X

Final Fantasy XIII - Xbox 360

  • Publisher: Square Enix
  • Genre:RPG
  • Developer: Square Enix
  • Release Date:Mar 9, 2010
  • # of Players:1 player
  • ESRB:T - Teen (Mild Language,Suggestive Themes,Violence)
  • Platforms:
Game Description: Face your destiny in Final Fantasy XIII with this whole new adventure where you battle powerful enemies and befriend magical allies in the worlds of Cocoon and Pulse.
G4TV Rating
4 / 5
  • Avg User Rating
    (85 Ratings)
    4.3 / 5
  • Rate This Game
Final Fantasy XIII Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/games/ps3/37581/final-fantasy-xiii/articles/69937/final-fantasy-xiii-preview/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/183754_LGST/final-fantasy-xiii.jpg
Article_69937

Final Fantasy XIII Preview

By Rob Manuel - Posted Feb 12, 2010

I’m sure by now you’ve seen the videos, read all the previews, and gobbled up every salacious headline that’s crossed the webs. For our last hands-on preview before the game ships on March 9th, I present to you the final thirteen things you need to know about Final Fantasy XIII.  

Final Fantasy XIII International Trailer

 

I. Not just a pretty face… but still pretty cute. -  Our little excursion took us to the grand prairies of Pulse, a world filled with lush vegetation and exotic enemies. The guide pointed out the little details that you could only catch on an HD screen – the design and texture in Lighting’s outfit, bit of her hair being tossed by the wind, mammoth creatures moving in the distant background. We can only hope that the rest of the game looks this spectacular. 

II. Wild Wide World – As you may have already read by now, many of the Final Fantasy maps allow very little wiggle room for exploration. We’re not talking about a straight shot down the center, but some are pretty close to that. On Pulse, however, the world opens up to exploration.  Freedom of movement also allows for more strategy and the ability to pick your battles. 

III. Very Active Time Battle – So we all know what an active time battle system is by now, right? Square plays around with the tried and true system by allowing you to add multiple attacks as the bar fills. You can even stack your next series of attacks before the bar fills all the way. Interestingly enough, they use this idea to do away with another Final Fantasy staple – MP. Spells now take up a longer piece of the gauge in order to execute. No ether required here.

Final Fantasy XIII

IV. Staggering Revelations – Each enemy now has a stagger gauge. Hit them enough times and they’ll fall into a mode where each of your next attacks will cause more damage. The trick here is finding their weakness. Attacking with what hurts the most raise the stagger gauge even faster. Our demo showed a creature take punishment from a couple of sword strike but go down easily to a couple of spells.

V. A Summons of My Own – You only get one, but sometimes that’s all you need. Each of the characters gets their own summons to call down from the sky to dish out some much needed pain. When called upon, the summons or Eidolon takes the places of the other two characters in your party. They’ll dish out damage by your side until transforming into their Gestalt Mode. Lighting’s Odin, for example, transforms into a horse that our heroine rides into battle. 

VI. No Levels Needed – Taking a cue from FFX’s sphere grid, the Crystarium system doesn’t depend on straight leveling to evolve the characters. Instead, special points awarded from battle can be put towards any number of roles in the system. Adding more points to a specific role may give the character new abilities, raise a certain stat, or open up new roles. While any character can learn any role, some characters have advantages in certain roles than others. Lighting’s quick hands make her ideal for attacking roles while Snow’s higher health stats let him take the punishment required for the role of a Sentinel.

Final Fantasy XIII

VII. Know Your Role(s) –While in previous titles you could as easily cast a spell as swing a sword, roles dictate the abilities of each character. Healers, for instance, can only fling around Cura and couple of other healing spells. Don’t expect them to pull out a sword once the going gets rough. During the demo, we found ourselves switching several times during battle depending on how things were going. If things got rough, we would fall back to a team with healers and buffer, switch to debuffers and offensive magic to raise their stagger, and then finish them off with an all out onslaught of attackers.

VIII. Remember the Fans – With all this talk of change, we were assured that fans will see many of their favorites returning to the series. Like any Final Fantasy game, there will be airships, Cid, and chocobos. There was also a mention of hidden bosses. Anyone familiar with the Ruby and Emerald Weapons from Final Fantasy VII will know that they will have a fight ahead of them.   

