X

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 - Xbox 360

Game Description:Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is the third installment in Infinity Ward's first person shooter franchise. The much anticipated CoD: MW3 will begin right after Modern Warfare 2 left off and players will get to control a Russian Federal Protective Services agent, SAS Operative, tank gunner, and AC-130 gunner as well as other characters from previous games. The game will have about 15 missions, starting with the invasion of Manhattan by a Russian force.
G4TV Rating
5 / 5
  • Avg User Rating
    (422 Ratings)
    2.9 / 5
  • Rate This Game
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 First Look Preview -- New York and London Under Siege
http://www.g4tv.com/games/pc/64954/call-of-duty-modern-warfare-3/articles/74587/call-of-duty-modern-warfare-3-first-look-preview-new-york-and-london-under-siege/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/270723_LGST/modern-warfare-3.jpg
Article_74587

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 First Look Preview -- New York and London Under Siege

By Kevin Kelly - Posted Jun 10, 2011

Modern Wartfa

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 probably needs to perform an internal sensor sweep, because it's clear that there is a mole somewhere in the squad giving up the secrets of the game. Despite the fact that this was one of the worst-kept secrets in the gaming industry, it surprised virtually no one that Activision was working on a brand-new entry in the Modern Warfare series. The franchise practically fire hoses money, and they aren't turning off that tap anytime soon.

Which is also why CoD: MW3 looks exactly like Modern Warfare 2. In fact, besides some updates character textures, and additional weapons, it's very nearly Modern Warfare 2.5, as you're picking up right where the last game left off, and continuing your globe-trotting and gun fighting. They've added some new tricks, but from what we saw at our first eyes-on look at the game, you're getting exactly what you would expect from this franchise. But who can blame them for returning to the roots of one of their tent poles?


Gameplay video surfaced recently, giving gamers their first glimpse of what the title would have to offer. As expected, there's a lot of pomp and bombast in this clip, showing explosive encounters around the world, which is what Activision hopes to hammer home with this title. Near the end of the video, WW3 clever flips the first w to become MW3, indicating that this is truly a conflict of global proportions. With Russia invading the United States in Modern Warfare 2, this direct sequel capitalizes on that by showing the struggle on our own shores again, as well as racking up frequent flyer miles to destinations around the globe.

Robert Bowling from Infinity Ward and Glen Schofield from Sledgehammer Games, the newly tapped studio that is working on the franchise, showed off two different levels to underscore the worldly ambitions of the game, taking us from Manhattan to London. In New York, you join Delta Squad as they try and route the Russians, who are embedded and occupying the city, taking you to familiar landmarks like Wall Street and both the interior and exterior of the New York Stock Exchange.

Modern Wartfa

During a prolonged street battle where you'll be ducking in and out of buildings and climbing to the roof of the NYSE with your squad, we saw glimpses of a few of the additions coming to the game. The main characters' gun was mounted with an EOTech flip scope that can change from a zoomed scope to a red-dot sight just by flipping the large scope to the side. That's an authentic touch for players who like to both scope and run and gun.

Other new items included the 9 Bang grenade, which is a sort of flashbang on steroids as it delivers nine flash and bang elements wherever you drop the grenade. Also new was a Reaper Drone that you could deploy, giving you a bird's-eye view of the arena and letting you drop death from above on groups of enemies wielding helicopter-unfriendly RPGs. Both items came in handy as the squad battled to the roof, detonated explosives on a broadcast tower, and jumped into a waiting chopper.

But as you try and flee the scene, your chopper comes under attack from some formidable gunships, and you have to man a mini-gun to try and take them out. But where CoD can excel at showing damage to enemy soldiers (just watch the Killcam a few times in multiplayer; it may not be entirely accurate, but it's spectacular), there was no realistic trail of damage across the enemies we were firing upon. But the A.I. in both our chopper and the enemy birds did use a towering skyscraper as cover, and our ship took a lot of fire while downing the foes.

Modern Wartfa

The scene then shifted to Canary Wharf in London, where your team is sent on a covert mission into a dark dock, where you're supported by air units above while you stealth in and take out sentries throughout scattered warehouses and buildings. From time to time, air support will drop in to rake fire across enemy strongholds in moments that looked slightly scripted. Enemies would begin to pour steadily out of one doorway, but a ship would drop in to take them out. Not that it's not appreciated. The entire level was a mixture of stealth and run and gun, but quickly shifted as you realize the entire setup is a trap.

