X

Darksiders - Xbox 360

Game Description: Play as War, one of the Horsemen of the Apocalypse, as you find yourself caught in the middle of a conflict between Heaven and Hell. Billed as a Zelda-style game for adults, explore a giant open world unlocking new weapons, abilities, and attacks that you'll need to defeat your foes.
G4TV Rating
2 / 5
  • Avg User Rating
    (152 Ratings)
    4.3 / 5
  • Rate This Game
Darksiders Hands-On Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/games/ps3/36635/darksiders/articles/69375/darksiders-hands-on-preview/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/81427_LGST/darksiders-wrath-of-war.jpg
Article_69375

Darksiders Hands-On Preview

By Brian Leahy - Posted Dec 11, 2009

Darksiders

Yesterday, I was invited to go get some hands-on time with Darksiders, the upcoming action/adventure from Vigil Games and THQ. After a few hours of play, I’m looking forward to jumping back into the game when it’s released early next year. War, one of the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse and the game’s playable lead, makes an interesting protagonist. In Darksiders, the age of mankind has come to an end with the game literally opening on the Apocalypse. War has been framed for setting the End of Days in motion and must travel the ruined Earth to find the true Destroyer.

The easiest way I can summarize Darksiders is that this a Zelda-like game that has grown up with you. If you have maybe found the recent Zelda games like Wind Waker and Twilight Princess skewing a little young, you should be paying attention to Darksiders. The game features the same gradual item-unlocking and dungeon running that are the hallmarks of the Zelda series, along with combat in the vein of God of War or Devil May Cry.

What surprised me the most was how fulfilling and responsive the combat is, even at the early levels. As War, you wield Chaoseater, a giant sword that grows stronger throughout the game through purchased upgrades and gear that can be attached to the ancient blade. War’s attacks will swing in wide arcs, hitting enemies all around him and chaining combos together. Of special note is the game’s targeting system, which allows the player to change targets on the fly even during attacks.

Even in my short hands-on time, the game is paced incredibly well. You always have your next objective lined up your next destination is clearly marked on your map. That isn’t to say that this is a linear game. The path to your destination will require additional items or battles to progress, but it all moves along at a great pace.

Darksiders releases on January 5, 2010, and is a game to watch for fans of Zelda or Metroid that are looking for a new, mature adventure.

Comments are Closed

  • Cebo

    I would like to say thanks to Vigil games and THQ. After playing the game and beating it I would say that that I'm pleasantly suprised. There have been many people complaining that this game is a rip of of the Zelda and God Of War franchises and to those people I say poo on you. I am an avid fan of both of the forementioned games and while Darksiders does contain many of the elements of Zelda and God Of War it manages to stand out on it's own. That being said it was high time that someone made a M rated game with Zelda elements and well now we have one.

    Posted: January 13, 2010 3:37 PM
    Cebo
  • crabmany

    if you want to give this game a chance do not play bayonetta first...It makes this 1 look like crap lol.

    Posted: January 5, 2010 9:47 PM
    crabmany
  • xblazeassassinx

    No offence to you Zelda fans out there but Epona aint got JACK on Ruin!!! Dont get me wrong I love the Zelda games and still plpay the origional one to this day, but, its time for a slightly more gorey change of pace. I dont really care what this game is compared to...for all I care it could be compared to The adventures of Gumby in Bookland!...my way of looking at it is that its a great looking game that has really caught my attention!

    Posted: January 4, 2010 9:06 AM
    xblazeassassinx
  • dantastic4

    This has got to be the most unimaginetive, unoriginal, uninspired garbage I've seen come together to make a video game.This seriously looks like it was put together by a media focus group trying to seen how many 12yr olds will buy this crap.This looks like gear o War meets Zelda,meets a bad WOW knock off.People need to stop buying cheap knock offs and buy original games like No more heros,Beyond good and evil and Okami.Yeah Okami had similar gameplay to Zelda but at least it had a beautiful water colored artstyle and a wolf as its lead character in a game.When the heck was the last time you've seen an animal as lead character that had a serious tone and was'nt a platforming mascot Mario knock off.

    Posted: January 4, 2010 2:18 AM
    dantastic4
  • acid_z

    this game is going to be big.

    Posted: December 23, 2009 3:13 PM
    acid_z
  • Worminator

    Xbox 360's version of God of War?? even though its coming out on ps3...

