X

Final Fantasy XIV Online - PS3

Final Fantasy XIV Online
Game Description: Square Enix pairs up with producer Hiromichi Tanaka to bring the next chapter in the Final Fantasy franchise with this second MMORPG set to be released in 2010.
G4TV Rating
N/A
  • Avg User Rating
    (2 Ratings)
    1 / 5
  • Rate This Game
Final Fantasy XIV GamesCom 2009 Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/games/pc/62021/final-fantasy-xiv-online/articles/68206/final-fantasy-xiv-gamescom-2009-preview/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/155939_LGST/final-fantasy-xiv-e3-2009.jpg
Article_68206

Final Fantasy XIV GamesCom 2009 Preview

By Andrew Pfister - Posted Aug 21, 2009

The lines on the show floor at Square Enix's booth were too long, so I didn't get the chance to get my hands on Final Fantasy XIV, but I did get the chance to sit in on a roundtable interview with global online producer Sage Sundi and game producer Hiromichi Tanaka.

The game itself was running in the background, but whoever was playing was just running around in the pretty (but empty) open field, so little insight was gained from a gameplay perspective. But we did hit on a few topics of interest to MMO fans looking forward to Final Fantasy XI's successor.

 

Why no Player vs. Player combat? Because the team wanted to focus primarily on designing the best possible PvE (player vs. environment) game they could. Should the playerbase start requesting PvP at some point down the road, the team is definitely open to the idea -- and it would likely come in the form of arena-based competition. Sorry, gankers.

Encouraging group play throughout the game? The game's switchable skill system means that it's unlikely that you won't be able to find a complementary team to take on quests...versatility and adaptability will be a key.

Cross-platform play between PS3 and PC players? Yep.

In-game voice chat? Nope. At least, not right now due to voice chat not being a standard "everyone has it" feature on either the PC or PS3 platforms. But like PvP, they'll evaluate player feedback as the game starts to take form.

Lessons learned from Final Fantasy XI? Learning from player feedback was highly important, and it's something they're carrying into Final Fantasy XIV -- including building an even larger team of GMs (game masters) to support the playerbase.

 

Continued support for Final Fantasy XI? They don't have a certain end-date yet for shutting down Final Fantasy XI and they don't intend on actively forcing or encouraging Final Fantasy XI players to make the jump to Final Fantasy XIV. They want players to have the option to do one or the other (or both)...but do admit that all good things must eventually come to an end.

Chocobos coming back? They will for sure, but not necessarily as a mode of transportation. On that point, the duo was intentionally vague.

Comments are Closed

  • Axier

    Instead of making a different world to make an RPG why the hell wouldn't they choose the obvious choice of Ivalice? FF XII and Tactics where both great ways of starting an RPG. Tactics had a great class system they could adapt for an MMO, and FFXII had a live action combat style that functioned quite well. Lame new worlds are lame...

    Posted: September 26, 2009 7:55 PM
    Axier
  • VayMasters

    I'm just glad there's on one game out there that doesn't insist on having PVP.

    Posted: August 24, 2009 2:08 PM
    VayMasters
  • racdanny

    1. when the game launches people will request voice chat and they will update it
    2.sony did not design the game so dont blame them
    3. this game is gonna be awesome and it will get better with new content so dont complain to us, ask square enix

    Posted: August 24, 2009 1:27 PM
    racdanny
  • morval

    i cant wait for this game. i dont know why all the complaining about voice chat? ffxi didnt have it on PS2. i just hope there no delays.

    Posted: August 24, 2009 6:53 AM
    morval
  • Steelslug

    lol no voive chat for ps3 owners? ,ps3 owners will never be allowed into a serious raid group without voice chat,wtf is sony thinking? seriously.

    Posted: August 24, 2009 3:46 AM
    Steelslug
  • badfellowz

    No in-game voice chat is a real bummer. I am a long time FFXI player, and with just PC users playing, keyboard was acceptable. But not everyone has keyboard for ps3 (headset , not keyboard). I think they should seriously think about having in-game voice as an option. You need communication in a game like this.

    Posted: August 23, 2009 6:31 PM
    badfellowz
  • prodigykidd

    ok, no pvp, no in-game voice chat (for a seriously retarded reason), and NO LEVELING? i mean, this must be the dumbest mmo. these are literaly the main things a mmo should have. i know they're trying to be different but... dont

    Posted: August 23, 2009 10:58 AM
    prodigykidd
  • Joykill38

    i live ffxi its a gr8 game im gonna get it for my ps3 the day it comes out does anyone know a hard release date and if they change the release to 2011 im gonna shizz a chicken hahahahaha and my faith im humanity will b lost hhahaah

    Posted: August 23, 2009 10:43 AM
    Joykill38
  • RiseAndShine

    hmmm pve in online is a bit... bland for me...
    I was really looking forward to this game but oh well.

    Posted: August 23, 2009 7:48 AM
    RiseAndShine
  • Aonami

    off topic: 1:05, why do I see Chris Redfield?! o_O
    on topic: another reason to get a PS3 Slim

    Posted: August 22, 2009 11:42 PM
    Aonami
  • Darkhearts7

    I am planning to buy it for both PC and PS3 So I can play it on the road, but i think that it needs voice chat i dont want to sit close to my tv just so i can read the chat window and type.....

    Posted: August 22, 2009 11:02 AM
    Darkhearts7
  • jigsaw808

    wth? no in-game voice chatting cause it's not the standard "everyone has?" thats bs! if that were the case not everyone has a keyboard for their ps3 so no keyboards enabled? i seriously believe that if they allow for in game voice chat that consumers/gamers will get headsets. its software moving hardware. the ps3 makes it easy for users to get headsets considering it's nearly universal compatibility w/ bluetooth phone headsets. move into the new gen of games.... just my opinion tho.

    Posted: August 22, 2009 1:32 AM
    jigsaw808
  • dropslash

    Funny how the FFXI playerbase has never had an issue with the amount of GMs for the game, just their astounding incompetence, lack of knowledge about the game they're involved in, and general uselessness when it comes to handling important issues. More of them? Awesome.

    Posted: August 21, 2009 4:27 PM
    dropslash
  • zeke_a_leak

    im not really a mmo player but i might have to check this out. im even less of a pc gamer so ill be pickin it up for ye old ps3

    Posted: August 21, 2009 3:29 PM
    zeke_a_leak
g4tv.com
AdChoices