X

Metroid: Other M - Wii

Game Description: Metroid: Other M is Ninja Gaiden developer Team Ninja's take on one of gaming's most beloved franchises for this all new Metroid installment. Mixing third-person and first-person action, this highly polished take on the Metroid universe promises plenty of action, classic platforming, and a striking visual style. The Samus mythology is extended in Metroid: Other M.
G4TV Rating
2 / 5
  • Avg User Rating
    (104 Ratings)
    3.9 / 5
  • Rate This Game
Metroid: Other M Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/games/wii/61992/metroid-other-m/articles/70018/metroid-other-m-preview/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/155775_LGST/metroid-the-other-m.jpg
Article_70018

Metroid: Other M Preview

By Abbie Heppe - Posted Feb 25, 2010

Metroid Other M

Metroid: Other M has piqued my curiosity more than most upcoming games. I love the franchise, but I’m bewildered at the seemingly odd marriage of Team Ninja and Nintendo. I asked about the origin, and will shamefully toss to the interview that will soon be on X-Play, but it appears it was born "in the depths of Japan," so for now I will focus on my more tangible experience with the game.

The verdict on Other M is still out. I played through the beginning of the game, and the amount of exposition and character for Samus is both fascinating and frightening. For a character whose biggest reveal previously was that she is a woman, it is almost mind-boggling to compare the character that Samus is for me with the character Samus is to Sakamoto, the creator of the series.

She seems detached, but her voice is almost timid and more feminine than I had imagined. Perhaps that assessment is unfair, having recently completed Mass Effect 2 and grown accustomed to my very badass (but very Paragon) Captain Shepard. As much as Samus has become a part of my gaming life, she is not me nor mine to own or describe; she has always been compellingly mysterious. Hopefully we won't see too much sexualization of the character (it has to be mentioned, given Team Ninja's catalog) but again, it incredible to see her fleshed out into something...human.

Metroid Other M

Gameplay wise, Metroid: Other M finds a home between the classic 2D style and the first-person re-imagining of Metroid Prime. Almost ironically, so does the story. It's feels almost like a game made after its time, falling between Fusion (if your memory and knowledge of the series is on par, you'll recognize one very important character, Adam Malkovich, right away) and Prime. It feels as if it *should* have been made between the two, to bridge players into a very different experience in the first-person milieu.

Post-destruction of the Mother Brain, Samus finds herself back in action and following a distress signal, nicknamed "a baby's cry" (get it? like the baby Metroid that gave its life...maybe?) and discovers that the crew currently investigating the signal is none other than her compatriots and former captain in the Galactic Federation before she became a bounty hunter. It's clear that she and Adam have a history, but well, some things are yet to be revealed.


While the stripping of Samus' power's seems extremely artificial in this iteration (it appears due to taking orders from Adam), the core of Metroid gameplay is definitely at home here. The other element that bothered me (and may have been due to the set up of the sensor bar) is switching to the first-person view (by pointing the Wii remote at the screen) yet it is necessary for using missiles and scanning objects. It just feels like a halt to the flow of the game and can be frustrating during more chaotic action sequences. There is a clear change to combat with close-quarters action at play here, Samus performs melee combat  moves like leaping on an enemy’s back and putting a beam shot through his/her head, and more. It's very Team Ninja, but I wasn't clear on how much of the melee I was doing rather than the game doing it for me. Felt like the latter.

Metroid Other M

I associate the Metroid games with a feeling of loneliness, so it was a surprise to interact with people as much as I did in the short demo I played. Clearly, there are secrets about this game (abilities, plot, etc.) but it is nonetheless clearly a brainchild of two different teams, and my curiosity has me itching to know more. Will the exploration factor of Prime come into play more? Will there be new weaponry or abilities? Will I lose the crew I seem to be currently tied to? Where can I find Ridley? I don't know, but I am excited to find out as much as I am innately frightened to see Samus and Other M reveal what has always been a private mythology in my head. I'm fascinated but as I mentioned earlier, I need to see more.

