X

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 - Xbox 360

Game Description:Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is the third installment in Infinity Ward's first person shooter franchise. The much anticipated CoD: MW3 will begin right after Modern Warfare 2 left off and players will get to control a Russian Federal Protective Services agent, SAS Operative, tank gunner, and AC-130 gunner as well as other characters from previous games. The game will have about 15 missions, starting with the invasion of Manhattan by a Russian force.
G4TV Rating
5 / 5
  • Avg User Rating
    (422 Ratings)
    2.9 / 5
  • Rate This Game
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Specs Ops Hands-On Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/games/pc/64954/call-of-duty-modern-warfare-3/articles/74738/call-of-duty-modern-warfare-3-specs-ops-hands-on-preview/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/275376_LGST/modern-warfare-3.jpg
Article_74738

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Specs Ops Hands-On Preview

By Kevin Kelly - Posted Jun 14, 2011

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is still months away, and we don't know that much about what Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer Games plan to do with the multiplayer in the game. But we do know that Spec Ops is making a comeback, having first appeared in Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, and at E3, we were able to get our hands on it and see what they've improved this time around. While we were only shown the new "Survival" Spec Ops mode, featuring endless waves of (non-zombie) enemies, it's clear that they want to make some dramatic changes to that co-op experience.

Modern Warfare 3 Cover Art Revealed?

The biggest change for Spec Ops is character progression. It's separate from your progression in multiplayer, but it adds a very simple RPG-style element to the game, and you'll need it to survive. You'll start with only a pistol and your melee knife, and with each mounting kill, you'll gain more experience that gets converted into cash. As you progress, you'll unlock different armories and weapon stashes, and those will show up on your HUD. Head there, and you'll be able to open up a chest and choose a new weapon to purchase or refill your ammo. 

Different armories contain different items, and when you see a grenade icon appear on your HUD, it means you've unlocked the Equipment Armory. That's where you pick up grenades, flashbangs, and other types of defensive equipment. We holed up on a map called Dome, which takes place around an abandoned radar installation of some sort in the desert. All of the Spec Ops maps are based on maps that appear in the multiplayer. My partner from the development team and myself took cover near a parked forklift in one of the outside areas, but this map has a lot of verticality to it, with a subterranean bunker you can enter, and stairways you can climb to fire on enemies from above.

Finding a good corner to defend is one of the keys to surviving in Survival mode, but when the dogs and Juggernauts start rolling in, you'll need to go mobile. Luckily, there's an Air Support armory you can unlock, which offers tactical items like an Attack Helicopter, or even a Delta Squad drop-in, where four AI soldiers join and fight alongside you. They can (and will) die, but they're fairly intelligent, will follow you, and are very handy in a firefight. Especially once the suicide bombers start coming in. If they get near you, they'll explode, and if you down them, they'll blink red and then ... explode. But if you think that's bad, just wait until the dogs strapped with C-4 start coming after you. Someone in the Call of Duty world sure hates dogs.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Preview

Between the endless waves, you'll see a Progression Screen that charts your kills and progress, and doing well in certain categories will lead to more cash. Additionally, there are Challenges in some waves, giving you the chance to earn extra cash. Those will appear in the lower left-hand area of your screen and will tell you to get five headshots in this wave. Do it, and you'll pocket an extra $500. You'll need that money, not just for weapons and ammo, but to buy things like Last Stand that will allow you to keep fighting. You can revive a downed ally, but Last Stand allows you to get fighting when you've gone down, and if you get a kill, you'll pop right back up. But those aren't unlimited, and you'll need to buy more.

You'll quickly learn that teamwork is key here, even though you can play entirely solo. In later waves, when you have two or three Juggernauts wandering around, if you don't work together, you'll die quickly. Automatic Turrets and Delta Squads (there's even a Riot Shield Squad) are your best bets, and do what you can to protect those AI squads. There is friendly fire in the game, and no one wants a teammate to shoot them in the back. There's even an Automatic Grenade Launcher Turret which really dishes out destruction. But we were told that you really don't want to use it in close-quarters with friendly fire turned on.

