X

inFamous 2 - PS3

Game Description: Electrified protagonist Cole McGrath returns in Sucker Punch's follow-up to its critically acclaimed third-person action title.
G4TV Rating
4 / 5
  • Avg User Rating
    (42 Ratings)
    4.7 / 5
  • Rate This Game
E3 2010: InFamous 2 Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/games/ps3/62865/infamous-2/articles/71006/e3-2010-infamous-2-preview/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/241043_LGST/infamous2.jpg
Article_71006

E3 2010: InFamous 2 Preview

By - Posted Jun 18, 2010
 
What We Already Know:
 
Sony-loyal (but still independent) developer Sucker Punch made their name with the Sly Cooper series on the PS2. And while we were pleasantly surprised with the announcement of Sly Collection for PS3 -- not enough people, myself included, got around to playing those games -- Sucker Punch's attention this console generation has been squarely on their new IP: the superhero simulator inFamous. inFamous 2 was revealed via magazine cover about a month ago, and fans were taken aback by the hero Cole McGrath's redesign. There's an explanation for that, and it falls in line with Sucker Punch's overall initiative for inFamous 2: "We have to make everything better."
 
 
What We're Seeing Now:

But first, it was time to see gameplay enhancements. In addition to keeping his superpowers from the first game (Sucker Punch didn't want to hit the reset button on players who invested in Cole's story, calling inFamous the "origin story" and inFamous 2 the "battle story"), there's a new melee attack option that relies on a dual-pronged, supercharged cattle prod. Meant to be a representation of direct physical power, this yet-to-be-named weapon is used combo style against enemy thugs and beasts and makes Cole less dependent on ranged attacks.
 
 
We see it in action in the early part of the game on which our demo is based. Picking up right after the events of the first inFamous, Cole finds himself in the city of New Marais (pronounced "Mo-ray"), which is a fictional take on the city of New Orleans. While on the mend after his first encounter with The Beast, he's in New Marais to develop new powers to balance the odds. New Marais is overrun by an extremist, anti-weird people group called The Militia, who are aware of Cole's arrival and instantly use him as a scapegoat for all of the city's troubles. The Militia is led by a man named Bertrand, and we're introduced to him as he delivers a speech to his followers at a public  rally. The speech is interrupted by an ambush of freaks, and Cole springs into action as he wipes out the freaks and pursues a fleeing Bertrand through the city streets.
 
Sony Playstation Infamous 2
 
Sucker Punch is boosting the amount of parkour experiences you'll have, which we saw as Cole lept from buildings and surfed along power lines as Bertrand's limo weaved through the streets below. His agility has increased, and is displayed using improved cinematic presentation techniques that seem heavily influenced by Uncharted 2. In one scene, Cole runs toward the screen, narrowly avoiding rocket fire from a helicopter in pursuit and dodging the ensuing crumbling debris from destroyed city buildings. At the end of the demo, Cole catches up with Bertrand but is knocked off the limo by a helicopter skid. Thoroughly annoyed with enemy whirlybirds, he dispatches an electrically-charged tornado down the street and knocks the chopper out of the sky for good.
 
The morality system from the first game will return, but the developers still aren't sure if decisions made in the first game will carry over into the second game. "We think we know," they said, indicating that they're leaning toward the affirmative, but the technical and design challenges still don't seem to be worked out. And as far as the redesign of Cole himself? Blame the original voice actor. In the Q&A session that followed the demo, it was revealed that as the recording sessions for the first game progressed, Cole's voice got gruffer and tougher, which was antithetical to the concept Sucker Punch originally had for the character. Combined with the need for inFamous 2's voice actor to also be a motion-capture performer based in Los Angeles, the old voice had to go as a matter of practicality. And while the change might be something we have to adjust to, Sucker Punch maintains that this new persona is closer to what they originally thought Cole should be.
 
If their goal is to make "everything better" in inFamous 2, they're off to a good start.

