X

Battlefield: Bad Company 2 - Xbox 360

Game Description: The boys of Bad Company are back in this brand-new title that will include another singleplayer campaign along with a revamped and upgraded multiplayer experience for more of a classic Battlefield online experience. The graphics engine has also been given a boost and the destructibility is better than ever.
G4TV Rating
4 / 5
  • Avg User Rating
    (130 Ratings)
    4.5 / 5
  • Rate This Game
Battlefield: Bad Company 2 GamesCom 2009 Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/games/ps3/57157/battlefield-bad-company-2/articles/68213/battlefield-bad-company-2-gamescom-2009-preview/
Article_68213

Battlefield: Bad Company 2 GamesCom 2009 Preview

By Andrew Pfister - Posted Aug 21, 2009

 


 

My only experience with the first Battlefield: Bad Company was with the Xbox 360 demo. I was immediately terrible at it, which meant that I quickly moved on to other things -- unfortunate, because I heard that it was really quite good.

But in the last couple of weeks leading up to GamesCom, I had spent a few late evenings/early mornings playing Battlefield 1943 over Xbox Live and not entirely sucking at it, so I was in a much better frame of mind going into the Battlefield: Bad Company 2 demo at the show.

There's a heavy emphasis on vehicles (naturally) and encouraging players to work together in their squads. You now have the ability to spawn right on a squadmate's location, so no more long sprints or jeep rides to rendezvous with your mates, just in time to get sniped and do the whole process over again. They're also building in VOIP for squad chat and context-dependent communications that will help clear up what you need to be doing.

On the vehicle side, we saw Blackhawk helicopters, tanks, ATVs, and armored personnel carriers -- there are 15 modes of transportation in all (boats included), each having the ability to transport other characters, and some with heavy firepower for troops not in the driver's seat.

The Frostbite engine that was introduced in BC and implemented in BF 1943 gets some upgrades, highlighted by more destructible surfaces (shooting through wooden fences, concrete cover chipping away) -- stuff that should be standard in pretty much every online shooter these days.

BC2 is going the Modern Warfare route in regards to weapon and gear loadouts: there are 40 weapons with over 200 variations/modifications in total (if you're a BF 1943 owner, you get access to three more exclusive weapons -- how that'll affect game balance remains to be seen). In addition to weapons, you also get to use an array of support tools like tracer darts, mortar rounds, and if you're a medic, a defibrillator. The game's four classes (Assault, Medic, Engineer, Recon) are enhanced by 13 different specializations (i.e., perks), like the ability to carry more grenades, increased clip capacity, improved scopes and armor, and so forth.

The dangling carrot comes in the form of ranks, pins, stars, and insignias -- comprising an array of rewards and recognition for quality play. The marketing quote of the demo was that Bad Company 2 is going to provide "the best all-out war experience," which means that DICE has Modern Warfare in their sights. That's an uphill battle for sure, but it looks like their arsenal is solid enough to make it an interesting fight.

Comments are Closed

  • DASOBERONE

    are they keeping the dogtags?

    Posted: September 15, 2009 8:23 PM
    DASOBERONE
  • BAMBAM187

    I think its pretty sick how they tried to compare modern warefare 2 and BBc2. They both look pretty sick but i still think modern warefare 2 is killin it all.

    Posted: September 3, 2009 5:45 PM
    BAMBAM187
  • Cannahuana

    I hope we get co-op this time around

    Posted: August 24, 2009 1:34 PM
    Cannahuana
  • nightsnipe

    its gonna be better than MW2 IMO

    Posted: August 24, 2009 10:11 AM
    nightsnipe
  • slageater

    i agree with dozerx8, they need to be more like the classic bf1942. that was a sweet game. they just need to add some more realism to the games, like ghost recon or something. and focus on pc, it is far better for shooters. They should also be consulting with military personal and weapons experts to try to make the weapons and vehicles as real as possible. I recall that that is what the did for the first couple medal of honor games.

    Posted: August 24, 2009 2:11 AM
    slageater
  • marvindaustin

    MAG is going 2 be better than this in tone of a war atmosphere, but in gameplay i don't know cuz sony didn't send me a beta key

    XBL: marvingamebeast PSN: poppamarvin

    Posted: August 23, 2009 6:21 PM
    marvindaustin
  • marvindaustin

    at 1:15 the character glitches to the right, and this trailers just screams co-op

    XBL: marvingamebeast PSN: poppamarvin

    Posted: August 23, 2009 6:16 PM
    marvindaustin
  • dozerx8

    how sorry are the people creating these games? ITS NEW ITS NEW! they say, that crap should of been new 3-4 years ago when the system first came out. COD franchise was biting the Medal of Honor franchise. MOH:AA was better than any of the COD 4 and below. and battlefield 1942 was a groundbreaking game and its structure is being copied but not close to being assimilated into a new genre of open world combat. i just said a lot of smartness, so go make it better! make BC2 like BF1942! awesome!

