X

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 - Xbox 360

Game Description:Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is the third installment in Infinity Ward's first person shooter franchise. The much anticipated CoD: MW3 will begin right after Modern Warfare 2 left off and players will get to control a Russian Federal Protective Services agent, SAS Operative, tank gunner, and AC-130 gunner as well as other characters from previous games. The game will have about 15 missions, starting with the invasion of Manhattan by a Russian force.
G4TV Rating
5 / 5
  • Avg User Rating
    (422 Ratings)
    2.9 / 5
  • Rate This Game
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 First Look Preview -- New York and London Under Siege
http://www.g4tv.com/games/pc/64954/call-of-duty-modern-warfare-3/articles/74587/call-of-duty-modern-warfare-3-first-look-preview-new-york-and-london-under-siege/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/270723_LGST/modern-warfare-3.jpg
Article_74587

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 First Look Preview -- New York and London Under Siege

By Kevin Kelly - Posted Jun 10, 2011

Modern Wartfa

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 probably needs to perform an internal sensor sweep, because it's clear that there is a mole somewhere in the squad giving up the secrets of the game. Despite the fact that this was one of the worst-kept secrets in the gaming industry, it surprised virtually no one that Activision was working on a brand-new entry in the Modern Warfare series. The franchise practically fire hoses money, and they aren't turning off that tap anytime soon.

Which is also why CoD: MW3 looks exactly like Modern Warfare 2. In fact, besides some updates character textures, and additional weapons, it's very nearly Modern Warfare 2.5, as you're picking up right where the last game left off, and continuing your globe-trotting and gun fighting. They've added some new tricks, but from what we saw at our first eyes-on look at the game, you're getting exactly what you would expect from this franchise. But who can blame them for returning to the roots of one of their tent poles?


Gameplay video surfaced recently, giving gamers their first glimpse of what the title would have to offer. As expected, there's a lot of pomp and bombast in this clip, showing explosive encounters around the world, which is what Activision hopes to hammer home with this title. Near the end of the video, WW3 clever flips the first w to become MW3, indicating that this is truly a conflict of global proportions. With Russia invading the United States in Modern Warfare 2, this direct sequel capitalizes on that by showing the struggle on our own shores again, as well as racking up frequent flyer miles to destinations around the globe.

Robert Bowling from Infinity Ward and Glen Schofield from Sledgehammer Games, the newly tapped studio that is working on the franchise, showed off two different levels to underscore the worldly ambitions of the game, taking us from Manhattan to London. In New York, you join Delta Squad as they try and route the Russians, who are embedded and occupying the city, taking you to familiar landmarks like Wall Street and both the interior and exterior of the New York Stock Exchange.

Modern Wartfa

During a prolonged street battle where you'll be ducking in and out of buildings and climbing to the roof of the NYSE with your squad, we saw glimpses of a few of the additions coming to the game. The main characters' gun was mounted with an EOTech flip scope that can change from a zoomed scope to a red-dot sight just by flipping the large scope to the side. That's an authentic touch for players who like to both scope and run and gun.

Other new items included the 9 Bang grenade, which is a sort of flashbang on steroids as it delivers nine flash and bang elements wherever you drop the grenade. Also new was a Reaper Drone that you could deploy, giving you a bird's-eye view of the arena and letting you drop death from above on groups of enemies wielding helicopter-unfriendly RPGs. Both items came in handy as the squad battled to the roof, detonated explosives on a broadcast tower, and jumped into a waiting chopper.

But as you try and flee the scene, your chopper comes under attack from some formidable gunships, and you have to man a mini-gun to try and take them out. But where CoD can excel at showing damage to enemy soldiers (just watch the Killcam a few times in multiplayer; it may not be entirely accurate, but it's spectacular), there was no realistic trail of damage across the enemies we were firing upon. But the A.I. in both our chopper and the enemy birds did use a towering skyscraper as cover, and our ship took a lot of fire while downing the foes.

Modern Wartfa

The scene then shifted to Canary Wharf in London, where your team is sent on a covert mission into a dark dock, where you're supported by air units above while you stealth in and take out sentries throughout scattered warehouses and buildings. From time to time, air support will drop in to rake fire across enemy strongholds in moments that looked slightly scripted. Enemies would begin to pour steadily out of one doorway, but a ship would drop in to take them out. Not that it's not appreciated. The entire level was a mixture of stealth and run and gun, but quickly shifted as you realize the entire setup is a trap.

