X

Conduit 2 - Wii

Game Description:Building upon the success of the original, Conduit 2 takes players to the far reaches of the world to stop an alien invasion which can be fought in single-player, online multiplayer battles, and all-new off and online co-op modes. Armed with advanced and powerful weapons, players can expect massive action in large, multi-tiered levels featuring dynamic environments, cinematic battles, giant adversaries, and deep customization features.
G4TV Rating
3 / 5
  • Avg User Rating
    (10 Ratings)
    4.3 / 5
  • Rate This Game
E3 2010 Preview: The Conduit 2
http://www.g4tv.com/games/wii/64162/conduit-2/articles/71058/e3-2010-preview-the-conduit-2/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/242542_LGST/the-conduit-2.jpg
Article_71058

E3 2010 Preview: The Conduit 2

By - Posted Jun 18, 2010

What We Already Know:

The sequel to the sharp-looking Wii shooter picks up immediately after the events of the previous game. Protagonist Michael Ford emerges from the conduit he entered at the end of the last game, and finds himself on an oil derrick in an unknown location (hopefully not the Gulf of Mexico, though that would explain a lot), being fired upon by suspiciously well-armed guards.

What We're Seeing Now:

A boatload of improvements from the previous game. Not only does The Conduit 2 support Wii MotionPlus, it also sports a bunch of graphical upgrades, from lighting to weather effects. The designers promise improved AI, with enemies who will take the initiative more often, creating their own cover by knocking over tables or hunting you down to flush you out if you've done the same.



Level design has taken a turn for the better, too, with less linear structures allowing for multiple branching pathways that aren't necessarily essential to the story. Which makes them perfect for stashing the heavy dose of secret items, like weapons blueprints (used for unlocking weapons in multiplayer mode) or "Conspiracy Items," which unlock other background materials.

The story has taken a turn for the even-more-fantastical too, with Ford eventually needing to travel to Atlantis to unravel the secret of the conduits -- as well as his own faithful companion, the All-Seeing Eye. All this, and straight-up aliens, too. The Conduit 2 is like an X-Files shooter mixed with a Dan Brown novel.

Comments are Closed

  • Catman789

    i would absolutely love to see this game on x-play and show all of the fanboys at g4 what the wii can do

    Posted: August 29, 2010 8:11 PM
    Catman789
  • applepieisthebomb

    i hope the single player is better than the 1st

    Posted: June 27, 2010 1:49 AM
    applepieisthebomb
  • Gamercation456

    Can't wait until this games comes out I really hope the story is longer and the multiplayers is better

    Posted: June 21, 2010 3:51 PM
    Gamercation456
  • Geo_Chronic

    Since my first three links didn't work...

    http://www.youtube.com/watch ?v=lg5OCyaAcdU
    http://www.youtube.com/watch ?v=SgyCWglLvsc
    http://www.youtube.com/watch ?v=K1kUr4C7HC4

    Posted: June 20, 2010 11:27 AM
    Geo_Chronic
  • Geo_Chronic

    These 3 videos have everything you need to know about the game's single-player until it's release.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch ?v=SgyCWglLvsc
    http://www.youtube.com/watch ?v=lg5OCyaAcdU&feature=rel ated
    http://www.youtube.com/watch ?v=K1kUr4C7HC4&feature=rel ated

    This video pretty much tells you everything there currently is to know about the multiplayer.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch ?v=5sdbT7P-CaM&feature=rel ated

    They're all much more informative than this short-winded preview. Enjoy!

    Posted: June 20, 2010 10:56 AM
    Geo_Chronic
  • Shadow_ben_jamin

    Wow the squeal looks way better than the original. I hope the new headset in bundled with the game. This is going on my Christmas list :)

    Posted: June 19, 2010 9:48 PM
    Shadow_ben_jamin
  • futuredesigner2

    Definently looks better, but will it play better?

    Posted: June 19, 2010 3:37 PM
    futuredesigner2
  • crazybloodmonkey

    yeah me too

    Posted: June 18, 2010 7:18 PM
    crazybloodmonkey
  • Flight_Eagle

    Wow, talk about graphical updates. That looks many times better than the first one. Not that it matters. But what does matter is control, and hopefully Wii Motion Plus will help tighten it up. Felt a little loose in the first one, though throwing grenades and bashing was really good.

    Posted: June 18, 2010 5:57 PM
    Flight_Eagle
  • Flight_Eagle

    Wow, talk about graphical updates. That looks many times better than the first one. Not that it matters. But what does matter is control, and hopefully Wii Motion Plus will help tighten it up. Felt a little loose in the first one, though throwing grenades and bashing was really good.

    Posted: June 18, 2010 5:56 PM
    Flight_Eagle
  • Keshman81

    I hope the new headset works better than wii speak

    Posted: June 18, 2010 2:35 PM
    Keshman81
  • Geo_Chronic

    Oh, look. A hands-on preview posted by a nameless author (probably an intern) just like I asked for. Way to support the indie development community G4. You could've at least posted the author's name, and allowed him/her to write something a little more in-depth.

    Too little, too late. I've already seen a video of the first boss battle.

    Posted: June 18, 2010 2:34 PM
    Geo_Chronic
  • crazybloodmonkey

    looks epic nice game hopefully they patch this one

    Posted: June 18, 2010 2:31 PM
    crazybloodmonkey
  • Ashley_Si

    It still sits on my list of soon to be owned games. I wish I had the money for all that's coming.

    Posted: June 18, 2010 1:15 PM
    Ashley_Si
  • zenmastersamuraimonk

    its good to see effort on wii but i just hope the single player experience is longer i beat the last game in just over 5 hours so i hope the sequel is at least double that, if this comes out around the same time as golden eye for wii than i will have a tough time deciding which to get.

    Posted: June 18, 2010 12:28 PM
    zenmastersamuraimonk
g4tv.com
AdChoices