X

Portal 2 - Xbox 360

Game Description: Portal 2 for Xbox 360, the sequel to Valve's mind-bending puzzler picks up a number of years after the events of the original game, and tasks players with using new physics-based mechanics to outsmart the AI overlord of Aperture Science, GLaDos.
G4TV Rating
5 / 5
  • Avg User Rating
    (119 Ratings)
    4.8 / 5
  • Rate This Game
Gamescom 2010: Portal 2 Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/games/pc/50487/portal-2/articles/71868/gamescom-2010-portal-2-preview/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/244051_LGST/portal-2.jpg
Article_71868

Gamescom 2010: Portal 2 Preview

By Jake Gaskill - Posted Aug 20, 2010

New Portal 2 Gamescom 2010 Screenshots

What We Know:

Valve’s brilliant yet somewhat limited puzzle “shooter” Portal took the gaming world by storm when it was released as part of the Orange Box (still arguably the greatest $60 package in gaming history). Now Valve is giving the game its proper due in Portal 2 by upping the puzzle platforming ante and expanding upon the narrative of the first game to a ridiculous degree.

What We’re Seeing Now:

The demo Valve showed off at Gamescom 2010 followed the same formula as the one shown during E3, with a few welcomed exceptions. In the new demo, Chell is once again guided around by the loveably innocent AI bot Wheatley (only now with the proper voice of the brilliant Stephen Merchant). In the first section, Wheatley provides light in a series of pitch black corridors. The lighting effects are particularly gripping, and the total darkness serves as a great contrast to the sterile, bright white walls of Aperture Science. 


 
From there, Chell moved on to a companion cube and turret assembly plant. Giant tubes flowing with the iconic boxes snaked around the cavernous room as Chell made her way through the frenetic factory, at one point jumping across a broken walkway. Massive, laser-emitting machines assembled turrets, cutting components out of large sheets of metal, one of which Chell used to maneuver to the next area by riding on top of it. Seeing the guts of Aperture Science’s production facilities was quite unnerving for some strange reason, perhaps because the idea of a factory continuing to work even though no one is around to run is just inherently terrifying.

The demo then shifted to showing off some crazy combinations of the few new puzzle elements being introduced this time around. For instance, the Excursion Funnel is great for moving yourself across large open spaces thanks to its gravity-defying capabilities. But when you drop some massive globs of Repulsion Gel into the beam, suddenly you’re able to create a line of bouncing material that can then be used to propel yourself across a gap. Or you can drench a row of turrets with the goo, and watch them all ricochet around the room like a chipmunk on Adderall. 

New Portal 2 Gamescom 2010 Screenshots

Another simpler combination is one we’ve seen before but not in this way, and it came down to placing one portal beneath a flow of bouncing goo, and one on one side of a forked beam, thereby spraying the left side of a long hall with blue goo, then doing the same thing on the opposite side of the beam, which sprayed the adjacent wall. This then let Chell bounce between the two walls, over a pit of some kind of nasty, no doubt death-bringing ooze, and finally to safety.

The rest of the demo was similar if not the same as E3’s, and showed off the new Propulsion Gel and Faithplates. What was particularly interesting was that during the quick gameplay trailer that played at the end of the demo, there was a brief moment where you were sliding down what looked like an energy chute, as though you could create some kind of light road. It only lasted about half a second, so I can’t be sure, but, like everything else Valve has shown of the game, it looked utterly mental.

New Portal 2 Gamescom 2010 Screenshots

Hopefully we’ll be seeing a bit more of Portal 2 in the coming months, and if not, then we’ll just have ot wait until February 9, 2011 when the game hits PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, and PC.

Comments are Closed

  • kilCanvas

    Source is once again looking pretty. Portal 2 seems likely to become the new benchmark in puzzle games, not only for the gameplay but the amazing storytelling!

    Posted: August 23, 2010 12:16 PM
    kilCanvas
  • gamemasterhalo:REACH

    portal is a pretty amazing game after all the preveiws ive seen so im happy 2 say I WANT PORTAL 2!!!!!!!

    Posted: August 22, 2010 9:29 PM
  • houdini pro

    Cant wait! love portal cant wait for portal 2

    Posted: August 21, 2010 10:42 PM
    +houdini+pro
  • drago2021

    February 9th you elusive bastard, get your ass over here already!!!

    Posted: August 21, 2010 9:01 PM
    drago2021
  • orange_shirt_guy

    I think this might be one of the most crazy, insane, difficult games I have ever played, but I am going to enjoy every second of it! I got a feeling that Wheatly, or somebody similar, is going to be with you almost all of the game and will give you pointers and hints if you need them. And I have a feeling that they will all be witty and sarcastic! Like "why don't you put a portal over here dummy"

    Posted: August 21, 2010 6:51 PM
    orange_shirt_guy
  • FrancisJansenU

    Erik Wolpaw talked about the Light Bridge on Gametrailers TV. Gameinformer also briefly touched on the Light Bridge on the co-op page.

    More Portal 2 will be shown at PAX.

    ...2011 is too far.

    Posted: August 21, 2010 4:08 PM
  • DragonRider6

    Looks great. I still with is had some form of competitive multiplayer though. Valve really has outdone themselves (which is an impressive feat seeing what they have produced before). Can't wait.

    BTW Orange box is only $30 now, not $60.

    Posted: August 21, 2010 3:14 PM
    DragonRider6
  • CFenix

    Damn 2011 seems like a long time from now. I guess I'll just have my companion cube keep me company until then.

    Posted: August 21, 2010 2:47 PM
    CFenix
  • repeteist

    I caught that "light bridge" as well.
    http://xbox360.ign.com/dor/o bjects/64330/portal-2/videos/g c10_portal2_demo2_81810.html
    (it's at 4:05)
    Definitely a game mechanic that Valve hasn't told us about yet. And knowing Valve, it didn't just slip in there unintentionally. In any case, I'm foaming at the mouth for this game. What I'm really excited about though is the multiplayer game, which hasn't yet made an appearance in the previews. We all remember how complicated the puzzles got in the first game, and the new game mechanics have the potential to increase the complexity of the puzzles even further. Can you even imagine what kind of a puzzle would require FOUR portals to complete? I sure can't, so I can't wait to see what Valve has managed to imagine.

    Posted: August 21, 2010 10:31 AM
    repeteist
  • Veagor

    Glad they changed some of the dialogue. There was some dialogue with Wheatley in the E3 demo (Particularly when GLaDos made an appearance) that really punched my goat in the nards.

    Posted: August 21, 2010 1:11 AM
    Veagor
  • Doug Otto

    I was watching a demo on IGN, and what I saw was utterly beautiful. the flashlight mechanics were so polished I couldn't believe it. The broken glass was detailed and simply worked. February 9th looks like decades away for me.

    Posted: August 20, 2010 7:27 PM
    Doug+Otto
AdChoices