense of realism.

The significance of Madden NFL 12 isn’t so much that it is the series’ 18th installment (not counting the preceding John Madden Football series), it is that EA Tiburon has become an old hand with the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 development tools, so much so that 12 looks like one of those special Maddens where Tiburon now has the experience to focus less on updates and more on improvements. Don’t get me wrong, there is a wealth of fine tuned updates as well from better character model proportions to grass details (the kind that gets tossed in the air and stains uniforms) to the updated uniforms. Heck, even the ball has been shrunken to a more accurate size.

As this was just the first of many Madden 12 presentations, EA is going with the “staggered” news approach (the kind that worked well with Marvel Vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds) so you can be sure that we’ll have more news on the game as the release date (August 30) nears.

Comments are Closed

  • FAVREALOUS

    Sounds like some of y'all haven't been involved in madden long. It's had newspapers, prices for "stuff," radio shows, etc. SMH. I can't believe I'm seeing so many folks huffing and puffing about the game (well I kinda can). Franchise mode is cool, but why play that when online is where it's at....for the TRUE GRIT MADDEN BALLERS atleast.. Whatever happened to the person vs person battles... the smack talking..bragging rights?? That feeling you get inside when you're on the brink of taking a loss while your opponent is talking in your ear, but score that last T.D. with 11 seconds left to win the game?? Mannnnnnn... What happened to so called "gamers." I believe they're way too spoiled now.. Tighten up your chin strap fellas for gods sake.

    G-UNIT!!!!!! (Green Bay)

    get at me

    - FAVREALOUS (psn)

    Posted: August 3, 2011 3:18 PM
  • UtahUtes24

    the one thing a really care about is that they learn how to say my name its not hard at all Maynes its just like hanes but with an M!

    Posted: June 27, 2011 1:03 PM
    UtahUtes24
  • Strick_

    If I said it once I said it a thousand times Madden is not what it used to be they should focus a lot of this madden on franchise and online......but do what they did a couple years ago and make another game...remember head coach well it should be SUPERSTAR and make it where its starts u from high school like NCAA have u do. Where u go from high school legend all the way to the pros or let u upload your player from NCAA and let u make it or break it in the pros. I remember 2k5 had the whole pent house idea and madden came out with starting in an apartment and working your way up come on. All I will say is if 2k5 would have had a better salary system it would have killed madden I know people loved that game even the part were u could choose what celebration your character did and if they get a chance with a new football game there gonna put some of that NBA2k11 into there football game and EA wont be able to hang if u don't believe me check this out. NBA live use to be the best basketball franchise we have ever seen but EA started slacking just updating roster and adding new stuff and right when people started to get fed up 2K step in and started to take over the fans and know they have what could be the best basket ball game ever.They still can improve that game. Were as the new NBA ELITE still has not come out because they compete, amazing right no... its common since if u take care of your consumer they will take care of you if you keep robbing your consumer they will find another dealer. So EA keep up the bad work your reign is almost over.

    Posted: May 22, 2011 11:56 PM
    Strick_
  • showtimefolks

    forget the camera

    nfl 2k5 did something 6-7 years ago what madden has not be able to do with next gen tech.

    improve the franchise mode
    add a be a owner mode
    set prices for everything
    radio show
    news paper
    pre game after game interviews
    weekly shows with highlights
    be able to move a team and actually feel the impact

    be a pro mode:

    learn something from mlb the show improve this mode it has a lot of potential

    be able to get drafted high if draft class porting from ncaa
    be able to sign as a FA and make it fun not just a offer and hit X to accept
    abasement deals
    off the field control

    offseason

    improve the FA signing time
    improve the draft

    come on EA step up to the plate

    Posted: May 9, 2011 10:40 PM
    showtimefolks
  • wrb_79@hotmail.com

    I actually, have designed and configured the animations my self in Madden 11 (through the sliders). Through doing-this, the tackles are more realistc, and some other components of the game as-well. Qb's scramble more and adapt to situtation better, based on their game-given abilities. MAdden game play engine is very-strange; but can be corrected, but not perfected!!

    Will the architect...signing_out

    Posted: May 9, 2011 8:45 AM
    wrb_79%40hotmail.com
  • Mast3rAng3L0

    When will Madden go Kinect? Then I might give it another look but not even a blink till they get it together and change it up.

    Posted: May 9, 2011 4:40 AM
  • Mast3rAng3L0

    I hate the Madden franchise. I am sick of buying $60 game over and over just bcuz they put Maddened and year +1. I would want them to add the true to the game camera and that is in the helmet of the player like NFL 2K5 blew Madden away with. They make money off football strong fans but less programming xp. Seriously Madden is the same boring title it was last year. Call me when they release Madden 77 or .make it fps whichever comes sooner.

    Posted: May 9, 2011 4:38 AM
  • Mast3rAng3L0

    I hate the Madden franchise. I am sick of buying $60 game over and over just bcuz they put Maddened and year +1. I would want them to add the true to the game camera and that is in the helmet of the player like NFL 2K5 blew Madden away with. They make money off football strong fans but less programming xp. Seriously Madden is the same boring title it was last year. Call me when they release Madden 77 or .make it fps whichever comes sooner.

    Posted: May 9, 2011 4:36 AM
  • blankknight

    when madden came out with their first superstar mode in 06 i believe i thought it was great, something to change up the constant burn of running through franchise mode. its sad to see over the years that its gotten worse, I was bummed when i saw i didn't have a mentor or some geeky web nerd painting pics for me lol. i had hoped they gave it some work for this madden but after seeing this video ill pass on starring at the color change of the Seahawks helmets....

