X

Battlefield 3 - Xbox 360

Game Description: Battlefield 3 for Xbox 360, the latest installment in DICE's long-running Battlefield franchise, is expected to reflect the experience of war most realistically of other shooters.
G4TV Rating
4 / 5
  • Avg User Rating
    (285 Ratings)
    4.3 / 5
  • Rate This Game
Battlefield 3 Gamescom 2011 Hands-On Preview -- We Save You A Nine Hour Wait
http://www.g4tv.com/games/xbox-360/48696/battlefield-3/articles/75372/battlefield-3-gamescom-2011-hands-on-preview-we-save-you-a-nine-hour-wait/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/280462_LGST/battlefield-3.jpg
Article_75372

Battlefield 3 Gamescom 2011 Hands-On Preview -- We Save You A Nine Hour Wait

By Kevin Kelly - Posted Aug 26, 2011

Battlefield 3 already has plenty of hardcore fans, and the game hasn't even come out yet. At E3 earlier this year, lines stretched as long as four hours to get some brief hands-on time with the multiplayer. However, that's nothing compared to gamescom, which is open to the general public, where lines were up to nine hours long in order to play the game for about 15 minutes. Now that, my friends, is ridiculous. But not nearly as ridiculous as one of the guys I met who waited in line for hours to be one of the first in the gamescom doors on Friday, where he ran directly to BF3, played it, and then left and got right back into an eight hour line for the same game. That's an insane level of dedication for a game that comes out in the couple of months.


 

I'll recreate the experience for you right here, as we also had to venture down to the show floor at gamescom to get our Battlefield on. First, you had to sit through a 15 minute presentation that was entirely in German, which you can't really fault EA for since the conference takes place in Germany. And, as a victim of the American education system, I don't speak German. But, I was sort of able to pull from context and understand most of the video. Which seemed to be "Find the enemy and kill them." 

There were brief rundowns of the class changes, which we detailed in our E3 Battlefield 3 hands-on preview, and I made the decision there and then to be the Assault class, now armed with a defibrillator so I could bring my downed buddies back to life, while charging forward and taking care of enemy soldiers. At least, that was my noble idea. Things didn't exactly go according to plan, which ended up costing me dearly.

As we finished up the film and filed into the gaming area (all on PCs, by the way), I studied the game card and wished fervently for a gamepad, which is how I experience things on the PC back at E3. But, I had to get used to the mouse and keyboard all over again at some point, and this seemed as good a time as any to dive back in. Unfortunately, the instruction card was in German as well, so strike two for our public schools. "Was ist eine button for to make kill guy?" doesn't really cut it, internationally.

We spawned onto the enormous 64 player Caspian Border map, with all of us splitting into one of two 32 player teams. As with any multiplayer match of Battlefield, everyone immediately scrambles for the airborne vehicles, and the hotly contested jet usually lasted about .025 milliseconds on the landing strip before someone jumped in it and zoomed into the skies above. While this map is extremely large, it still seems as though it's not entirely jet-friendly. ZOOM, turn around, ZOOM turn around. ZOOM, turn around, and so on. As much as I wanted to get into a jet to try this out, I gritted my teeth and climbed into a tank, which actually turned out to be a good decision.

I lasted about ten minutes inside that tank, taking occasional damage while being patched up by passing Engineers, and I managed to take out 12 enemy soldiers while taking and re-taking three different bases. But finally I heard the familiar WHOOP, WHOOP which translates to "Your tank is about to blow up, idiot" and I had to bail. Once I was on foot, I kept getting owned by enemy snipers. As in seriously owned. The game will totally rub that in your face by zooming off to the smug, sunglass-ed face of the soldier who did it, and you couldn't help but hate them.

Once the match was over (we lost), I had a strong desire to step back through and play it again, but the last thing I wanted to do was displace someone that had waited for nine hours to get in here and experience the game. Battlefield 3 stands as one of the most graphically intense, realistic shooters out there, and playing 32 players vs. another 32 provides an unequaled gaming experience. If you can manage to round up 31 friends to go online with you, you're going to have a complete blast once you figure out who's in command. And even if you play solo, you're going to wish BF3 was permanently installed in your game system.

Comments are Closed

  • NoWay0ut

    I can't imagine why on Earth, somebody would wish to play BF3 with a gamepad?!?!?!

