X

Gears of War 3 - Xbox 360

  • Publisher: Microsoft
  • Genre:Action, Shooter
  • Developer: Epic Games
  • Release Date:Sep 20, 2011
  • # of Players:1 player
  • ESRB:M - Mature (Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language)
  • Platforms:
Game Description: Gears of War 3 is the final chapter in Epic's gritty shooter. Gears plunges players into a harrowing tale of hope, survival, and brotherhood. With the last human city destroyed and the remaining survivors stranded, time is running out for Marcus and his comrades as they fight to save the human race from the jaws of extinction.
G4TV Rating
5 / 5
  • Avg User Rating
    (172 Ratings)
    4.6 / 5
  • Rate This Game
Gears of War 3 Multiplayer Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/games/xbox-360/63515/gears-of-war-3/articles/72416/gears-of-war-3-multiplayer-preview/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/247326_LGST/gears-of-war-3.jpg
Article_72416

Gears of War 3 Multiplayer Preview

By Christopher Monfette - Posted Oct 07, 2010

We recently went hands-on with Gears of War 3’s relentless multiplayer mode and emerged both surprised and impressed at all the obvious changes. Epic is absolutely aiming to create a more brutal, violent, strategic and oddly accessible experience this time around, and from our short time with the game, we get the sense that they might have succeeded. Here’s a quick breakdown of some of the new weapons, modes and features offered up when the game finally launches next year.

New Weapons

OneShot: This weapon can kill anything with one shot, but it features a highly visible laser sight and a very narrow field of vision.

Grenades: All grenades now detonate on impact. Players can plant a grenade on a meat shield and kick him back into a crowd before he explodes. New incendiary grenades explode on the ceiling and rain down fire damage . Strategically, this could be used to cut off a narrow area of escape.

Pendulum Lancer (AKA: Retro Lancer):
In Gears canon, this is the OG lancer they used when humans fought humans, but it wasn’t strong enough to kill Locust. Hence the invention of the chainsaw lancer. But Epic’s gone against canon to make the game more fun. Now if you do a roadie run that is 4-5 steps long, you give out a rebel yell and impale your target, lifting them in the air.

Shotguns: The Sawed-Off is insanely powerful (liquefying, in fact) at extremely short range, and it has a large area of effect, so you can take out more than one person at once. The reload time is incredibly slow, however, meaning that if you miss, you are now chainsaw fodder.

 

 

New Abilities

The Digger:
A little creature that digs through the ground and kills the first person it finds. It flushes people out of cover. It makes noise and it’s slow, so you have to pay attention to avoid it.

Mantle Kick: If you and an enemy find youselves on either side of a piece of cover, you can now execute a mantle kick in which you’ll dive over the cover, kick your opponent back and have a moment to put a few rounds into his soon-to-be corpse.

Tac/Com: This function will highlight all teammates and enemies on the battlefield, even through walls, but will withhold your ability to shoot.

Spotting: Players can now non-verbally mark the positions of enemies with a giant red flat so that their teammates can identify and flank the target. Just press the “Y” button and the red dot will hover above your enemy’s head for three seconds, visible to all your teammates.

Executions:
Where executions used to be too risky and time-consuming, you now get XP. There are weapon-specific executions that are incredibly graphic and you have to earn them through gaining XP. If you haven’t earn that weapon’s execution, you default to the regular one.

New Modes

Capture the Leader: Now, thankfully, the leader can’t die. Before, nobody wanted to win a game because the leader’s job was essentially to run and hide, but now the leader is more actively engaged in the battle and can trigger a brief scuffle with those who are attempting to capture him, allowing a few seconds for teammates to eliminate the threat.

King of the Hill:
Players now don’t have to stay in the ring, and the ring moves on a timer.

Team Deathmatch:
Teams get 20 communal lives. Once you’ve used up 15 of the lives, the match turns into Warzone and there are no more spawns. If you are sucking hardcore, they will put more time between your respawns to slow down the use of lives, and they will also start spawning you with a buddy to help you out.  

The experience system in Gears of War 3 now consists of Ribbons, Medals and Titles. Ribbons demonstrate short-term victories – i.e. you were the MVP of the match or outclassed a higher-ranking player, etc. Medals are earned over long-term achievements, such as killing 50 people with a sniper rifle. And Titles will identify you and your preferences on the battlefield.