IX. No Room At the Inn – Instead of having to use up precious potions or hot footing it over to an inn, FFXIII heals you instantly between battles. Keep moving. There’s no time to waste on potions. We have monsters to kill.

Final Fantasy XIII

X. Newcomers Welcomed – For players getting used to the new systems (roles, paradigm shifts, the bright flashing colors), Square lets you ease into everything with an auto attack option. It’s not a “get out of battle” free card, but it will pick the best attacks from your given options. Auto attack won’t pick the right roles or let you know when you need to switch. That’s still up to you.  

XI. A Swift Death – Die and you just get to try it again. Yes, it’s that easy. Instead of throwing you back to where you last saved, FFXIII gives you a second chance to learn from your mistakes. Try it again with a different strategy, or try to avoid the fight. Once again, it’s all about pushing you forward and keeping that momentum going as much as possible.

XII. The Thing About No Towns – Towns are sticky. Once you find one, you get into a comfortable pattern of fighting and fleeing back to an inn for a little healing. The developers behind FFXIII don’t want you to get stuck in any one place for too long. It honestly breaks my heart a little to see the towns disappear. Square always manages to give these little burgs a personality all their own. It makes sense in a grander scheme, however, if you want the player to constantly move forward with not only the fighting but the story. 

XIII. Final Thoughts – From out demo, you could sum up everything into two words: flow and strategy. Square seems determined to keep players moving and thinking while trouncing around some beautiful vistas. Will it work? You’ll have to wait and see our review.

Comments are Closed

  • vlweb3d

    oh boy, here we go again ...

    Posted: February 14, 2010 11:03 AM
  • REV EFFECT

    well from what ive heard so far this game is not doing great at all in japan. i could go on and on about the many complaints people have made about the game but the fact that you can get the game in the bargin bin over there even though it hasnt been out for more than 2 months should say enough. ive seen pictures of the game literally in large untouched piles. i will still get this game but i will wait till the price drops. and just like the last guy said please just shut up about it belonging on the playstation when it originally released on a nintendo console in the first place so if they want to go multi platform that is there business.

    Posted: February 14, 2010 7:15 AM
    REV+EFFECT
  • OniKan

    @ Str84twenty

    While there are certain running themes among Final Fantasy games (chocobos, a character named Cid, etc.) each Final Fantasy is more or less a standalone game. As long as you enjoy the style, you truly can pick up any of the games and enjoy it without having played any of the others.

    Posted: February 13, 2010 11:37 AM
    OniKan
  • Str84twenty

    Does any one know if I have to play the other Final Fantasy games to get this one? Or is a completely different game? The last one I have played was Final Fantasy X .

    Posted: February 13, 2010 10:37 AM
    Str84twenty
  • Sage_Sakyia

    Actually, there will be a few mini-games & side quests, didn't they say a while back that you'd be able to do a sort of "treasure hunting" with chocobos? I'm pretty sure I remember reading about that, or hearing it in a preview. Seriously, I'm not just saying that, I do remember hearing/reading that either here or at IGN.

    Posted: February 13, 2010 2:49 AM
    Sage_Sakyia
  • xxxblindxxxx

    i didnt realize most of these things about the game. i love the fact thats its pushing to keep u in the game as much as possible. got 2 have

    Posted: February 12, 2010 11:33 PM
    xxxblindxxxx
  • Timcago

    FF 13 has no mini-games, no side quests, no exploration, no towns and hardly any NPC's. All they need to do to make it more streamlined is add kill streak rewards, online multiplayer, and noobtubes.

    I am going to buy it solely for its epic combat system, soundtrack, and graphics.

    Posted: February 12, 2010 9:30 PM
    Timcago
  • Sage_Sakyia

    Well, I'll be getting the 360, if I get it (still not 100% sure, I'll probably wait to see what other people say about it first after it's out), because I don't have a PS3 or have any intention on getting a PS3.

    The no towns also kinda put a nick into my interest, I like exploring towns and getting side quests, but, I have played other RPG's that didn't really have towns much at all, so, we'll see..