We aren't sure what other surprises Spec Ops has in store this time around, but the endless waves of enemies in Survival are a good place to blow off a lot of steam, while still gaining access to a lot of the Killstreaks and extras that you would encounter in Multiplayer. We still haven't seen what they're going to be revealing as far as the normal Multiplayer experience goes, but answerers of the Call of Duty will be very happy with what's here so far.

Comments are Closed

  • jayham82

    I just love fps period. My favorite part is actually the guns. I actually bought a M4 from here http://www.airsplat.com/airsof t-video-games.htm its so cool and they have a bunch of different guns from the game.

    Posted: October 10, 2011 11:33 AM
    jayham82
  • Jag23

    Battlefield may have pretty graphics but I don't think it has suicidal dogs. And don't feel sorry for the dogs, they'll get there 72 virgins!

    Posted: July 20, 2011 6:32 PM
    Jag23
  • GazGamer1239

    Looks awsome!!!

    Posted: July 14, 2011 4:41 PM
  • Major0CEL0T

    It looks sweet. Can't wait.

    Posted: July 5, 2011 5:07 AM
  • peteepedro

    so basically its plants vs zombies

    Posted: June 20, 2011 8:51 AM
    peteepedro
  • jacobfoster

    this game looks absolutely amazing and i would pick this game over crappy battlefield anyday!!! i have both battlefield 2 and black ops. but i never touch my battlefield 2 copy anymore because it sucks (the single player is boring and the multiplayer is gay). i look at battlefield 3 and think to myself that game has horrible graphics that does not even compare to call of duty's astounding graphics and overall experience. and if this comment get voted down then that means that the battlefield loser fanboys dont like the truth about their crappy shooter. and if this comment gets rated up then that means you guys know that i am speaking the truth!!!

    Posted: June 20, 2011 8:44 AM
    jacobfoster
  • PrometheanArsonist

    Still looks great to me.

    Posted: June 19, 2011 12:29 PM
    PrometheanArsonist
  • Sparks_1911

    Exploding Dogs? SOLD.

    BtW, the idea of dogs strapped with explosives isn't one based on fantasy. It's been used before in real life. I love the world we live in!

    Posted: June 19, 2011 9:56 AM
    Sparks_1911
  • LeafsFan13

    message the gamertag D3lta 5quad


    seeing as he's named in the article he must be able to get us the beta!

    Posted: June 19, 2011 9:25 AM
    LeafsFan13
  • mcc0rmick14

    Putting crap on top of garbage doesn't change the fact that the game is still garbage.

    Posted: June 19, 2011 6:42 AM
    mcc0rmick14
  • Psirius

    Surprise? That would require actual changes to the game. I doubt their doing anything to change this cash cow but we'll see....

    Yeah right...

    Posted: June 19, 2011 4:09 AM
    Psirius
  • NickhatesAlabama

    stop talking about how bf3 is going to be so much better than mw3! just pick an uckin game and play it! just because u think its better doesnt mean i care or am not gonna get this game!

    Posted: June 19, 2011 3:39 AM
    NickhatesAlabama
  • lloydsmith28

    I would hate to sound mean god forbid, but those two disgrace the name of COD

    Posted: June 18, 2011 11:22 PM
    lloydsmith28
  • LED_FARMER

    i love call of duty games and battlefield 2 i just hate players who uses modded controllers cause i cant keep up with them that's y a lot of gamer's hate COD cause a lot of em use modded controllers just sayin..

    Posted: June 18, 2011 6:00 PM
    LED_FARMER
  • TyTydablackguy

    One reason I love COD is the simply fact that you can be lone wolf or do the whole team based thing. Don't get me wrong I love BF but, honestly it feels good to be able to just blow people away without having to worry about having people to back me up.