There is now an event calendar to make gamers aware of upcoming double XP weekends or weekends where all the characters have giant heads and tiny bodies, or other hilarious mutators.

Gears 3 also introduces Beginner Assistance. If the game searches your HD and finds no achievements for Gears 2 multiplayer and it knows you’ve never played Gears 3 -- and if you go online and you really suck at the game – it will turn on beginner assistance mode. You get double health and extra damage, and for the next 10 kills it slowly weans you off of it. Once you’ve had 10 total kills, beginner assistance is turned off and you can never use it again. Hopefully, this’ll encourage noobs to jump in headfirst.

Technically speaking, to eliminate any host advantage, there will be dedicated servers all over the world that’ll keep the games running uniformly fast. There is still peer-to-peer connectivity built into the multiplayer, so in 10 years when the servers are offline, gamers will still be able to play. Turns out, Epic’s been secretly testing these dedicated servers on Gears of War 2, so you may have already played on one without knowing it. And lastly, to get you in the game quickly on low population matches and long wait times, you can start a game right away against bots that’ll slowly be replaced by people as others join the fight.

There will indeed be a beta sometime next year. However, Epic is not yet sure how they will choose who gets into the program...Many thanks to Morgan Webb and Michael Leffler for braving the chainsaws to bring back all this intel!
 

Comments are Closed

  • darkpsycosis

    RETRO LANCER FTW!!

    Posted: October 15, 2010 9:27 AM
    darkpsycosis
  • Beath

    did they increase the movment speed? looks like it..

    hmmm

    still regret getting gears2 and 800mspoint map pack... but mabye if i get back into it.. then again vanquish looks like highspeed gears.... hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm gears needs


    More dynamic map design..... Jumping.... faster speed.

    Posted: October 10, 2010 2:07 AM
    Beath
  • darkpsycosis

    It looks fun!

    Posted: October 9, 2010 11:26 PM
    darkpsycosis
  • darkpsycosis

    It looks fun!

    Posted: October 9, 2010 11:26 PM
    darkpsycosis
  • NarutoTheSage

    this game is gonna be awesome and the multiplayer looks badass whoever is hating on this game already needs to shut up

    Posted: October 9, 2010 11:23 PM
  • NarutoTheSage

    this game is gonna be awesome the multiplayer looks badass so if anyone who is hating on it needs to stfu

    Posted: October 9, 2010 11:22 PM
  • MizunoX3

    did anybody notice the pink lancer lol.

    Posted: October 8, 2010 6:54 PM
    MizunoX3
  • SegaCreamBlast

    sweet lets give the guys who roll around with shotguns an even more powerful one... thanks epic. o and to make matters even better lets make a gun that can kill anything in one hit, im 98 percent sure someone will glitch it to auto fire. on the flip side the new spotting feature is cool and it sounds like they are adding alot of new fun things. so despite my mindless bitching ill still buy the game

    Posted: October 8, 2010 5:56 PM
    SegaCreamBlast
  • JimDanD

    I don't think the retro lancer, anti-canon thing is a big deal. In Gears 3 they are desperate, they will use whatever weapon they can get, and maybe it's not as effective as the chainsaw lancer, but it's still a gun with a bigass knife on the end.

    Can't wait for this game, Gears is my favorite.

    Posted: October 8, 2010 5:27 PM
    JimDanD
  • Lacking_Fractal

    Grenades explode on impact? Who thought that was a good idea?

    Posted: October 8, 2010 12:52 PM
    Lacking_Fractal
  • Rob0pope

    Delay was so Gears 3 can garner more income during the holiday season.

    But yes, games that seem as fun as this one take a lot of effort.

    Posted: October 8, 2010 12:43 PM
    Rob0pope
  • EchoEpsilon

    Now I can see why it was delayed. It takes a lot of time to make a game this awesome!

