X

Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep - PSP

  • Publisher: Square Enix
  • Genre:Action, RPG
  • Developer: Square Enix
  • Release Date:Sep 7, 2010
  • # of Players:1 player
  • ESRB:E10+ - Everyone 10+ (Fantasy Violence,Mild Suggestive Themes)
  • Platforms:
Game Description: In this prequel to the original Kingdom Hearts, players assume the role of three new heroes, as they venture forth to locate the missing Keyblade master Xehanort and his apprentice. Fans of the series will be right at home with the game's controls and visual style, however the game promises to deliver plenty of new features as well.
G4TV Rating
4 / 5
  • Avg User Rating
    (31 Ratings)
    4.7 / 5
  • Rate This Game
E3 2010: Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/games/psp/48272/kingdom-hearts-birth-by-sleep/articles/71072/e3-2010-kingdom-hearts-birth-by-sleep-preview/
Article_71072

E3 2010: Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep Preview

By Patrick Klepek - Posted Jun 15, 2010

What We Already Know:

I have a love/hate relationship with the Kingdom Hearts series, relishing an opportunity to explore interactive versions of my favorite Disney worlds (running around Halloweentown from The Nightmare Before Christmas was a particular highlight), while scratching my head at the increasingly convoluted storyline -- and this comes from a person who obsesses over all the small details in an episode of Lost. The Disney connection always draws me to the next Kingdom Hearts game, for better or worse, which is how I approached Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep.

What We're Seeing Now:

This one doesn't continue the storyline after Kingdom Hearts 2. Square Enix is keeping that one happily dangling for the future. As a prequel set 10 years before the events of Kingdom Hearts, however, there's a terrific opportunity to help make the other games make a little more sense. You can play three different characters -- Terra, Aqua and Ventus -- and while playing through all three campaigns is necessary to understand the whole story (each campaign looks at the plot from a different angle), Square Enix told me you'll get the gist of by only playing one character.

I loaded up the Aqua campaign, set within the Cinderella universe. With moments, I'd run into Cinderella and her posse, providing me a moment of pause while staring at the PSP screen. Even though Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep is running on a PSP, you could easily confuse it for Kingdom Hearts 2. The art style established in the Kingdom Hearts games continues to impress and works incredibly well on the PSP. Hey, I might not know what's happening during Kingdom Heart's cut-scenes, but that doesn't make them any less aesthetically pleasing to watch.

There are two main additions to the combat in this outing: D-Link and Focus. You access Focus by tapping one of the bumper buttons, transforming Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep into a violent first-person shooter. Well, not really. The perspective simply switches into first-person for more precise aiming of a bubble gun that can lock onto a single enemy a whole bunch of times or multiple enemies on the screen. It's a powerful weapon, but since you can't move, you're suddenly extremely vulnerable. D-Link provides character switching on the fly, so while your primary character might not have the tools to combat a particular boss, maybe someone you've met has. You become a swiss army knife of Keyblade destruction; that's welcome for variety's sake.

Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep is not a reinvention of the established Kingdom Hearts formula. Given how well the series continues to sell, fans aren't giving Square Enix much reason to rethink their approach, and while BBS addresses criticisms of the traditionally stiff, button mash-heavy combat by giving more options to change up the combat options in real-time, at the end of the day, it's still very much Kingdom Hearts. Your mileage may vary.

Comments are Closed

  • NerdyGamerAddict1

    Ok i like the idea but y so but far ago just to get the the whole understanding of it an y psp why not ps3 also they need to continue sora's story because in Kingdom Hearts 2 riku kiari and sora had got another letter from mickey

    Posted: June 29, 2010 10:03 PM
  • T3B7Y4

    looks good just hope the psp2 comes out so i can get all these great games gow:ghost of sparta,mgs:peace walker and now kh:bbs my psp broke but i dont wanna buy a new 1 if theres a possibility of a psp2

    Posted: June 24, 2010 4:49 AM
    T3B7Y4
  • LordGold24

    excuse me while i put on a clean pair of boxers

    Posted: June 23, 2010 7:05 PM
    LordGold24
  • Raisinbman

    Why am I reading comments @-@, spoiler central T-T

    Posted: June 23, 2010 6:04 PM
  • AodAngel

    STOP IT WITH THE SIDE STORYS! I DONT GET IT! Roxas is now alive befor sora was ever a keyblade master and befor he was turned into a heartless. WTF! I dont get it =/ Why is his name Ventus or who ever he is out of the three. soo confusing! yes Kingdom hearts is awsome but please add more detail to the story on why roxas / Ventus is alive. isnt this story line befor sora and in the past when the keyblade wars just began or is it in the future wtf confused here.