Comments are Closed

  • azrael1981

    I

    Posted: February 26, 2010 12:13 AM
    azrael1981
  • Vesuvian Ast3r1x

    It's interesting that Samus's voice is a timid one, but you have to admit it fits. The reasons in my belief are as follows:
    (1) she has spent her entire bounty-hunting career in a metallic suit, virtually shutting herself off from the outside, (Think about it, it was a trill just to see her take the helmet off, it was the big reward at the end of about 4 games in the series).
    (2) She has had very little if any interaction with anything halfway resembling a human (Prime 3 had the most interaction of any Metroid game in the series).
    (3) Recently in video games it's fast becoming cliched for a female character to be strong & bad-ass, ( I can name 3 off the top of my head (1) Alyx - Half life series, (2) Just about any female character in the Street Fighter series, & most recently, (3) Bayonetta). so seeing Nintendo take an old-school approach is quite interesting.
    (4) Nintendo just don't do voice-overs, their most popular character Mario has been in over 10 games since the advent of voice-overs & here we are 2010 and we are still getting the same old random yells and noises were accustomed to. But that's okay - for Nintendo - any other company tries that BS & 10-1 it's riots by morning. (For the record, Leon from resident evil 4 has the most voice-over-ing on any Nintendo console to date & he was a "borrowed" character.

    Posted: February 25, 2010 9:05 PM
  • talonk451

    If it says Metroid, I will buy it. I hope it's the best game ever, but even if it doesn't live up to expectations I will still enjoy playing another chapter in the Metroid saga.

    I hope Team Ninja + Nintendo = AMAZING *Crosses Fingers*

    Just about time to cross off another day on the countdown calendar.

    Posted: February 25, 2010 8:37 PM
    talonk451
  • jham513

    I wiil be so pissed if they screw this game up. The Prime series was amazing, so to ditch that when no one complained about it makes me nervous what their thinking.

    Posted: February 25, 2010 7:38 PM
    jham513
  • zenmastersamuraimonk

    why the hell does everyone say this looks like anime style it doesnt it just looks more realistic regarding the characters, samus looks like a real albeit hot person unlike the cartoony look of the prime samus. just because its more japanese (which i consider better) doesnt automatically make it anime you stupid americans.

    Posted: February 25, 2010 6:40 PM
    zenmastersamuraimonk
  • sion8

    If her voice is timid and what ever that is not Nintendo is Team Ninja and i don't want that because she is a strong femmale charater and will been a guy myself I want this for female everywhere don't take this the wrong way is just a (thougth?).

    Posted: February 25, 2010 6:07 PM
    sion8
  • shyguy

    Pleeeeeease be on par with Prime (one), Fusion and Super Metroid. Favorite 3 of the series, hope I will have 4 favorites.

    Posted: February 25, 2010 4:19 PM
  • AngelsandDemons

    Looks very animeish....I was a big fan of the old compelling and mysterious Samus. Fandom aside...less is more; some of those combos are very Nija Gaiden-esque. I wouldn't complain about feeling like the CPU has too much player control.

    Posted: February 25, 2010 4:04 PM
    AngelsandDemons
  • RickAstin

    Wow...they're actually showing some of the backstory as opposed to just telling us.....that's actually pretty cool...


    Metroid prime never really did it for me....was awesome I can admit...but I dunno....Happy to see this take isn't completely dumping the 3D stuff though....

    Posted: February 25, 2010 3:56 PM
    RickAstin
  • MUN-CHI

    What the eff? Who are you to say what a true Metroid fan is or isn't? I consider myself a hardcore Metroid fan yet I'm seriously frightened about this game the more I learn from it. All true fans should be worried, this game won't make the game, the series is already perfect, but it could seriously break the game and story line. The graphics are light years behind the first Prime. The game looks too anime-ish (I LOVE ANIME, but you have to realize certain styles don't fit well in some games, and in this one anime is definitely not the way to go). Samus sounds like a 12 year old for crying out loud WTF. It just doesn't feel like Metroid at ALL. And I won't buy this game on day one for your information. I didn't buy Prime on day one, but you betcha I pre-ordered Echoes on day one. Same thing here, unless team ninja proves to me that this is really Metroid I won't spend a dime on it. And if by some blessing this game turns out to be just as good if not better than the rest, then yes, I'll be the first one in line for the sequel.