Comments are Closed

  • blackdisney

    I know there suppose to be growth with the character after his experience in "New York"..but having him look like the guy from Uncharted 2 makes him look like any other hero on a video game. How many games you played where its a medium bult white dude with black hair..endless..cant even count. the phrase "Dont f#@@ up the franchise" comes to mind. The new powers are kick ass but his appearance sucks..i hope its a code or dlc to use the old version of Cole cause this guy looks like the guy from that music group Sugar Ray.

    Aside from that I like where this game is going hope the Kharma Meter still in play cause playing Good and Bad Cole was only reason i played it more than one time. If none of this that wow me with first is on here than "congradulations you just f@@@ed up the franchise."

    Posted: June 21, 2010 12:34 AM
    blackdisney
  • randallmcginness

    I really dislike what they did with Cole BUT I will buy this game day 1. I'm hoping gamestops preorder bonus will be old Cole.
    I can understand changing him a little bit. People buy new clothes and there's no saying that Cole didn't have the tattoos before.
    His face looks different and judging by the baldish look he had before, his hair wasn't that dark.
    If the voice ended up being not what they wanted (although I thought it was awesome), then why'd they go with it to begin with? Why not have him change it during the process?

    One thing that worries me are the creatures that come from the swamp. Hopefully there's a good reason why they are mutated creatures there... we know why Cole has superpowers... hopefully they'll explain why others do.

    Posted: June 20, 2010 2:26 PM
    randallmcginness
  • ColeBeans

    to be completely honest........the only reason i bought Infamous 1 was because the main character had my name :) haha, and i honestly did not think the game was that awesome, they can and really need to improve a lot of things in Infamous 2 for me to buy it, and there better be a demo.

    Posted: June 20, 2010 7:39 AM
    ColeBeans
  • AVItalia

    I still like old Cole better, although I will buy this game.

    Posted: June 20, 2010 4:44 AM
    AVItalia
  • tsiper29

    This New Cole SUCKS!!!! I like how the old Cole looked and sounded, I can get past the voice IF COLE LOOKS LIKE HE DID IN THE FIRST INFAMOUS!!!!! I LOVE INFAMOUS!!!!!

    NEW COLE SUCKS BRUSSELSPROUT'S and I hate hate hate hate brusselsprout's and new cole!!!!! Thank you to anyone that would like to join the We hate New Cole League!!! If we make enough noise maybe they'll fix em or give us an option to have Infamous Cole back, he can have the new toy's but he should look like Cole from the first game! My rant is over!!!

    Posted: June 19, 2010 5:42 PM
    tsiper29
  • TheReaver80

    I think they should just keep him the way he was. The original Cole fit the profile of a reluctant super hero type guy who never raelly wanted all the power and drama dropped in his lap. I know I'll buy the game cause the first one was awsome but they are probably gonna turn some people off of this sequel because of the main charecter overhaul. If they wanna make a drastic change they should drop that goober Zeke. I hate that bastard.

    Posted: June 19, 2010 12:41 PM
    TheReaver80
  • ajalogan

    OK... hair can change... you can buy new clothes... you can get tattoos... But it is absolutely ludicrous to expect us to just accept that this is Cole. That is NOT his face and it is NOT his voice. No excuse for the face because you control his looks 100% and if you were having difficulties getting the original voice actor, find somebody who sounds at least close to what Cole sounded like. I loved the original and I almost certainly will get the sequel. The sad thing is that you earned my loyalty with that first game and then you decide to make these wholesale changes that in the end just feel like you think we are stupid and wouldn't notice or wouldn't care. Keep reading the boards. 90%+ of the people are not feeling the new look... not at all. If you care about your fanbase, you should think long and hard about these changes you've made.

    Posted: June 19, 2010 11:30 AM
  • PsychoMunkys

    i realy realy don't like the new Cole

    I think this is gone be like MGS 2 ( and raiden), hope they at least gonne give us the abelty change Cole

    Posted: June 19, 2010 4:44 AM
    PsychoMunkys
  • Luck702

    Where did this brithish chick come from? thoughts anyone?