    Posted: June 23, 2010 9:51 AM
    AodAngel
  • SyCoDEVIL13

    the PSP certainly is having a good run right now, Peace Walker, and now Birth by Sleep and eventually Ghost of Sparta! so glad I own one of these!

    Posted: June 23, 2010 9:02 AM
    SyCoDEVIL13
  • Twenty_20

    ohhhh and i cant forget gow ghost of sparta!!!!
    good lineup psp not to shabby **strokes beard**

    Posted: June 21, 2010 8:29 PM
    Twenty_20
  • Twenty_20

    cant wait to get a new psp for this and mgs peace walker
    but ima wait till tgs to see if there is going to be a psp2
    i highly doubt this because of the new ad campain with the marcus kidd, i dont think they put money out for a new campain if they wer goin drop it for a psp2... unless the psp2 is backwords compatible with original psp's!!!!!
    (imagine insted of umd they use the memory stick pro)
    :D

    Posted: June 21, 2010 8:27 PM
    Twenty_20
  • ianmarvinchua

    wow finally yes thank u

    Posted: June 21, 2010 3:54 AM
  • BlakeKellermann

    one question, how is roxas on the cover? wasnt he born when sora stabbed himself with the keyblade and this is a PREQUEL to the franchise. please help me here.

    Posted: June 20, 2010 11:45 PM
    BlakeKellermann
  • dzunepwnsipod

    The game is awesome, I played as Ventas. The single most annoying part was when you have to escort Snow White through a bunch of normal heart-less and tree heart-less. You can finish the final boss off at level 43, anything over that is just overkill.


    SPOILER








    The final boss it the jerk in the red and black with the smooth solid glass helmet.I don't know his name but HE.IS.SORA! The only difference is that his hair is black and his eyes are red. You kill him and he splits apart into what seems to be a good soul and an evil force. Its my guess that he get's re-incarnated as Sora.

    Some of you will think I'm making this up, All I have to say to that is just wait and see, just wait and see. You will change your mind soon enough.

    Posted: June 20, 2010 11:40 PM
  • XwingVmanX

    I was hoping this was going to be the last side story before, KH3, but NOOOO he has to remake Coded for the DS and now KH 3D. Just freaken make a sequel already!!!!

    Posted: June 20, 2010 6:50 PM
    XwingVmanX
  • XwingVmanX

    I was hoping this was going to be the last side story before, KH3, but NOOOO he has to remake Coded for the DS and now KH 3D. Just freaken make a sequel already!!!!

    Posted: June 20, 2010 6:38 PM
    XwingVmanX
  • residentevil95

    this game looks hot

    Posted: June 19, 2010 9:14 AM
    residentevil95
  • SoulReaper97

    OMG OMG OMG OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!! gunna Pre-Order it and get the special edition psp!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :O OMG SO EXCITED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Posted: June 19, 2010 7:22 AM
  • NeutraVega

    "There are two main additions to the combat in this outing: D-Link and Focus"

    Isn't the true, big addition of this game the deck commands? I mean, that's what separates it from the previous button-mash-heavy games in the series. More strategy and variety, something the series isn't really known for...

    Posted: June 17, 2010 12:00 AM
    NeutraVega
  • NerdyGamerAddict1

    are they every going to make a kingdom hearts on ps3

    Posted: June 16, 2010 10:29 AM
  • Oathkeeper123

    love the idea of story line just wished that they had done it ORDER. all well cant wait to see it.

    Posted: June 16, 2010 8:04 AM
    Oathkeeper123
  • Antonio_r

    What a psp... ???? =)

    Posted: June 15, 2010 1:48 PM
    Antonio_r
g4tv.com
AdChoices