X

NHL 11 - Xbox 360

Game Description:The EA Sports NHL franchise has won 22 Sports Game of the Year awards over the past three years. This year the NHL 11 franchise begins a new era with gameplay innovations that are set to deliver the most realistic, accurate and exciting representation of NHL hockey to date. The licensing agreement between EA Sports and the CHL allows the following to be included in NHL 11: Ability to play with all 60 teams that make up the CHL, names and likenesses of players that are on the rosters of a CHL team, Mastercard Memorial Cup, CHL new RBK Edge Jersey design in NHL 11, WHL, OHL and QMJHL logos and league structures.
G4TV Rating
5 / 5
  • Avg User Rating
    (4 Ratings)
    5 / 5
  • Rate This Game
E3 2010: NHL 11 First Look Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/games/xbox-360/63529/nhl-11/articles/70932/e3-2010-nhl-11-first-look-preview/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/238989_LGST/nhl-11.jpg
Article_70932

E3 2010: NHL 11 First Look Preview

By Kevin Kelly - Posted Jun 08, 2010

NHL 11

2K Sports decided to put their NHL 2K series on pause for the Xbox 360 and PS3 this year, leaving EA’s NHL 11 as the lone puck on the ice in the hockey arena this year. They’re still putting out a Wii version, but hardcore hockey and Nintendo’s lovable little console-that-could mix about as well as oil and water. Whoops, too soon? What this boils down to is that EA could have easily skated by with just a few roster updates and new artwork for the box with NHL 11. But instead, they’re adding innovations and proving that they’ve been listening to the fans.

NHL 11 features a completely new physics engine that replaces canned animations with realism, meaning your player won’t crash into the boards after a check the same way each time. The development team at EA Canada was inspired by the realistic punching in Fight Night Round 4 and decided to adopt a similar approach. Speaking of punching, fighting will still be in the game, although according to producer Sean Ramjagsingh, it will be authentic to the sport. Which, according to my informal office poll, is the number one reason to watch hockey.

NHL 11

The game will have much-improved face-off control, offering players several different grips, as well as actual stick control during those moments with the right thumbstick. Also new to the game this year will be the addition of the entire 60-team Canadian Hockey League, as well as the most-requested feature from players: broken sticks. Now you can break sticks, and heads, as much as the game will allow. Our experience with the title was very limited, as they were just showing off the upgraded physics and the face-off controls, but the checks, dodges, leaps, and charges felt very satisfying, especially when you knocked someone on their ass.

We’ll be looking forward to taking a team through three periods and seeing how the game holds up.

NHL 11

Comments are Closed

  • tandis

    Open letter to EA Sports:
    Speaking for myself, and countless other players/fans/gamers -
    I WOULD PAY TO DOWNLOAD 'EXTRA CONTENT' THAT ARE VARIOUS GROUPS OF HISTORICAL TEAMS FROM THE NHL'S PAST!
    I suggest groups of 5 teams per download 'pack'. NHL10's Historic MTL team was fantastic, and well done,
    PLEASE DO THIS, IT WOULD MAKE LEGIONS OF FANS HAPPY, AND INCREASED YOUR PROFITS SIGNIFICANTLY!

    Posted: September 23, 2010 7:57 AM
  • craigsmith21

    SpinORamaLon---- Hold L2 (PS3) or Left Trigger (Xbox 360) when you are trying to put in a rebound and your guy will never check... he may miss the puck still but he wont check a guy and get you a penalty

    Posted: September 5, 2010 8:30 PM
    craigsmith21
  • drake1387

    i think they should make it to were ur in a fight and u can pull there jersy over there head

    Posted: August 8, 2010 1:29 AM
    drake1387
  • Managed-Servers

    This game will be the best NHL yet.. I'm really excited about the broken sticks.. I hope they fix the loop glitch :/

    Posted: July 21, 2010 1:40 PM
    Managed-Servers
  • ibsportsfan1

    I dont know if EA realizes this or not, but if they fix the glitch goals, this game will be one of the BEST games ever made!!!!