    Posted: August 28, 2011 2:52 PM
    NoWay0ut
  • hayseman

    It was a great read but I got nothing out of it. Why didn't you go into detail about the mechanics of the game? How did the tank feel when you drove it? Do you believe that the snipers are overpowered in this game? How was the gun handling? How were the menus set up? Could you bring down that huge tower in the middle of the map? DETAILS MAN! DETAILS!!!!

    Posted: August 28, 2011 2:51 PM
    hayseman
  • blindsideofthesun

    I'm personally curious as to if the 32 v 32 is going to be possible across all platforms, or if they'll have to tone it down for the consoles.

    Posted: August 28, 2011 12:50 PM
    blindsideofthesun
  • MisterDiamonds

    All i'am sayin' is hope they still have Hardcore in this...cuz i cant play on normal mode, that is boys that want to be men but dont know how to go about. Sorry guys i live in the world of pure skill, no kill cam asst, no hud, no min map, no ammo count, no health regen (if ur still alive ur screen is red an F'ed up can't see, better find a Medic or die tryin'), an the last thing all players in Hardcore we have 1 thing in common the "1 an done"=1 shot 1 kill...GL to the guys that to be MEN u can find me in Bad Company 2 Hardcore PSN, an u'll see why CoD sucks

    Posted: August 28, 2011 6:01 AM
    MisterDiamonds
  • hoverboard000

    Sorry CoD. You got beat once again

    Posted: August 27, 2011 4:25 PM
    hoverboard000
  • BOYETCHLES

    How did every Battlefield post go from "Battlefield 3 vs Modern Warfare 3" to "Console vs PC?"
    Can't we just enjoy the game for what it is and not flame war every @#$%ing day?

    Posted: August 27, 2011 3:05 PM
  • JWCamp

    Snipers...bam them all in the bung. Snipers are the ultimate unskilled campers.

    Posted: August 27, 2011 2:42 PM
    JWCamp
  • Masterluchief521

    I think this game will definitely beat call of duty on a pc, but i doubt it will on console. If i had a high end pc i would get this instead of MW3 for xbox.

    Posted: August 27, 2011 2:17 PM
  • Lacking_Fractal

    Still renting this one seeing as how the creators hate us console gamers.

    Posted: August 27, 2011 12:16 PM
    Lacking_Fractal
  • VonDoom35

    I will be getting this for xbox 360..Everything has been looking great.Can't wait to see the new things Dice has done with this game..I think this will be up for game of the year as well as shooter of the year.

    Posted: August 27, 2011 10:23 AM
    VonDoom35
  • castIRONKILLGO

    Looks like BF3 could MW3 a run for its $.

    Posted: August 27, 2011 8:24 AM
    castIRONKILLGO
  • halbert986

    wow really? "I got in a tank, then I got killed by snipers the rest of the game" glad I read this.

    Posted: August 27, 2011 5:45 AM
    halbert986
  • Matternous

    I don't see why so many people have to argue over CoD or Battlefield... I for one think battlefield will be much more enjoyable but that's because I'm more of a team player, whereas I could see more casual/solo players would prefer CoD, and there's nothing wrong with that.

    This + Skyrim + SWTOR = BEST YEAR EVER!!

    Posted: August 26, 2011 10:26 PM
    Matternous
  • PcgamerWithAClue

    What kind of a game media doesn't know how to use a mouse and keyboard?
    I could understand if you were an old man who barely plays games but this is your job.

    God gaming these days man, console casuals everywere.

    Posted: August 26, 2011 7:43 PM
    PcgamerWithAClue
  • TheDubanat0r

    i will be picking this up for ps3. I am very frustraited with all the LAG black ops has had lately.

    Posted: August 26, 2011 6:38 PM
    TheDubanat0r
  • RPG-fan

    The game looks really good. The only thing I worry for the game is that it's mandatory to install Origin, where it was revealed that the program will gather info from your computer and sell it to third-parties.

    Question: when G4 reviews Battlefield 3 will the PC version be the lead, because of the features (i.e. 64 players, ldirectx 11 support, larger maps, etc.) that will be on the PC version, while there are missing on the console versions or will it be reviewed on the Xbox as usual?

    Posted: August 26, 2011 5:44 PM
    RPG-fan
g4tv.com
AdChoices