The battle then shifts to the tube system below London, where the battle ends up derailing a subway car, which results in a spectacular explosion. Although one strange thing about that subway: it oddly barrels through subway stations with civilians lining the tracks who look shocked as you race past with guns blazing. Are you going to take the train while a large-scale battle is playing out in your city? Personally, I'd rather walk. Especially when you see that crash and wonder how anyone could possibly survive.

Bowling said the campaign is all about "cinematic intensity," and that the game is "locked in" at 60 frames per second. They're bringing Spec Ops back into the game, which was a popular co-op addition in Modern Warfare 2, and new multiplayer game modes that they'll be talking about at a later date. It will truly be interesting to see what happens when this goes head to head with EA's Battlefield 3 later this year. But don't shed a tear for Activision. While it does look like more of the same, that's exactly what Modern Warfare fans (and I include myself in that bunch) expect from the game. You don't rebuild a trilogy entirely in the last installment. Based on the little bit we've seen thus far, it seems gamers will be quite happy blasting their way through this title.

Modern Wartfa

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 will be released on November 8, 2011 for the PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, and the PC.

Comments are Closed

  • fghgbn

    welcome to: === http://globalsell.org/ ===
    The website wholesale for many kinds of fashion shoes, like the nike,jordan,prada,

    also including the jeans,shirts,bags,hat and the decorations. All the products are

    free shipping, and the the price is competitive, and also can accept the paypal

    payment.,after the payment, can ship within short time.
    free shipping
    competitive price
    any size available
    accept the paypal

    SOCCER JERSEY 16USD jordan shoes $32
    nike $32
    Christan Audigier bikini $23
    Ed Hardy Bikini $23
    Smful short_t-shirt_woman $15
    ed hardy short_tank_woman $16
    Sandal $32
    christian louboutin $80
    Sunglass $15
    COACH_Necklace $27
    handbag $33
    AF tank woman $17
    puma slipper woman $30
    === http://globalsell.org/ ===

    Posted: June 12, 2011 8:45 PM
    fghgbn
  • fghgbn

    http://globalsell.org/
    we has been updated and add products and

    many things they abandoned their increases

    are welcome to visit our website.

    Accept cash or credit card payments,WE ACCEPT PYAPAL PAYMENT.
    free transport.
    You can try oh, will make you satisfied.
    http://globalsell.org/

    Posted: June 12, 2011 8:43 PM
    fghgbn
  • KyleJA

    Ok i love COD but honestly they gotta do something really big to convince me to buy MW3 cause BF3 looks sick

    Posted: June 12, 2011 5:01 PM
    KyleJA
  • kappaww

    gay game battlefield 3 is defiantly what im getting ill get mw3 when you guys make it better lol i cant believe they even thought of making this game when they new bf3 was coming out.

    Posted: June 12, 2011 7:09 AM
    kappaww
  • N3SS

    lol this I can see it now people comparing this game to the game their playing for years on xD

    Posted: June 11, 2011 9:39 PM
  • KingD707

    The game looks sick but all these freakin call of duty haters are starting to piss me off, dont be mad cause your weak at COD and better at BF. Who cares which is better or worse its a freakin game quit crying about it. You COD haters need to go cry to someone else instead of bashing the game that you will completely suck at, freakin losers. CALL OF DUTY ALL DAY EVERYDAY!!!!!

    Posted: June 11, 2011 6:08 PM
  • dozenzone

    who ever is criticizing MW3, F you

    Posted: June 11, 2011 4:24 PM
    dozenzone
  • codgamer4life

    "There is also a new Reaper Drone..." Come on! It's the predator missle from MW2 with a new name. Looking from the gameplay, i'm not sure if I want to buy it. Also, from this article and the G4 coverage, I feel G4 is like IGN when they do reviews and give good reviews for games if they are paid.

    Posted: June 11, 2011 2:09 PM
    codgamer4life
  • EarstotheGround

    Compare this to the BF3 'Tank Battle' gameplay video posted earlier today (from E3 2011) - this is not even a contest anymore on any level -

    - Graphics
    - Voice and Sound
    - Gameplay elements
    - Vehicular Combat (Tanks, Planes, Helis)
    - Realistic Destructible Environs
    - Storyline
    - Multiplayer

    We are actually watching the beginning of the end for the COD franchise.

    Posted: June 11, 2011 9:27 AM
    EarstotheGround
  • XXXSpartan118XXX

    Def buying BF3.....

    Posted: June 11, 2011 8:10 AM
    XXXSpartan118XXX
  • beandwata

    cant wait for this , although im sure the online will just be more of the same, yawn

    Posted: June 11, 2011 1:08 AM
    beandwata
  • Daddy_Fresh

    After watching E3 coverage I can clearly see that BATTLEFIELD 3 is WAY BETTER than MW3 by a long shot. If you like the same tired ass b.s. then go ahead and buy MW3 like all the other sheep. BATTLEFIELD 3 will decimate!!!!!!