    Posted: August 23, 2009 3:57 PM
    dozerx8
  • XGamerXKing

    BC 2 is lookin good! I already own the first one, the second one looks like a good sequel to get.

    Posted: August 23, 2009 3:51 PM
    XGamerXKing
  • Fonkeymunkey

    I havnt seen one little bit of gameplay footage ive just seen these animated movies i cant find gameplay

    Posted: August 23, 2009 3:03 PM
    Fonkeymunkey
  • bigbluectc

    It would be awesome if BF:BC could keep up with the new COD coming out. Dice is making good changes so it's gunna be a lot better than BF:BC. The 1st one didn't get enough credit and if it has DLC like the first one then this should be just as good as Modern warfare 2. I don't care if anyone disagrees or thinks I'm dum because if you can fly a black hawk loaded with 2 crew chiefs and 4 passengers or an attack helicopter, that to me equals the amount of fun (If not more fun) than COD

    Posted: August 23, 2009 2:48 PM
    bigbluectc
  • EvilShenanigans

    blood?, that would be nice. but andrew, you already had the ability to spawn on a team mate. and there's no way BBC2 can compete with MW2

    Posted: August 23, 2009 2:16 PM
    EvilShenanigans
  • GreatAlmghtyPoo

    Really excited for this game. It really can't be compared with COD. They are both fun games but im looking forward to BC 2 a little bit more.

    Posted: August 23, 2009 1:42 PM
    GreatAlmghtyPoo
  • Flynfsh

    for me, ill definitely be getting both mw2 and bc2. hey, whoever wants to just get mw2 be my guest... less nade spamming for Bad Company 2!

    Posted: August 23, 2009 1:41 PM
    Flynfsh
  • badgarok725

    definitely a more, all-out-war experience than COD, and thats great. But don't compare the two, because they appeal to different people. While COD is about the close-quarters aspect of war, small skirmishes and the like, Bad Company shows the all-out aspect, tanks and helicopters. This looks like a good game, but so far, the only improvements shown from the first one is the enhanced class choices and an engine upgrade. Hey Pfister, you said "You now have the ability to spawn right on a squadmate's location, so no more long sprints or jeep rides to rendezvous with your mates", too bad you didn't play the first one, because that was in there. Not new man. This does look like a great game, but won't appeal to as many people as MW2, just like Bad Company didn't get as much play time as COD4. Too bad, i think they're both great games, give much different experiences

    Posted: August 23, 2009 1:20 PM
    badgarok725
  • Tandyrunsthis

    honestly, i think its a bit unfair to be comparing the call of duty
    and battlefield franchise.
    i own both COD4 and Bad Company, and both offer their own uniquely satisfying
    game experience. call of duty has always been about frantic, in your face
    firefights between individual combatants, while battlefield offeres
    an experience much more on-par with a full scale battle, with tanks rolling
    into the fray, and helicopters providing support and deploying troops.

    i plan on buying both games, and i encourage all to do the same.
    you simply cant own one or the other.

    Posted: August 23, 2009 1:12 PM
  • mrsappho

    I'm excited to see what they can do with the online in Battlefield Bad Company 2.
    I hope MAG will be better than both COD MW 2 and this.

    Posted: August 23, 2009 12:52 PM
    mrsappho
  • batmanjokergorden

    Finally they put some blood when you get shot. Thas all that was missing for me.

    Posted: August 23, 2009 12:52 PM
    batmanjokergorden
  • Fyzban

    I agree to say destructible building should be standard now.Modern warfare look like cod 4 , you shoot a tin can and it dosent even move. For my part I had a lot more fun playing bad company than CoD because of all the differents strategies you can do,nothing cooler than blowing a tank with a tank. Bad Company 2 will be bad ass.

    Posted: August 23, 2009 12:27 PM
    Fyzban
  • Troyv

    I'm going to be straight forward. If you lack the needed situational evaluation skills and above average hand-eye coordination, you will probably not be very good at this game. Leading onto another point; if you are not very good at this game, you will probably not like it at first. On the up side; if you put some time into it, you can and will get better. Many cod players push this game away, as it requires more tactical evaluation, better hand-eye coordination, and know-how of the game. Cod players will probably dislike features such as: The ability to have your camping spot blown out from under you, the tactical vehicle assault strategies used by experienced players, the weapon customization limitations, and furthermore, the "WHY THE FOK DOES HE ALWAYS KILL ME FIRST WHEN I UNLOAD HALF A CLIP INTO HIS THROAT!?!!" tendency. NEEDLESS TO SAY, this game isn't for everyone. If you don't like it, you don't have to play it. Cod is a perfectly good game too, and if thats what you're into, then that's great. Bad company 2 is going to be groundbreaking with its destruction 2.0, tactical abilities, and a fresh, yet oh too familiar game-play. I for one will be getting Modern Warfare 2 and Bad Company 2. No discrimination here.

    Posted: August 22, 2009 11:21 AM
    Troyv
AdChoices