    Posted: May 8, 2011 9:52 PM
    blankknight
  • xiuran

    xiuran's comment is abusive and has been removed.

    Posted: May 8, 2011 8:13 PM
    xiuran
  • cougar_22

    IF YOU HAVE NBA 2K 11 I WANT MADDEN TO LOOK AND BE AS REALASTIC AS THAT GAME WATCH HALFTIME PRESENTATION

    Posted: May 8, 2011 7:31 PM
    cougar_22
  • cougar_22

    I've been dying to see this feature from madden for years now. The feature i have been thinking is. For those people who have the recent NCAA football game can understand this but i want for the annoucers Gus Jhonson and Chris Collinsworth in the game i want to see there faces during post game and halftime i want to see them interact in the game with us. I want the camera to be on their faces and have us see them talk about the game in person. Also i would want for regular season games i would want to see is a better halftime show i want to see inside the locker room and i want the annoucers to talk about the half and show plays of what was good and what was bad and show us what they think. Like in madden 11 or 10 i think it was remember when you would do a play wrong at the end of the play it would replay it and show you what you have done wrong and show you options you've had to make it into a good play i want EA to bring that back into madden 12 also i would want their to be more hype for super bowls and playoffs especially rivalry games like the steelers and ravens or patroits and jets i just wanted this madden to be as realistic to what i watch oni sundays at 1:00 and one more thing. the players that are on the sidelines who arent playing look like stick figures i want them to look realistic as the players on the field and after the game i want their to be interviews by players and reporters and i want to hear their voice, i want to their to be a nfl ticker at the bottom of the screen or anywhere on the screen that has the scores of the real NFL Games or when your in franchise mode i want to see a ticker of scores from the franchise teams - THINK ABOUT IT GOOO MADDEN I CANT WAIT TILL 8-30-11 I HOPE THEIRS A MADDEN 13 AND ONE MORE THING AGAIN I HOPE THE ANNOUCERS TALK ABOUT THE LOCKOUT AND THINGS THAT WERE INVOLVED

    Posted: May 8, 2011 7:12 PM
    cougar_22
  • cougar_22

    I've been dying to see this feature from madden for years now. The feature i have been thinking is. For those people who have the recent NCAA football game can understand this but i want for the annoucers Gus Jhonson and Chris Collinsworth in the game i want to see there faces during post game and halftime i want to see them interact in the game with us. I want the camera to be on their faces and have us see them talk about the game in person. Also i would want for regular season games i would want to see is a better halftime show i want to see inside the locker room and i want the annoucers to talk about the half and show plays of what was good and what was bad and show us what they think. Like in madden 11 or 10 i think it was remember when you would do a play wrong at the end of the play it would replay it and show you what you have done wrong and show you options you've had to make it into a good play i want EA to bring that back into madden 12 also i would want their to be more hype for super bowls and playoffs especially rivalry games like the steelers and ravens or patroits and jets i just wanted this madden to be as realistic to what i watch oni sundays at 1:00 and one more thing. the players that are on the sidelines who arent playing look like stick figures i want them to look realistic as the players on the field and after the game i want their to be interviews by players and reporters and i want to hear their voice, i want to their to be a nfl ticker at the bottom of the screen or anywhere on the screen that has the scores of the real NFL Games or when your in franchise mode i want to see a ticker of scores from the franchise teams - THINK ABOUT IT GOOO MADDEN I CANT WAIT TILL 8-30-11 I HOPE THEIRS A MADDEN 13 AND ONE MORE THING AGAIN I HOPE THE ANNOUCERS TALK ABOUT THE LOCKOUT AND THINGS THAT WERE INVOLVED

    Posted: May 8, 2011 7:10 PM
    cougar_22
  • ThingsThatDontSuck

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v =d7hEN91XRLU

    Posted: May 8, 2011 6:22 PM
    ThingsThatDontSuck
  • zxzxzxzx333

    zxzxzxzx333's comment is abusive and has been removed.

    Posted: May 8, 2011 8:28 AM
    zxzxzxzx333
  • sgc94

    Yep, looks the same as the last 5-6 years. Will continue my holdout for 2K

    Posted: May 7, 2011 1:14 PM
  • rocknmoonerdamnit

    How is this listed as a single player game? Is that even possible? Single players? Really? You are full of it right? Also how about updating franchise mode. Highlight being an organization, and drafting, signing players, practice squad. I am a Packers fan so I guess I can say practice squad, and actually know what it means. Development of players on your team in franchise mode. I felt it was touched on a few games back, but in 2011 you tried to have people purchase this type of crap. I won't be buying health or attribute boosts for players on a free game, let alone a game I spent money on. Biggest load of crap I have seen for video game in my life.

    Posted: May 6, 2011 12:02 PM
  • stillwonderbills

    wonder if a true sports understands lighting shade and time of day play a big part in football to undertsnad the concept it does make a differnce in fotball want an ez go play pong

    Posted: May 6, 2011 11:32 AM
  • BLLACKKMAN

    Madden should only cost $30-$40 all they do is upgrade the year before game if anything it should be a OTA, lol

    Posted: May 5, 2011 5:46 PM
    BLLACKKMAN
  • nhhs18

    Give us a similar Be A Pro mode like with NBA 2K11. Oh wait, 2K games doesn't get a chance to make their own football game since the Dreamcast. This is why the government made monopolies illegal, because the consumer gets screwed. Thank you EA for putting out another game for full-price with barely any improvments. They have become the apple products of gaming.

    Posted: May 5, 2011 4:27 PM
    nhhs18
g4tv.com
AdChoices