    Posted: June 6, 2011 2:18 PM
    Daddy_Fresh
  • Sir_Biscuit69

    I've always been a huge fan of the COD series and in my opinion MW2 was the best of the whole series. Infinity Ward always makes the better games between them and Activition and Treyarch (ex. Modern Warfare 1 vs Call of Duty: World at War and Modern Warfare 2 vs Call of Duty: Black Ops) All of these games were fantastic but it was always my experience that the Infinity Ward titles were more polished and more entertaining. Although I will miss killing endless hordes of zombies in MW3, it looks to have the makings of my favorite shooter of all time.

    Posted: June 3, 2011 9:25 AM
    Sir_Biscuit69
  • scaredysquirrel

    I liked 1 and 2, the multiplayer is always top notch. I've just never liked the feel of the Battlefield multiplayer as much as the COD. I just hope this mish mash of 3 studios working to try and save this game is a success because there is a really good chance it could be a complete cluster efyouseekay.
    I couldn't fall in love with Black Ops, I think Treyarch is a studio that does by the numbers copies of a better studios work, I bought Black Ops to give them a chance and they didn't live up to my expectations so I'm done with Treyarch. If MW3 isn't great I'm done with COD, I'll just go back to playing Halo Reach more and wait to try BF3.

    Posted: June 3, 2011 8:01 AM
    scaredysquirrel
  • isaiahgd6

    man iwant mw3 so bad its pissing me off

    Posted: June 2, 2011 11:12 AM
    isaiahgd6
  • Jrod1272

    i wonder how the war between MW3 and BF3 is going to go down, seems like BF has peaked a lot more people's interests than MW. going to try them both either way though, along with a ton of other titles.

    Posted: June 2, 2011 11:11 AM
    Jrod1272
  • cracker1138

    sidenote...When I play MW3 campaign....im shootin wall street with an RPG.

    Posted: May 31, 2011 10:36 PM
    cracker1138
  • cracker1138

    Im gettin both MW3/BF3, cant wait to read more preveiws on them. They both are going to be the best shooters this year. Go no more WW2!!!! :D

    Posted: May 31, 2011 10:33 PM
    cracker1138
  • DA_UZZ1NATOR

    This looks the same as MW2- which is not a bad thing. Its only annoying that Activision and Bobby Kotick cant give this series a rest for the sake of us gamers, but at the behest of his investors. Even before MW2 was finished, they already had Infinity Ward signed up for another entry into the series. I am only afraid that they will run it into the ground much in the same way that they ruined guitar hero by spewing out so many iterations of the franchise. Modern Warfare is a great franchise, and I dont want to see that happen. Take your time to make the game in order to really make it last and serve as a meaningful addition. And now, theyre going to charge a subscription fee for services that Bungie has been giving their players for free since 2007!

    Bottom line: this may or may not be a good game; regardless, Activision is going to milk it dry.

    Posted: May 31, 2011 8:34 PM
    DA_UZZ1NATOR
  • badaloch1

    Ratings are on a 5 star rating system.
    Rating system:
    its gonna be broken up into 5 sections of rating: game play, storyline, customization, graphics, and for the games that have it PVP and then an over all rating.

    The first game rating is the new well known mmorpg
    Rift:
    Graphics: The world of Telara is vast and colorful with impressive and unique landscapes that tend to draw you in like many other mmos with their own world designs. The graphics of the world are pleasant but are really nothing new. Though the world design is new and unique in its own way the graphics are almost like a mix between that of WOW and EQ2 with a bit more detail which isn't bad but not that great either though it does work ok with the world. The character graphics are not to bad with ok smooth motions in the movements and fine base look to character detail but they seem awkwardly shaped. The women are finely done with no problems in body shape or proportion, but the men character are awkwardly done with arms that seem to long along with overly long or bulky midsections. Over all the graphics are fine but not as improved or impressive as they could have been. I give the Rift graphics a 2 out of 5.
    Customization:
    The character customization in not bad . There are only 6 races, three to each faction, that each have an ok selection of customization that unfortunately is slightly complicated and hard when it comes to getting the look you want with its weird and uncommon customization tools that don't help you create much. But the class customization is where its all at...

    to view more check out http://bgameking.blogspot.com

    Posted: May 31, 2011 7:02 PM
    badaloch1
g4tv.com
AdChoices