X

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 - Xbox 360

Game Description: Picking up where Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare left off, Infinity Ward's high intensity military first-person shooter will push players to their limits. As part of Task Force 141, players will traverse harsh and varying terrains across the globe as they attempt to suppress and eliminate the surging Russian Ultranationalist threat.
G4TV Rating
5 / 5
  • Avg User Rating
    (393 Ratings)
    4.3 / 5
  • Rate This Game
Modern Warfare 2 GamesCom 2009 Co-Op Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/games/ps3/61714/call-of-duty-modern-warfare-2/articles/68216/modern-warfare-2-gamescom-2009-co-op-preview/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/151481_LGST/modern-warfare-2.jpg
Article_68216

Modern Warfare 2 GamesCom 2009 Co-Op Preview

By Billy Berghammer - Posted Aug 21, 2009

When I found out Modern Warfare 2 would be shown behind closed doors at GamesCom this year, dreams of single-player and multiplayer details danced through my head. When I found out we’d be seeing Modern Warfare 2's new co-op mode, Spec Ops, I was pretty excited. Unfortunately, what I have to report is all aces. In fact, I was underwhelmed by this mode.

Spec Ops is the entire cooperative mode for Modern Warfare 2. It’s not part of single-player and it’s not part of multiplayer. It’s a completely separate mode. Spec Ops is inspired by the last airplane level from Call of Duty: Modern Warfare, Mile High Club. It’s a bite-sized challenge mode that you can play alone, split-screen or with a friend online. Three difficulty levels are available – regular, hardened, veteran -- and by finishing each challenge, you earn stars which open up later missions.

Sadly, we only saw this mode played solo, which was utterly confusing. “Oh hey, we’re going to show you the all-new cooperative mode in Modern Warfare 2! But, er…we’re playing it solo.”

 

All of the levels in Spec Ops are built with cooperation in mind and the level demonstrated was called “breach and clear.” The objective is simple: breach a wall and make your way out. That’s it. Upon initiating the breach, all hell breaks loose and the enemy is immediately on you. Between snipers, hidden shooters in rafters and soldiers coming at you with shields, the firefight is intense. As I watched someone make their way through the room, it was quite apparent that this wouldn’t be an easy task. He even had to play through the level a second time because he was killed.

But within approximately two minutes, the level was over. I asked, but no one could give specifics on how lengthy each of these missions would be. The Activision representative at the demo “didn’t know” how many missions would be included in the final game, but said it’s a significant amount of gameplay. Since the missions are potentially short, this does allow for the possibility of downloadable content for these arcade-sized missions.

Now, don’t get me wrong, the game looks fantastic and I would have loved to get my hands on the controller and gave it a go, but I would hope for more from a cooperative experience from Infinity Ward. And hell, if you’re going to show a cooperative mode, let’s see it played…cooperatively?

With so many games doing cooperative (with even up to four players -- see, Halo 3: ODST and Borderlands) these days, I felt a little underwhelmed. We don’t know how long all the missions are – especially the later ones – so Spec Ops could be a fun mode when the single-player has been completed and you want a break from multiplayer. But with Bungie preparing to drop their second four-player cooperative game this fall, I'd like to see its biggest competitor – Infinity Ward - attempt to at least match their efforts.

Comments are Closed

  • neal1002

    CAN'T WAIT 4 DIS!!!!!!!!

    Posted: August 22, 2009 10:54 PM
    neal1002
  • KoSxUnDeRkILL413

    Wow soap's voice actor is now in the game all set with his lines and soap is a scottsman now...macmillan...ahem...i just feel more badass playing cod4

    Posted: August 22, 2009 6:55 PM
    KoSxUnDeRkILL413
  • yggle4994

    i think this game is rely over rated, all they are going to do is make cod4 again with diffrent stuff and more guns. not a big deal, i had this game pre orderd for ps3 and 360 but after wating for like 6 months and not seeing anything but this for game play footage i have cancled my pre order and do not plan on picking this up. the only reason they are not showing to much is because they know that it is the same game and they know that people are expecting a change, so all they are going to do is hold off untill after the launch and then show vids. i am done with the call of duty series they are fun but not worth $65

    Posted: August 22, 2009 6:43 PM
    yggle4994
  • jmagg25

    Just two words BEAST-LY

    Posted: August 22, 2009 6:15 PM
    jmagg25
  • TheRage416

    hehe payback!

    Posted: August 22, 2009 4:36 PM
    TheRage416
  • badgarok725

    i don't see why people are turned off of this game because there apparently isn't enough videos for it. Do you guys want a game laid out entirely before you play it? I remember buying games before i had seen several gameplay videos. The E3 coverage and multiplayer video along with teasers are enough. Sometimes, hold on to your hats, its FUN to learn things about a game yourself. Call of Duty does not need 4 player co-op. Halo's campaign fits into that, because the levels are set up a lot differently. I could not imagine playing COD4's campaign with several friends, because that would have RUINED the experience. That's right i said it. Anyone that wants to trash this game, go right on ahead. But me and the millions of people pre-ordering this will go on anyway. You and the other 20 people can go and play something else instead

    Posted: August 22, 2009 11:08 AM
    badgarok725
  • marinecorec4

    if anyone is smart. you will buy mw2. wtf ppl?! the game isn't going to be horrid. but everyone seems so biased. its kinda retarded to be judging the damn game before its even out. idk they might have time to put in the 4 player special op's mode(highly doubt it). and if they don't oh well! we don't know how well thats going to play and plus it was only a two min demo!(keyword: demo!) im pretty sure its going to be longer than that, and besides. special op's is basically horde with two ppl to add more challenge and make the experience 10X more intense. that probably why they didnt want four player. it would take away from the challenge. like it did in GoW2; horde was pretty easy with four ppl on insane. it got super intense even frustrating at times but if u stratigically planed stuff it was way easy. with special op's its going to be harder to come up with a strategy because theres only two ppl! Infinity ward is a good developer they didnt need to come out with a beta because they all ready know they are going to sell very well. it would be a waste of time to them. and al queda zombies would be kinda cool, especially if they kept the map shipment! haha they would drop from helicopters and what not and they would be left for dead fast. now that would be a challenge haha.