    I'm really hoping I like this one, I haven't liked an FF game since FFX, with FF11 not really included (played that for about 4 years, then sold account, wasn't fun anymore, became more of a task than fun).

    Posted: February 12, 2010 8:58 PM
    Sage_Sakyia
  • kellydior

    WOW! I am now officially 1 000 000 x more excited to get this game already!!!! although I'm kind of bummed out w/ the whole "no towns" thing. I hope the story part of the game does not get affected by this. The action and strategy involved is very exciting though. I am soo loving the crystarium system; I missed the sphere grid. God I cant' wait to get this on the PS3! I am in need of a "FINAL FANTASY" once again to put some much needed "FUN" back into my uberly "VANILLA" life.

    Posted: February 12, 2010 8:43 PM
    kellydior
  • Kaleb.moga

    Anyone have know which console I should get it for? PS3 or Xbox 360??

    Posted: February 12, 2010 8:39 PM
    Kaleb.moga
  • GeekForGames

    Why are people taking other peoples opinions so serious.Its just an opinion.

    Posted: February 12, 2010 7:30 PM
    GeekForGames
  • typhoon_2099

    Don't like XI, that was the point of the FF games in my opinion. You screw up, you pay the price. Now it's just try it, fail, try again.

    Posted: February 12, 2010 6:35 PM
    typhoon_2099
  • newf360

    Should I get the Xbox 360 version(better graphics, 4 disks) or the PS3 version(slightly lesser graphics, 1 disk)? I don't know what one to get.

    Posted: February 12, 2010 6:01 PM
    newf360
  • Sage_Sakyia

    Lol...FF13 doesn't "belong" on the PS3. Remember, Square used to be "with" Nintendo as much as they are with Sony now. I could of said the same thing back in ..what was it, 1997 maybe? That FF7 "belongs" on the Nintendo system, it shouldn't be on the PSX...

    Some people are treating this in the same way, say, a person is seeing someone else while married and with a child, they "belong" with the one they're married with and have a child with, not with some fling!

    Seriously....get over this...

    Posted: February 12, 2010 3:26 PM
    Sage_Sakyia
  • heavenscloud001

    I still dont know if i want this game or not... i love the FF series, but i dont know if i want to spend the time and money on this game. It does look EPIC though

    Posted: February 12, 2010 3:15 PM
    heavenscloud001
  • xxCoolMikexx

    I like this new system of constant releases. 2010 is another gaming super year, what a great time to be a multi-console owner!

    Posted: February 12, 2010 2:29 PM
    xxCoolMikexx
  • ronaldo99

    the only reason i'm mad it's on 360 also is because it made the PS3 US version come out way later than it would have under normal circumstances. I like the fact that it will reach a wider audience here.

    is it true that they had to scale back the production to meet the 360? by this i mean would the game have been bigger and better if they didnt have to port it to the 360? just curious, not trying to start a fight

    Posted: February 12, 2010 2:12 PM
    ronaldo99
  • Harbinger2nd

    I'm sure its been mentioned elsewhere but YES, it does matter which console you buy this game on if only because the bluray disk can hold twice as much as the three DVD's that its using on the 360 combined. it may be the "same" game, but when there's twice the information on a different version for the same price I think i'll go with that one.

    Posted: February 12, 2010 2:03 PM
    Harbinger2nd
  • Vesipham

    What about the absurd amount of HP enemies in the game have? I've read that common enemies can have hitpoints in the millions, bosses in the ten millions, and the last boss's health is supposed to be something horrifically large; I'm guessing probably 50 billion. Does anyone honestly enjoy sitting there hacking away at a 1,000,000+ HP? I definitely don't. It just seems like a person's interest would die before the boss.

    Posted: February 12, 2010 2:00 PM
    Vesipham
  • XFRod

    I should just make a macro for this response:

    Priorities, people. Get a job, move out of your parent's house, and buy all the systems. Takes away the petty debate of which is better.

    Before you respond with, "Well, unlike you, MY priorities don't revolve around video games." You might want to make a new profile so, we can't all see that you've left posts on every topic G4 puts up and, that they mostly consist of, "First?" and "I agree."

    Posted: February 12, 2010 1:08 PM
g4tv.com
AdChoices