    Posted: July 19, 2010 6:18 PM
    ibsportsfan1
  • jforen

    ADD MULTIPLE JERSEYS FOR NATIONAL LEAGUE, AND ADD OLD DUCKS JERSEYS!!!!!!!!! cant wait for nhl 11 its gunna be SICK. theres a few small additions that could be fixed/altered/added as well, 1 the interference calls in the slot by the defense idk y they call it, its kinda BS, 2 MOVABLE NET/GOALIE in real life the goalie and not are not unmovable objects. 3 maybe some more deke options, the moves that are in the game are good but i would like to see some players with maybe some more advanced deke moves because not everyone dekes the same. 4 more historic teams, i understand y the canadiens were in there but lets bring back some Gretzky or Roenick.

    Keep up the great work with the NHL series, I LOVE IT =D

    Posted: June 13, 2010 8:44 PM
    jforen
  • SpinORamaLon

    First of all there's no such thing as glitching and people need to stop complaining about it. If you play online and someone keeps trying to score from one spot with a wrist shot, play some defense. I've played this game online for 4 years almost every day. Yes I see the kids who score the glitch goals, but those kids who try the same thing over are boring and get beat. I was once like you and thought that these glitches needed to be fixed, but seriously in the NHL if someone has a shot from the high slot wide open he'll score a good amount of the time. Hence that's why you need to play defense. Everyone looks to score, but if you keep them from scoring, you'll win a lot of games. What they really need to get rid of is the hit stick as same as the shooting stick. It's terrible if you go to take a shot and the puck is off your stick and you hit someone and get called for it. Also the goalie passing out that's a soft pass that goes right through 3 skaters? They don't need to make passing harder, but intercepting passes eaiser just like real life hockey. Also, the computer needs to improve on passing and playing defense.

    Back to glitching. It's you're faut they score for not playing d kids. I would glitch if I could but, I rather pass around and dangle to score 95% of my goals from inside 5 feet.

    Posted: June 9, 2010 12:02 PM
    SpinORamaLon
  • sudas82

    They need to put Ryan Miller on the cover

    Posted: June 9, 2010 8:37 AM
    sudas82
  • FanGirl33

    This game is gonna kick ass. I think alot of the glitches will be fixed due to the new engine. All the glitches are exploiting the animations, and a physics engine will probably fix them.

    Posted: June 8, 2010 3:38 PM
    FanGirl33
  • mark8240

    For me the NHL series is the only one that gets consistently better year in and year out. The problem i had with NHL 10 was how bad the glitches were and how EA really did nothing to fix them. I never really played the online much but i did play BE A PRO and GM mode and the glitches were terrible. My GM mode would just freeze every time i tried to do anything and EA's answer was delete the save. You mean the save that i just put 120 hours + into over the last month or two? And why would i do that so i can put that much time in and just have it happen again? The glitches were so bad i couldn't even play the game modes i wanted to play and EA never even acknowledged what was happening. Ill probably wait in till NHL 11 is out for awhile and just buy it used to make sure im not going to get screwed out of my money again.

    Posted: June 8, 2010 3:32 PM
    mark8240
  • ColWalterKurtz7

    The one thing they really need to fix is immovable force field around the goalies. I'm not saying remove but make it so a skater can move him around when he is on the ice and if he charges the next on a breakaway he can plow through him

    Posted: June 8, 2010 2:02 PM
    ColWalterKurtz7
  • brockt144

    @kontractkillr22 i totally agree with the college thing but for EA getting that would be a different game sold separately! but its good to see that they aren't slacking off just because they are the only hockey game on the market. i cant wait to buy this

    Posted: June 8, 2010 1:47 PM
    brockt144
  • KontractKillr22

    I absolutely loved 09 and 10 both great games although i agree with the glitch fixes that need to be addressed. These new improvements that i've seen so far look awesome i just wish instead of 60 Canadian teams which is still cool why can't they add US college hockey that would be sweet if you could do that in be a pro mode start in college then minors and then NHL or go straight to the NHL from college it would be a great edition to the game

    Posted: June 8, 2010 10:50 AM
    KontractKillr22
  • quinzee

    fix the glitches or this game like 09 and 10 will be crap. they need to focus on the online aspect. i enjoy the game dont get me wrong, but only offline, so i dont have to worry about people glitching left right and centre all the time. EA stop being ignorant and fix your game

    Posted: June 8, 2010 9:49 AM
    quinzee
  • ChrisHero22

    I'm really looking forward to this. I love NHL 10 and any improvements they make is a welcome to the series usually. I just hope for the love of god they replace the commentators, PLEASE?!

    Posted: June 8, 2010 9:17 AM
    ChrisHero22
g4tv.com
AdChoices