    Posted: August 22, 2009 9:05 AM
  • gamersbible

    gamersbible's comment is abusive and has been removed.

    Posted: August 22, 2009 8:28 AM
    gamersbible
  • gamersbible

    gamersbible's comment is abusive and has been removed.

    Posted: August 22, 2009 8:06 AM
    gamersbible
  • Ruscle

    I think that having co-op as a separate mode is smart. I would love to see what kind of downloadable content could derive from it. Sometimes it is best to show the least and allow for your expectations to be blown away. COD 4 did more for me without knowing anything. I think even though the review was underwhelming in his opinion I believe that in a couple months they will have it a bit more polished and ready for the masses. I just wish they would allow for some kind of public beta in so that intelligent people like myself would be able to test it. WHY? WHY DO YOU TEASE ME WITH YOUR SWEET VIDOE PREVIEWS!!!

    Posted: August 22, 2009 6:20 AM
    Ruscle
  • SpartanOmega117

    Colaborenth,

    I agree and the gameplay is also very good but all i am asking for is something totally new like theatre and pics. You know that the killstreaks might end up being cheap although it was a good idea.

    Posted: August 22, 2009 4:50 AM
    SpartanOmega117
  • Colaborenth

    SpartanOmega117,

    I agree with you that Halo 3 should be the par that most games shoot for (and that 2 player co-op isn't really that exciting), but I don't know what you mean when you say that Modern Warfare 2 is going to be COD4 with minor improvements, more cheap perks, and different story. You're missing the new weapons, the killstreak customizer, updated graphics, and the fact that it's a freakin' sequel. I wouldn't expect them to change what they've perfected in COD4 and start again from scratch. I'm saying that Infinity Ward needed a metaphorical springboard to leap off of for MW2 and COD4, being the prequel, was the obvious choice.

    Posted: August 22, 2009 12:37 AM
    Colaborenth
  • SpartanOmega117

    modern warfare 2 is going to be the same game as cod4 with minor improvements more cheap perks and different story. dont get me wrong i love cod4 but i agree with billy. They should have put in something new. even treyarch decided to put in nazi zombies. really 2 min co-op modes isn't that appealing. i dont even understand the hype around this game. im getting this game but it is not going to be the best game ever. take halo 3 for example. they added tons of stuff like 4 player co-op, forge, theatre, INFeCTIOn, and more. All you're getting here is the same exact game with spec-ops. But still im definately getting this game because it probably will be one of the best games coming out this year

    Posted: August 21, 2009 11:57 PM
    SpartanOmega117
  • nightsnipe

    im getting really sick of MW2 we never see any footage of this game. they think they're such hot crap. Bad Company 2 has got me more excited than this

    Posted: August 21, 2009 11:17 PM
    nightsnipe
  • superelite777

    in the vid i saw a 3 by the 2 , does that mean theres gonna be a modern warfare 3???????

    Posted: August 21, 2009 10:32 PM
    superelite777
  • partyboy8967

    Wow this guy gets bashed for giving his opinion why dont u just read ign.com if you dont like g4? instead of wasting your life complaining on a forum

    Posted: August 21, 2009 9:49 PM
    partyboy8967
  • Fre_Quen_C

    Yall seriously can't be knocking Billy down for something like giving his opinion. It might not be the same as yours, but that's why it's an opinion. He said he would have liked to have seen it played in coop, so some of you need to read. He said he liked it and would have loved to been able to play, did you miss that as well? aPoLiS is right as well, at least G4 is willing to give their views on games instead of being bribed out to give absolutely amazing reviews.

    And I cracked up when I saw that Zach had spelled 'write' wrong after he was trying to prove a point.

    Posted: August 21, 2009 8:46 PM
    Fre_Quen_C
  • joer22784

    Regardless of how awesome this game is gonna be I am really dissapointed that there is no story mode co-op. And we get special ops mode? Seems a little weak, Just give me some more Zombie maps with modern weapons please!!!! I know Nazi zombies wouldn't fit but why not some Al Qaeda Zombies?

    Posted: August 21, 2009 8:44 PM
    joer22784
  • angryspoon

    Did anyone else laugh when they saw Zachattack spelled "write" as right?

    Posted: August 21, 2009 7:45 PM
    angryspoon
  • aPoLiS117

    at least G4 still has a ball sack and is willing to say a triple A title isn't on par with other up coming games. most of the other gaming site just praise and praise these games, i'm glad there are still people that look at them in perspective and with a critical eye. you have to remember these people have opinions, and this is his opinion. g4 isn't just a loud speaker for gigantic companys.

    Posted: August 21, 2009 7:41 PM
    aPoLiS117
AdChoices