The battle then shifts to the tube system below London, where the battle ends up derailing a subway car, which results in a spectacular explosion. Although one strange thing about that subway: it oddly barrels through subway stations with civilians lining the tracks who look shocked as you race past with guns blazing. Are you going to take the train while a large-scale battle is playing out in your city? Personally, I'd rather walk. Especially when you see that crash and wonder how anyone could possibly survive.

Bowling said the campaign is all about "cinematic intensity," and that the game is "locked in" at 60 frames per second. They're bringing Spec Ops back into the game, which was a popular co-op addition in Modern Warfare 2, and new multiplayer game modes that they'll be talking about at a later date. It will truly be interesting to see what happens when this goes head to head with EA's Battlefield 3 later this year. But don't shed a tear for Activision. While it does look like more of the same, that's exactly what Modern Warfare fans (and I include myself in that bunch) expect from the game. You don't rebuild a trilogy entirely in the last installment. Based on the little bit we've seen thus far, it seems gamers will be quite happy blasting their way through this title.

Modern Wartfa

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 will be released on November 8, 2011 for the PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, and the PC.

Comments are Closed

  • xayias

    Hmmm, Maybe I should pre-order? YES! :D

    Posted: May 27, 2011 3:16 PM
    xayias
  • xFlamexOfxHellx

    Black Ops is garbage compared to Modern Warfare, its way better than treyarchs or DICE's creations... Can't wait for this game.

    Posted: May 27, 2011 2:42 PM
    xFlamexOfxHellx
  • JyakuHD

    Getting the game mainly for the campaign i believe the Modern Warfare campagin was one of their best. Conflict and betrayal made it a twist and kept me playing to see what we do to the Russians it keeps you head spinning. And to see us fighting in the U.S. defending our homeland and the European front drags me in more and more. However the multi player makes me flame and rage and throw stuff and you don't want that lol. Serious changes need to take place COD is one of the most noticed games amongst FPS shooters but is also being seen for the worst multi-player, cheap kill streaks,perks and don't forget the hackers. Probably one of the biggest hacked series of games on the planet every lobby has 5 non legit 10th prestige's. Activision is milking the series on too much time to make a new game.

    Posted: May 27, 2011 2:40 PM
    JyakuHD
  • Aramor

    I am so sick of seeing all these idiots posting on every site that they "need to do something new". Please everyone who says this, enlighten me on what they need to do new. Do you want to have to do a mini puzzle to zoom in to shoot someone? Do a button combo do change weapons? Its a military shooter for christs sake, and please, please tell me what battlefield 3 is bringing thats new other than a new graphics engine. Lets see there are guns and vehicles and you shoot people. hmm nothing new. CoD and Battlefield are shooters and thats what you do in a shooter IS SHOOT. What do you want new honestly, what new "innovations" do you want, cause atm you all sound like idiots. And this is coming from someone who is excited for both games, and is buying both.

    Posted: May 27, 2011 2:23 PM
    Aramor
  • CamWoad

    I think ill buy this game just because everyone else is. I dont particularly want to buy it for myself, but ill buy it just to play with some of my friends online on the same game. No one plays mw2 or black ops anymore. Black ops just ruined the series for me.

    IMO, MW3 will just be another COD - same graphics, different story and maps. After a while, it will turn out like MW2, you know, we will lose its hype, until the NEXT game is announced. Its because we are all CODs little bitches. Somehow, this game will get the most sales of any video game ever. That reveal trailer was just so OTT. I bet they only showed the best bits on it. When i watched it, I really wasnt that excited. Honestly, im more hyped for Battlefield 3, where you get to fly in jets and helicopters and stuff. MW3 is just another Cod with the same graphics.

    Posted: May 27, 2011 1:49 PM
    CamWoad
  • jumpman757

    I wanna see a mw3 beta man! At least by July

    Posted: May 27, 2011 8:05 AM
  • GOST!

    They need to get rid of second stand or fix it to where they can't hit you from across the map in second chance.

