X

Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon - Wii

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Genre:Shooter
  • Developer: Ubisoft
  • Release Date:Nov 16, 2010
  • # of Players:1 player
  • ESRB:T - Teen (Violence)
  • Platforms:
Game Description: Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon will feature cutting-edge technology, prototype high-tech weaponry, and state-of-the-art single-player and multiplayer modes. Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon will go beyond the core Ghost Recon franchise and deliver a fresh gameplay experience, with an unparalleled level of quality that will excite long-time fans and newcomers alike.
G4TV Rating
N/A
  • Avg User Rating
    (1 Rating)
    1 / 5
  • Rate This Game
Preview: Ghost Recon Wii
http://www.g4tv.com/games/wii/63456/tom-clancys-ghost-recon/articles/71788/preview-ghost-recon-wii/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/240074_LGST/ghost-recon.jpg
Article_71788

Preview: Ghost Recon Wii

By Tom Price - Posted Aug 16, 2010

 

Ghost Recon

Shooters, by and large, have been unsuccessful in attempting to make the jump to the Nintendo Wii. It has something to do with the Wii’s controller scheme doing aiming quite well, but not aiming and looking at the same time, something that’s crucial to good shooters, be they first- or third-person. But Ubisoft seems to have figured out something clever for the basic mechanic behind Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon for the Wii, possibly developing the first satisfying shooter for the platform.

The problem with so many shooters on the Wii is that they have to result to the “on a rail” concept, where the game moves you and you aim and shoot at enemies on the screen. This has never been totally satisfying. But in Ghost Recon, you do have some control over the movement of your two soldier teammates. You tell them when and where to move up into cover, with one guy on the run (or slow-walk while shooting) while the other guy covers him. Not only is this a fairly realistic interpretation of real world combat tactics, but a rather fun way to experience the action.

Ghost Recon

The two soldiers on screen in Ghost Recon must work together to defeat the eleven different classes of enemy, each sporting their own unique behaviors and weapon sets. It’s important to coordinate your weapons – maybe one guy takes an assault rifle while the other guy uses a rocket launcher or even a sniper rifle – to coordinate your attacks. Often, one player will draw fire while the other draws a bead on whoever is shooting at him.

Campaign mode consists of thirt-plus missions spread out over twelve distinct level environments, all of which are played in this two-player configuration (though you don’t need a human buddy to play with you, it will make it more fun). The story is different from what you’ll experience in the Xbox 360 and PS3 versions, but it does exist in the same Ghost Recon narrative universe, and was crafted by the same writer.

In addition to campaign mode, there’s an arcade mode that let’s you play across the same levels, but for points, rather than simple level completion. You can compete against your teammate or work with him to drive up the multiplier and rack up insane points under a time limit. Don’t get shot though, or else your multiplier will lose a level, and if you outright die… well forget it, it’s gone.

Ghost Recon

Ghost Recon for the Wii is clearly not going to be the same hardcore experience it will be for other consoles, but as far as shooters on the Wii go, it looks like one you’d be least embarrassed to be seen playing. The moving to cover device is clever, and large action-packed set pieces make for exciting gameplay experiences. And at the end of the day, that’s usually all we’re really asking for. Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon for Wii will be out this holiday season.

Comments are Closed

  • David005

    Why can't they just make a shooter that allows turning with the d-pad along with the look/turn that most wii shooters use?



    Other than that making too much sense...

    Posted: August 19, 2010 10:50 PM
  • torchmoney

    PLEASE HAVE ONLINE PLEASE IF NOT JUST ANOTHER FAILER WII FAN LOVE ONLINE 2 YOU KNOW

    Posted: August 18, 2010 10:46 PM
    torchmoney
  • Vauldon

    I Personaly dont understand what the big fus is about with Wii aim on FPS games.
    I Personaly Own The Conduit and Modern Warfare (reflex) and i can kill on them just as well as any other platform game.
    If any one Knows please say will there be any type of online play with Ghost Recon?
    if not that will be its kiss of Death

    Posted: August 17, 2010 9:46 PM
    Vauldon
  • Zzanzabar

    There are millions of Wii's out there and the first developer who finds a 3rd party hit that will become a 'must buy' for the system will be swimming in dough. That is reason enough to keep on plugging. I'm just surprised that 'LIMBO' is not on the Wii, those are the type of graphics that will transfer quite well, that along with the gameplay and simplicity of the controls seemed like a no brainer for the system.

    Posted: August 17, 2010 5:21 AM
    Zzanzabar
  • XtraCrunchy

    As long as you can be invisible

    Posted: August 16, 2010 9:37 PM
    XtraCrunchy
  • Geo_Chronic

    Lol, it's funny how everyone bashes on The Conduit. I think it kinda helped set a trend. It's been a year since its release and now we see all sorts of developers trying to publish FPS games on the Wii all of the sudden. I doubt that's a coincidence.