    Posted: October 8, 2010 12:27 PM
    EchoEpsilon
  • hella savage

    Dope.

    i have a squad of 4 on gears 2 and we're all pretty good k/d's from 1.7 and up (mine personally 2.3 and ranked in the top 1000 on warzone) we're looking for other people who are usually on gears a lot or just good at gears and can squad up for other games. we're probably going to start a gamebattles account when gears 3 hits. in the meantime we just rape kids and ruin days. you need to be able to take 2v1 situation. do a specific customized role on each map, not steal kills and if done,they are repaid,and know your place in the squad( i mean we're all nice guys but i dont need some new nub coming to me and trying to change up the game plan to how they see fit), so in conclusion if youre looking for a squad hit me up at xbl gamertag: Paolo So Savage

    Posted: October 8, 2010 11:37 AM
    hella+savage
  • lowkevmic

    @Joshua360- I totally agree! That was the one thing I hated about Gears 2 was how they would dedicate an entire level to a vehicle. But I have seen a mech in a couple screenshots, so I'm a little curious to see how that'll fit into the game!?!?

    Posted: October 8, 2010 10:54 AM
    lowkevmic
  • CLFresh

    Holy -blam- this sounds epic!! I wasn't a huge fan of GoW2 MP but this makes me want to impale some mofos reeeeal bad.

    Posted: October 8, 2010 9:48 AM
    CLFresh
  • lowkevmic

    After readin all the new features. It seems like they really got it right on this one!! I'm really excited about the new multiplayer features!! Also their ranking system will give the experienced pplayers something to play for. The ribbon system will be awesome, because I outclass higher ranking players in horde all the time, it's about time I get something for it!!

    Posted: October 8, 2010 8:25 AM
    lowkevmic
  • Jackal904

    I was a huge fan of Gears 1, but not Gears 2. So I really hope Gears 3 turns out awesome, which it looks like it will. I am cautiously excited. But I really hope I don't have to buy some game I don't want in order to get into the beta. I would have so much respect for Epic if you could just download the beta from XBL for free.

    Posted: October 8, 2010 4:23 AM
    Jackal904
  • Spybreak

    Great info, too bad it's a ways off. ><</safety_wrapper> ;

    Posted: October 7, 2010 8:57 PM
    Spybreak
  • Shiztacular

    I'm in love...again

    Posted: October 7, 2010 8:15 PM
    Shiztacular
  • Cathartic Denoument

    OMG..Epic combined Guardian & Submission, and turned it into Capture The Leader!!!
    THANK YOUUU!!! They've made it FUN nowww!

    Sadly, they've combined Execution & Warzone, and turned it into Team Deathmatch..

    Seems like Capture the Leader & the new King of the Hill [Annex & King of the Hill combined] are even more fun than Team Deathmatch.
    ..Loox like I'll be choosing CTL over TDm now..and thats aside from choosing Horde mode & Beast mode, over the other modes.
    ----------
    My 'Fun-time'/Horde weapon-set ("loadout") for Gears 3:

    D-Right: Scorcher
    D-Left: Digger Launcher
    D-Bottom: Gorgon SMG (assuming this is still considered to be under the "handgun" designation)
    D-Top: Incendiary grenades

    =D
    ----------
    @Christopher Monfette:

    I don't wanna be "THAT guy", but...
    + PRETTY sure "The Digger" (*Digger Launcher*) belongs under the "New Weapons" list.
    + And you might as well add the Silverback Mech to that list as well (showcased in the pic, directly below the list of "New Abilities").
    + Gorgon Burst Pistol has become automatic & is now named Gorgon SMG.
    + You can now "aim down the iron-sights" of the Hammerburst when you zoom in with the right thumbstick click.
    + And in multiplayer (Beast mode?), I believe I've seen YouTube vids of there being Automated Turrets too. I'm not entirely sure on that part - you guys can check.
    + And for the "New Abilities" list, you can add 'Sticking a grenade to the meat shield you're currently holding, and kicking him to a nearby enemy of your choice, for a big multikill BOOM'.

    Also, please give more details on this "Event Calendar" that you speak of - Where would we be able to locate this "Event Calendar"?? It would be really helpful, being able to keep track of the Multiplied XP Weekends.
    ----------
    Awwww!! Morgan's really giddy/happy, having a nerdgasm over Gears 3!! (^_^)
    Sooo CUUUTE - VERY becoming of you, Morgan. =D I'd like to see more of that side of you. (^_^)
    BEST Talkabout w|Morgan..EVER. =D

    Posted: October 7, 2010 8:02 PM
    Cathartic+Denoument
g4tv.com
AdChoices