    Posted: June 18, 2010 8:55 PM
    Luck702
  • ryukenchi

    This is retarded. they are completely throwing us out of the infamous vibe. the old cole was awsome. it was a nice change from the average ever same looking video game superhero and he fitted perfectly in the story. this 'new' cole is too smooth and looks like he doesnt have a care in the world. besides if this is how they wanted him to be in the first place how the hell did they end up with the cole from the first game? wtf. and about that voice thing its all nonsense. nowadays theres alot of techniques that can make u change a persons voice. autotune just to name one of them. they couldve just recorded th normal VA and then change his voice in the pc or something. im not liking this new cole at all.

    Posted: June 18, 2010 8:46 PM
    ryukenchi
  • ryukenchi

    This is retarded. they are completely throwing us out of the infamous vibe. the old cole was awsome. it was a nice change from the average ever same looking video game superhero and he fitted perfectly in the story. this 'new' cole is too smooth and looks like he doesnt have a care in the world. besides if this is how they wanted him to be in the first place how the hell did they end up with the cole from the first game? wtf. and about that voice thing its all nonsense. nowadays theres alot of techniques that can make u change a persons voice. autotune just to name one of them. they couldve just recorded th normal VA and then change his voice in the pc or something. im not liking this new cole at all.

    Posted: June 18, 2010 8:44 PM
    ryukenchi
  • ndumkx316

    New cole is a better one:0

    Posted: June 18, 2010 7:46 PM
  • Flight_Eagle

    I'm going to say... The old Cole had some physical issues after the Ray Sphere incident, so his voice was much rougher and gruffer. Now some time has passed and his voice is less... of that nature.

    And i like his new look. It suits his new Ice powers.

    Posted: June 18, 2010 6:39 PM
    Flight_Eagle
  • electricgeisha

    It is to much of a move from the original Cole..... did he get therapy,come into some cash and use some of his mom's anti ageing cream?

    He is meant to be gritty in an gritty environment. As someone mentioned he looks like he has stumbled out of his Volvo into the bad end of town.

    Oh well, I liked the first and I would say I will like the second but.... the character is just wrong.

    Posted: June 18, 2010 6:12 PM
    electricgeisha
  • Shadow_ben_jamin

    I liked the old Cole better. The new Cole looks badass but the old Cole looked cooler....Just saying...

    Posted: June 18, 2010 4:24 PM
    Shadow_ben_jamin
  • CLUNGEHUNTERPJ

    I don't like either cole, really. the redesign is fine by me if sucker punch wants to keep the character closer to his conception -i didn't like the old Cole - but they could have done somethign ore intersting than 20-30 YEAR-OLD CLASSICALLY HANDSOME WHITE DUDE WITH SHORT BLACK HAIR AND A FAINTLY BLAND COSTUME. There's original, Sucker Punch... at least make it customisable for us, guys. I like my superheroes in super suits, actually. To be honest i can't see myself getting this game. Asassin's creed does open-world better and The force unleashed 2 will do large-scale superpowered combat batter. Dual lightsabers >>> glorified cattleprod

    Posted: June 18, 2010 4:15 PM
    CLUNGEHUNTERPJ
  • linc77

    unless they show me some unbelievable revolutionary gameplay element im gonna wait until this goes until gets to the 20 dollar rack. Im ticked off at the new cole

    Posted: June 18, 2010 3:45 PM
    linc77
  • jflago

    i agree they should keep the original Cole..

    Posted: June 18, 2010 3:30 PM
    jflago
  • Doug Otto

    It looks really cool, and more visceral, but I'm worried they might feel pressured into making it more like Uncharted 2 because they're on the PS3. If the PS3 wants to out-do its competition, they should stick true to more diverse gaming options. Other than that, I think they have a lot of potential where they're taking this IP.

    Posted: June 18, 2010 1:58 PM
    Doug+Otto
  • SilentFan311

    I actually like this Cole way better. Just judging from the trailer, he seems easier to relate to and not so moody and dark. Superhero stuff (thanks to Batman) seems to be leaning towards the darker side, and I like that this new Cole seems to be more of a youthful super hero with some attitude... kind of like Spider-Man or Human Torch!

    Posted: June 18, 2010 1:19 PM
AdChoices