    I'll have to check the reviews and probably even rent this on before considering a purchase, but I'm glad to see the 3rd party devs making an effort.

    Here's hoping for healthy FPS sales on the Wii this holiday. We're going to need 'em if we want to see more hardcore titles on the system.

    Posted: August 16, 2010 9:29 PM
    Geo_Chronic
  • Spyro_Soul95

    But the only thing that I like bout Ubisoft is that they actually spend time on the wii versions of these games, but if Nintendo can get a bullseye with their first person shooters like metroid and other genres, why cant other third party titles do the same. I always say this, its not the Wii's fault, its the developers

    Posted: August 16, 2010 8:37 PM
    Spyro_Soul95
  • Spyro_Soul95

    Actually looks pretty good on the Wii, but on the Ps3 it will be BLAM!, but not the first satisfying, it might be the 3rd. "still sad though"
    1st.Metroid Prime trilogy
    2nd.The Conduit (multiplayer)

    Posted: August 16, 2010 8:30 PM
    Spyro_Soul95
  • Ryan82999@yahoo.com

    Cmon, people don't bash. Does Everything have to be a huge multi million production with you? You've lost your sense as a gamer if you think a game has to have a slightly improved version off the normal conrols of a shooter, and has too look better than the one before it. This game looks fun allright. I like this idea. Most of the games i buy are not call of duty or run the unreal engine. I like playing games like Small titles in the xbl arcade, or maybe games like Patapon on the psp Or the World Ends with you on ds. Sure i buy Call of duty games but thats because my freinds do. And honestly, that gameplay has been rinsed and repeated so many times that i refuse to buy Black ops or any other remake of a game i enjoy less and less every year. Call of duty mw2 wasnt even fun to me, its all a bunch of kids goin " Oh quick scope!" and " wow kid Nice Noob tube!"

    Posted: August 16, 2010 7:17 PM
  • Antonio_r

    All of you hard core fgs cryed for years about nintendo not giving a sht about hardcore games and now that they have been trying to push the hardcore games out or even developers that waste there time to even make one thats all you Dmm F's DO IS BASH and cry even more about the game i mean if people would show developers that they will buy harcore games on the wii developers would make better quality games i mean whos going to want to spend any money to make a wii game look and play good or even waste there time if know one is going to buy them...! I swear you hardcore fgs need to make up ur dam minds...! and another thing quit comparing the graphics to the xbox and ps3 clearly the wii cant look like the ps3 and 360 all of you need to learn that the wiis next gen inovation was the motion control for the gamplay not the graphics and just because ps3 and xbox focused on the graphics doesnt man thats the only think that makes a next gen system...!!! And i hope all of you baby crys read this...! if you feel the same way and felt like saying this to the hardcore baby crys put a thumbs up...!

    Posted: August 16, 2010 6:19 PM
    Antonio_r
  • Antonio_r

    All of you hard core fgs cryed for years about nintendo not giving a sht about hardcore games and now that they have been trying to push the hardcore games out or even developers that waste there time to even make one thats all you Dmm F's DO IS BASH and cry even more about the game i mean if people would show developers that they will buy harcore games on the wii developers would make better quality games i mean whos going to want to spend any money to make a wii game look and play good or even waste there time if know one is going to buy them...! I swear you hardcore fgs need to make up ur dam minds...! and another thing quit comparing the graphics to the xbox and ps3 clearly the wii cant look like the ps3 and 360 all of you need to learn that the wiis next gen inovation was the motion control for the gamplay not the graphics and just because ps3 and xbox focused on the graphics doesnt man thats the only think that makes a next gen system...!!! And i hope all of you baby crys read this...! if you feel the same way and felt like saying this to the hardcore baby crys put a thumbs up...!

    Posted: August 16, 2010 6:18 PM
    Antonio_r
  • nilaul

    So this is going to compete with goldeneye, conduit2 and CoD. This thing will fail in sales, and they will release statements like "you cant sell titles on Wii". My holiday list is full, this is definitely not on it.

    Posted: August 16, 2010 3:03 PM
  • siavm

    Nintendo knows what they are doing with their systems. Why can't third parties figure it out? Most third party games on wii are just third rate affairs. On other systems though they stand as some of the best games. This is just going to be another crappy work from ubisoft.

    Posted: August 16, 2010 2:10 PM
    siavm
  • foehammerr

    this looks pretty good and if it actualy lives up to what they say it will easily be one of the best if not the best shooter for the wii or wii game in general

    Posted: August 16, 2010 2:02 PM
    foehammerr
  • SpiffRawr

    worst graphics of the 3 systems and most likely the most clunky...kudos for ensuring nobody will want this game after seeing it in 1080p on ps3

    Posted: August 16, 2010 9:39 AM
    SpiffRawr
g4tv.com
AdChoices