    Posted: May 26, 2011 11:22 PM
  • Kid855

    Battlefield from Dice, I never liked Dice's multiplayer. I played multiple battlefield games, and multiple online multiplayer from Dice. IE: Medal of Honor, Bad Company 1 and 2. and never liked the multiplayer. Too difficult to find a group of people, and whoever has the tank wins mostly, and usually 3 classes that you need to upgrade each alone always, and big maps where it's hard to find someone? Nah doesn't fit me. I like CoD because it's easy to get into a game and fast moving too. Yeah some bad glitches like the knifing and napalm strikes, but overall a better and fun game.

    People don't like CoD because of Activision and what happened last year. Well stop living in the past idiots. They make great games, and you know it. "The evil developers" meh, You guys have only read what you want to read, but in all honesty, what game, fps wise, has been around forever? What game has been a huge multiplayer too? What game has been a top seller? Take a wild guess, and I know some idiots will say Halo, which is true, but it is also CoD.

    Posted: May 26, 2011 10:43 PM
  • xelite

    thumbs up if you think battlefield 3 is gonna be better than mw3

    Posted: May 26, 2011 8:58 PM
    xelite
  • D3thN1gh7

    Well it may be just another same old CoD but I've enjoyed them all and I know this one will be great too. So who cares if it's the same, don't fix what ain't broke. :)

    Posted: May 26, 2011 7:39 PM
    D3thN1gh7
  • pwnagegiver

    Dont get sucked into the call of duty dream. This game probably wont be one of the best call of duty games, it probably wont bring anything revolutionarey to the table and itll still cost $60. Every time a coll of duty game comes out people hope that it will be better than the last, dont be suprised if this game is the same old piece of junk

    Posted: May 26, 2011 7:33 PM
  • RPG-fan

    Modern Warfare 3, same macho serious shooter that's no different from the last Call of Duty... 5 out of 5 from almost every gaming publications!

    Posted: May 26, 2011 7:19 PM
    RPG-fan
  • dsa0224x

    and the ignorant gamers flock to the flame, only to get burned..

    Posted: May 26, 2011 7:09 PM
    dsa0224x
  • PattyOFurniture

    it'll be a solid game, but i think it's getting stale now. seems like they're just adding items to play with rather than working with the gameplay.

    Posted: May 26, 2011 6:20 PM
    PattyOFurniture
  • MDT'Ster

    I might just buy this game for its story, though I wouldn't mind getting another cod. Honestly, Battlefield fanboys need to stop getting mad. So if you say you have better multiplayer, cod has a better WAY better story and less glitches than your stuff.

    Posted: May 26, 2011 5:39 PM
    MDT'Ster
  • soccerpirate21

    too many games....................not enough cash

    Posted: May 26, 2011 4:22 PM
    soccerpirate21
  • jasonater1983

    I hate people saying Battlefield is better. I think both are great. Who say you have to decide. People say there sick of the same old thing. But you ever grow up as a kid that had a game you played all the time. And the next one they made totally ruined it. War never changes why should this game change. Stick with what works. Battlefield and Call Of Duty are two diffrent style of game play. And with Call Of Dut adding zommbie mode its a sweet deal. I just don't care for that stupid star challinge they had in MW2. I hope they have zommbie mode in MW3.

    Posted: May 26, 2011 4:07 PM
    jasonater1983
  • SIRsmackzALOT

    Don't lie to yourself, you'll buy CoD and you know it...That is if you have enough money left over from battlefield.

    Posted: May 26, 2011 4:02 PM
    SIRsmackzALOT
  • crazyfooinc

    The only reason I'd even consider purchasing another CoD game is because of the local multiplayer; if Battlefield allowed me to do that I'd never have to dump another penny into the monstrosity known as Activision. EA needs to get rid of the online pass though; I buy all my games brand new but can't play them now because the registered online pass can't check with the downed Playstation Store at the moment >.<</safety_wrapper&g t;

    Posted: May 26, 2011 3:32 PM
    crazyfooinc
  • N1ghtcrys

    BO was my last CoD purchase i bought from Activision last year.

    With the way they have gone with the franchise now ive come to the point where i've got enough of nothing new coming every november from them anymore, and that has destroyed the overall enjoyment i had of the games today, back in the days of MW1 and CoD 1/2 the franchise was sooooo much more entertaining and fun to play but it is just a cash cow now and i am sick of it!, so unless CoD dosent bring something completely new after MW3 has beeing relased, i will buy BF3 instead this time. This year the crown goes to DICE once and for all!

    Posted: May 26, 2011 2:04 PM
    N1ghtcrys
g4tv.com
AdChoices