    By the way, I dig the new Samus look, but it's inferior to the previous version. Make a new smash just for the new inferior looking samus chick? come on man...plz. It's a game not a freaking hentai.

    Speaking of which, who the hell decided that having Team Ninja work on Metroid was a good idea? Seriously, what? When I think of metroid team ninja is the last developer I think of in working with the franchise, hell Renegade Kid is even more fitted for the job, and valve? Oh god, if only.

    Posted: February 25, 2010 3:55 PM
    MUN-CHI
  • Warrior_Elite11

    I really hope they truly get the mix between the 2D and 3D view. That must be incredibly difficult to pull off. For once in my life, I'm actually hoping that they keep pushing this back further and further, just so that I can feel safe that they have pulled the mechanics right... Please, Team Ninja, get this right....

    Posted: February 25, 2010 3:55 PM
    Warrior_Elite11
  • RockieOllie

    Does this mean Nintendo is back?

    Posted: February 25, 2010 3:54 PM
    RockieOllie
  • PinkCrayon32

    it's great to see nintendo reaching out and trying to do new things. i hope a to see a similair approach with the next zelda game.

    i am intruiged to hear that samus has a more timid and feminine voice. although one would think that she would be totally badass, i think it's way to cliche, especially these days where every girl you see in a video game is rediculously hot, powerful and confident. i think it's a step in the right direction for nintendo. props.

    Posted: February 25, 2010 3:52 PM
    PinkCrayon32
  • SeanTheArtist

    Good preview.
    I to and a bit 'ify' on this. Im A HUGE Mertroid fan, and I feel Super Metroid is one of the best games of all time. that being said, I also like what the american team did with Prime.
    thus far, some parts to other M seem a bit odd to me. like it could turn out, kinda of lame, story plot wise.
    And if it';s true, you jump back and forth from first person to 3D? that's just might not work out very well.

    I almost would have liked to have seen another American team do this. just seem what could be done.
    there's just something about a lot of Japanese games that are odd. the 5 minutes of just staring back and forth with no dialogue makes for awkward scenes.

    who knows, I've enjoyed the metriod games thus far. high hopes. Damn, that means i need to buy a wii, great.

    Posted: February 25, 2010 3:40 PM
    SeanTheArtist
  • zenmastersamuraimonk

    so now that samus is hot can we make a new smash bros game and replace the old character model with this one at least when it comes to zero suit samus. what is with everyone saying they are "cautiously optimistic" if your a true metroid fan than your going to buy this on day one anyway so dont even trip over a review score.

    Posted: February 25, 2010 3:01 PM
    zenmastersamuraimonk
  • JimboG

    Hearing that Samus's voice so far is timid and feminine has me a little worried. With what little dialog we have witnessed from Samus (mostly coming from Metroid Fusion and Smash Bros Brawl) it is suggested that Samus SHOULD be a very confident, witty women that one would not want to rub the wrong way. Making her a high-pitched, Japanese schoolgirl voice is a far step backwards from what Nintendo has given us so far.

    I have always imagined Samus to be a character with a voice and personality on par with Alyx from Half-Life 2. Strong, witty, and smart. I hope Nintendo does her character justice.

    Posted: February 25, 2010 2:58 PM
  • IAmAParade

    As a fan of Metroid Fusion (my favorite in the series because of its objective-based nature), I'm excited to see Adam Malkovich in action ("Any objections, lady?"). Even though you're tagging along with other space marines in the demo, this is still the very beginning part of the game, and it's like Adam said about Alan Wake in previous episode of Feedback: there'll probably be those quieter lonely moments for you to explore and take in the atmosphere, but those moments really don't demo so well. I'm still cautiously optimistic, and very excited to see how this potential blockbuster pans out!

    Posted: February 25, 2010 12:57 PM
    IAmAParade
AdChoices