X

Metalocalypse: Dethgame - Xbox 360

Metalocalypse: Dethgame
Game Description: Join the ranks of the most dedicated roadies in all of rock, the Klokateers, as you defend the greatest band in the history of history, Dethklok, from ravenous swarms of mutant fans, and explore the high-octane world of Metalocalypse.
G4TV Rating
N/A
  • Avg User Rating
    N/A
  • Rate This Game
Metalocalypse: Dethgame Comic-Con 09 Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/games/ps3/62607/metalocalypse-dethgame/articles/67849/metalocalypse-dethgame-comic-con-09-preview/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/169167_LGST/metalocalypse-dethgame.jpg
Article_67849

Metalocalypse: Dethgame Comic-Con 09 Preview

By Sterling McGarvey - Posted Jul 25, 2009

Metalocalypse: Dethgame

Just in time for Comic-Con, Konami officially announced that it's publishing a downloadable game based on hit Adult Swim show Metalocalypse. Earlier today, I dropped into the publisher's hotel suite for a very brief first hands-on with Metalocalypse: Dethgame. It seems like a strange comparison, but the gameplay style reminds me most of No More Heroes.

Dr. Rockso, Paging Dr. Rockso...

From what I've pieced together from the press release, the new game puts you in the shoes of a Klokateer, one of Dethklok's roadies, who slay and eviscerate for...does it really matter? It's probably for reasons pertaining to something totally metal. Along the way, you'll smash heads to a pulp and disembody mutant rock fans to the sounds of Dethklok. Why does it remind me of that weird Wii game of yesteryear? It has a similar approach to gameplay. Sure, you're not flogging the dolphin with a Wii remote, but you're disposing of waves of throwaway enemies through a variety of brutal dispatches.

But Those Aren't Coins Shooting Out of Their Necks

In my sliver of gameplay, the action seemed pretty straightforward. The Klokateer either beats enemies until they're dead, or he can perform a variety of super-moves, such as punching them until they're pretty much hamburger or suplexing them so hard that he decapitates them. Like Grasshopper's homage to the weirder elements of Japanese culture, Dethgame doesn't just put ultraviolence on display, it revels in it.

But How Metal Is It?

Although TV and film-to-game translations have a bad rep, Metalocalypse creator Brendan Small has kept a close eye on the game in progress and has proclaimed that he wouldn't license his property out for a crappy game. The cel-shaded art style and over-the-top violence certainly live up to the outrageous nature of the show, but the genre can be, well, a bit one-dimensional. For a first look, Metalocalypse: Dethgame doesn't look too bad, but I hope that we'll see more to the game than just tossing unwitting souls into a fan to make hamburger of them.

Comments are Closed

  • ResnaRed

    So, why are we turning this into another fanboy fight? This could be one of the most outrageously brutal games that have ever seen! If this is anything like the production value of the concerts, this will be fantastic!
    There is no reason to turn this, which makes no mention of either system at all, into the usual internet keeps me safe, retarded argument.

    (by the way, I have both)

    Posted: July 27, 2009 9:55 PM
    ResnaRed
  • ZombiekingX

    Brutal, I've got to get this

    Posted: July 27, 2009 12:56 PM
    ZombiekingX
  • blindsideofthesun

    Oh, and to those whom it wasn't completely clear by their mentioning it was going to be a downloadable game at the beginning of the article, yes, it will be on both PSN and Live. Now you don't have to leave the comfort of your foldout chair or LaZboy to buy it. That's not an insult, because I'm looking forward to enjoying the game from the comfort of my awesome futon. Seriously, whoever invented these things is a genius. Bed AND a couch? That's a 2-fer you can't beat in furnitureland my friend, at least not when it comes to the bedroom. Unless you count that awesome Ferrari bed I had my eye on when I was a wee lad...

    Posted: July 27, 2009 11:55 AM
    blindsideofthesun
  • blindsideofthesun

    My only quarrel thus far is that there wasn't anything about being able to play as the members of Dethklok. Put those guys in as playable characters, and you have me sold. Oh, and make it online multiplayer. Oh, and...

    @ l1v32w1n
    Really? For all the variety of fanboys to be making an argument, you're going to call out 360 owners who pay $50 a year to subscribe to well established, proven, quality online service for being poor, when the big draw (supposedly) of having PSN is that it's free? Huh, kinda conflicing arguments, especially since there was nothing in this article holding one service up over the other. Go play with your sixaxis you ignorant fanboy douche. Both services are good, and if you were a true gamer you would be enjoying them both equally as I do every day.

    Posted: July 27, 2009 11:51 AM
    blindsideofthesun
  • TheMightyBoosh3000

    DETHKLOK GAME YEAH

    Posted: July 27, 2009 11:48 AM
    TheMightyBoosh3000
  • l1v32w1n

    live market place sux my balllz its all about the playstation network get ur poor ass up and go get a ps3

    Posted: July 27, 2009 7:48 AM
    l1v32w1n
  • incubus2511

    THIS IS THE DUMBEST THING I EVER HEARD.IT WON'T LIVE UP TO THE CARTOON AT ALL.

    Posted: July 27, 2009 3:26 AM
    incubus2511
  • incubus2511

    THIS IS A DUMB ASS IDEA!!!

    Posted: July 27, 2009 3:24 AM
    incubus2511
  • Completist

    Nice....will this coincide with the premiere of Season 3 or Dethalbum II, I wonder.

    Posted: July 26, 2009 1:42 PM
    Completist
  • deathspellomega

    I wanna play as Dr.Rockso and snort coke

    Posted: July 25, 2009 11:43 PM
    deathspellomega
  • al_rock

    go dethklok, dethklok rules

    Posted: July 25, 2009 8:00 PM
    al_rock
  • Razorblad110

    ...thats brutal...

    Posted: July 25, 2009 6:55 PM
    Razorblad110
  • azura20

    From the sound of it, anyone that enjoyed PAIN on the PSN, or almost any Dynasty Warriors game will probably enjoy this one.

    Posted: July 25, 2009 6:14 PM
    azura20
  • Gyrorobo

    they should make guitar hero metal and put lots of this on it!

    Posted: July 25, 2009 4:32 PM
    Gyrorobo
  • Kakashichoas

    If this game is as good as the show then i will love it. I want to hear the soundtrack.

    Posted: July 25, 2009 2:28 PM
    Kakashichoas
  • soujirohasegawa18

    wow a game of deathklock i wonder how thats gonna be ?

    Posted: July 25, 2009 2:09 PM
    soujirohasegawa18
  • klix333

    Dethklok rules!

    Posted: July 25, 2009 1:05 PM
    klix333
  • SuicdeGrenade

    will this game be on Xbox Live MarketPlace i hope it will be Please!!!!!!

    Posted: July 25, 2009 1:03 PM
    SuicdeGrenade
  • Darts123

    METAL

    Posted: July 25, 2009 12:57 PM
    Darts123
g4tv.com
AdChoices