    Posted: December 15, 2009 6:08 AM
    Worminator
  • PB_theGreat

    Ah poor deluded youth, ranting about Zelda this and Zelda that, it's the 2009/ pratically 2010-honestly you wish to compare rupees, and reluctant princesses, and dungeon crawling, versus a orginal storyline, next-gen genre creating appeal, first-class voice acting, the whole freakin' end of the world turned upside down. Be that as it may, this game will rock much like Red Faction Guerilla and Saints Row did. Better yet, let's pit War, Kratos and Link in a battle royale and see it who comes out on top shall we? The tale of the tape, you've got the embodiment of all destruction unleashed on humanity mind you an instrument of the Great Tribulation and the result of the seals of God being opened. aka God's great wrath- One, mythical, tyrant who apparently is immortal and is vengeful like nobody's business who apparently has the powers of a god and could kill you without even noticing you. And a pre-adolescent, elf-eared do-gooder, who has the hots for the princess of his kingdom who killed the villian of the long running series umteemphth times/ but can't get the girl and rule all of his kingdom. My money's on War. Besides THQ already announced a sequel to Darksiders: Wrath of War.

    Posted: December 14, 2009 1:03 PM
    PB_theGreat
  • EKG

    Sorry for all the Typos ^ ^

    Posted: December 14, 2009 8:24 AM
    EKG
  • EKG

    I had ZERO interest in this game. I really didn't care if it was a 1 out of 5 or a 5 out of 5. I wasn't going to play it.......Then, everyone started comparing it to Zelda. Suddenly it is on my radar and coming in for a landing.

    If this game it taking cues from Zelda than it is a very different game than I originally though. What always surprised me is that not enough games try and compete with Zelda, especially "M" rated games. If this game can pull off everything that it is trying to do, then it will be a Buy for me on day one.

    The idea of a Mature Zelda like adventure is too much to overlook.

    Posted: December 14, 2009 8:22 AM
    EKG
  • Hydrafiend

    This has got to be the coolest story and settings for a video game that I have ever seen-playing has one of the four horsemen of the apocolypse?-that is freaking awesome lol! If the gameplay is as good as the story this game could rock. Looks good from the movies, but then I guess so does every game. I have to admit that I am looking forward to this though.

    Posted: December 13, 2009 7:25 PM
    Hydrafiend
  • achillez77

    Part of what I enjoy about Link's adventures is the childishness of them. However, I would like a more mature version as well, and since they prolly won't make an official Zelda that is mature, this game interests me.

    Posted: December 13, 2009 5:59 PM
    achillez77
  • Vesuvian Ast3r1x

    Mehh, whatever, no really whatever. When is the next major Zelda game coming out again?

    Posted: December 13, 2009 3:53 PM
  • jungleman67

    what about the characters?

    Posted: December 13, 2009 2:54 PM
    jungleman67
  • zimmy91

    wow double post weird ! in a reply and the main webpage?

    Posted: December 13, 2009 12:23 PM
    zimmy91
  • zimmy91

    Honestly i dont care if it has gore or not i want more zelda like games period. im sick of saying this in my head " i really have to resort to play an n64 game to get my action/adventure gaming fill" really its not that i hate the graphics but that i am craving a really polished next gen version of zelda. I want something new and fresh thats good, so that i dont have to crack open my n64 to get my crave for a good zelda game satisfyed. May this satisfy my taste for action/adventure games for the next gen. PLEASE DONT FAIL!!!!!!

    Posted: December 13, 2009 12:22 PM
    zimmy91
  • redsnow486

    yes because twilight princess is REAL hardcore and I love to be play games that toddelrs play
    this game looks WAY BETTER than Zelda
    save princess=lame
    play as a Horseman of the Apocalypse, War none the less=fun

    Posted: December 13, 2009 10:52 AM
    redsnow486
  • SpunkusMaximus

    I think fans of Zelda and Metroid will like Zelda and Metroid better than this game by a lot. I bet this game will be more accurately described as "a wannabe Zelda" or "Zelda with not as cool gameplay and story but gore and strong language."

    Zelda would be ruined if developers tried to make it "badass." Sometimes it's painfully obvious that a game is trying hard to impress players with "mature" content. I'm sure this game will be worth playing, but I don't like how it's being made out as better than Twilight Princess.

    Posted: December 12, 2009 10:10 PM
    SpunkusMaximus
  • Shadowsoul89

    Is it me or does War have a really tiny head? lol

    Posted: December 12, 2009 6:58 AM
    Shadowsoul89
  • TheSledBaron

    If this was wikipedia this article would be flagged for being written like an advertisement.

    Posted: December 11, 2009 6:37 PM
    TheSledBaron
  • project319

    for some reason the look and feel of the game reminds me of fable

    Posted: December 11, 2009 5:58 PM
    project319
AdChoices