    Posted: June 15, 2011 3:20 PM
    TyTydablackguy
  • shawdow707

    love how all the people complaining is gonna buy it anyway...I agree...battlefield looks 10x better than call of duty but no need to be a dick about it

    Posted: June 15, 2011 10:45 AM
    shawdow707
  • Cheetohead24

    I own both Call of Duty and BF. I have own CoD 2 all the way to Blops and they have gone down hill over the last 2-3 titles. They have just gotten so bland with everything especially the single player. If you just simply watch the MW3 Trailer shown at E3 you will recognize almost all of the cinematic experiences are the same as the past like 3 games. It is really getting ridiculous since we are all paying 60 dollars they could give us some fresh single player instead of the same story every single game. As for multi-player their really is nothing to say they have their multi-player and they have perfected it. The fast paced lone wolf style of game play is what CoD is good at not being realistic at all. As for BF both bad company 1 and 2 are good games. BC 1 had an amazing story but then when they came out with BF 2 the story went entirely off track and went bizarre, but they tried something new and failed,. but they had an amazing multi-player experience to make up for it. Everyone has their own opinion this is just mine. If you are a fan of CoD leave the BF guys alone cause they can bash your game, and the same goes for the BF guys the Cod guys are going to bash your game. I'm in the middle cause I see the down falls and the ups of both games, and so I play both of them.

    Posted: June 15, 2011 9:39 AM
  • yuseieric

    Cant wait too get this game, Jimmy is funny doe! and mw3 is not goin anywhere! It has too many loyal fans! xP

    Posted: June 15, 2011 9:15 AM
    yuseieric
  • NINJA_KITTENS

    Are we so jaded that we cannot accept both MW3 and BF3? Put this generation of console and either one of these games just 5 years ago and the collective minds of every gamer, whether whiny 13 year old or "Hardcore" gamer, would have been blown to pieces. Call of Duty revolutionized the shooter way long ago with the release of CoD 2. Yet if you look at all the CoD's, its obvious that Infinity Ward has paved the way for Treyarch's copying, WaW was an astoundingly mediocre game especially compared to the game that came the year before. Black Ops was a severe disappointment, and i still question why X-Play gave it a 5 out of 5. However the MW series has always been either revolutionary in graphical power or game engine design. MW brought CoD onto the next gen for real (because CoD 2 and 3 were distinctly last gen), demonstrating some of the best graphics to be seen on the new gen consoles, looking as good as Halo 3. WaW saw a reincarnation of the same old Treyarch game that was set in WW2, copying movies like Enemy at the Gate (the Russian fountain scene). MW2 came around and instantly the updated graphics, spectacular continuing of the MW story, and the refreshing multiplayer produced a winning combination and the formula that CoD Black Ops hoped to copy. Which is where we come to now. We see that MW3 is coming out and seeing the last one it seems like a bleak same old same old. But you dont change anything drastically in the third part of a series (so says adam sessler) and i agree with that statement. MW3 will be cinematic because the last two MW's pioneered that cinematic shooter experience. Get over it. That's how it is. No opinions can be made until we actually get our hands on it. And the whiny kids? shut up about it and mute them, its built into the waiting room to mute them, are you that lazy?

    And onto BF3. It looks amazing. There's no refuting that. It was cool to see Bad Company blow up the outside of buildings. Then BC2 let you blow up the whole building, and innovated a type of game play that was distinctly different than the monolithic CoD series, a more tactical and squad based game. Yes it looks extremely good graphically. Yet all of you flocking to BF all of the sudden and claiming that CoD sucks is absurd. Maybe you are bad at CoD. Or maybe you just prefer blowing up buildings rather than using commando pro to knife someone across the map. Its like comparing need for speed with its more arcade style game play to gran turismo which prides itself on being realistic. Two separate games that take two different approaches. One game puts out something very often the other spends more time trying to be realistic. Both deserve attention, because both are amazingly good at their style of game play.

    Now the finale. I own all of the CoD games, from the first one on the PS2 to Black Ops (with exception of WaW). I own Bad Company and Bad Company 2. I can say without a doubt that Battlefield is getting better and better, while Call of Duty is indeed getting a little too formulaic. But I will buy both games. MW3 for the single player and Survival Mode. Battlefield 3 for the multiplayer. With either game you cannot lose. Now stop bitching about either game.

    Posted: June 15, 2011 8:20 AM
    NINJA_KITTENS
  • Joeyjoe15

    I hate the BF3 fanboys that comment on MW3 1. Two different games 2. BF is only team based 3. CoD is team based and u can play as a lone wolf. Go somewhere with that BS u BF hop ons

    Posted: June 15, 2011 5:18 AM
g4tv.com
AdChoices