X

Guild Wars 2 - PC

Guild Wars 2
  • Publisher: NCsoft
  • Genre:RPG, MMO
  • Developer: ArenaNet
  • Release Date:Aug 28, 2012
  • # of Players:1 player
  • ESRB:T - Teen (Blood, Mild Language, Use of Alcohol, Violence)
  • Platforms:
Game Description:For generations, war and chaos raged across the land of Tyria. Five great races competed and warred against each other, struggling to tip the balance of power in their favor. Then the dragons woke. The all-powerful beasts stirred from their millennial sleep under earth and sea. With their magical breath the dragons spread destruction and created legions of twisted slaves. A deathless dragon named Zhaitan raised the sunken nation of Orr, triggering earthquakes and tidal waves that destroyed entire cities across the Sea of Sorrows. Zhaitan's undead armies surged from the sea, hungry for the destruction of the five races of Tyria: the charr, a ferocious race of feline warriors; the asura, magical inventors of small size and great intellect; the norn, towering shapeshifters from the frigid northern lands; the sylvari, a mysterious young race of visionary plant folk; and the humans, an embattled but resilient people. Now heroes from the five races must set aside ancient rivalries and stand together against their common enemies. Magic, technology, and cold steel will determine the ultimate fate of the world.
G4TV Rating
5 / 5
  • Avg User Rating
    (15 Ratings)
    4.5 / 5
  • Rate This Game
Guild Wars 2 GDC 2011 Preview -- Meet the Thief
http://www.g4tv.com/games/pc/45299/guild-wars-2/articles/73772/guild-wars-2-gdc-2011-preview-meet-the-thief/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/248019_LGST/guild-wars-2.jpg
Article_73772

Guild Wars 2 GDC 2011 Preview -- Meet the Thief

By Nikole Zivalich - Posted Mar 03, 2011

Guild Wars 2

Guild Wars 2 is an upcoming MMORPG that wants gamers to rethink the way they look at MMOs. Guild Wars 2 takes place 250 years after the events of Guild Wars. This time elemental dragons have awoken, forcing the land of Tyria into chaos. In order to save their homes, all five races must work together.

The idea of a personal story is important to Guild Wars 2. When you play, you don't just choose a race and inherit the race's backstory. Instead you choose how your character will play. Before the game even starts, you're asked a series of survey questions, some have immediate effects on the game while others play out over time. This biography mode determines the way villagers will approach you and the way you interact with NPCs.

Guild Wars 2 is built heavily on the idea that gamers shouldn't be told what to do via mountains of text. You won't see scrolls of words in this game, instead you'll see your next quest before your eyes. Dynamic Events are in-game actions that happen in real time, in front of you. Instead of finding a text telling you of a Centaur attack, you'll actually see, and then be attacked by, Centaurs. Events in the game play out as you're playing, and it's up to you take action. To help with this, the main map has icons showing you where Dynamic Events may take place.

Dynamic Events don't just let you know what you should be doing. The way you deal with the actions around you determine the entire outcome of the game. For example, if you know an attack is coming, you can either let the village burn or try to repel the attack. If you choose the former, that village will burn down. So if you want to use its resources or find its side quests, you'll then have to work with the villagers to rebuild it.

These events are also immediate. The second you see a monster attack a group of NPCs is the second you can attack. These sequences encourage gamers to work together to help stop in-game disasters and chaos. Gamers aren't competing for XP either. As long as you participate in the event, you'll reap the rewards. This is yet another way Guild Wars 2 is different from other MMOs. The game's makers don’t want you to spend your time fighting other gamers, rather they want you to play with them.

During the live gameplay demo, I watched one of these events unfold. A group of pirates were attacking a village, and several homes were already burning. Working with other gamers from NCSoft, the characters were able to save the town. Taking action earns you karma, the game's in-game currency, which can be used to purchase items, and upgrades.

Team work is important, and this becomes apparent as your life bar is depleted. When your health bar runs out, your character doesn't die. He or she will fall to the ground. Once immobile, a new task bar will appear with several attacks, allowing you to still attack enemies while you're down. It will then be up to another player to revive you.

Guild Wars 2

The GDC demo of Guild Wars 2 also offered up our first glimpse of the thief. The thief is the latest of the eight professions to be revealed. Every one of the five races can play as a thief, and some of his abilities include stealth, shadow step and stealing.

Everyone who plays the game will have a home instance that your character can call home. How you play the game, who you help, and the choices you make determine the buildings and inhabitants of your home. If you play your cards right, you can even have monuments in your honor built for you there. How’s that for humble?

Guild Wars 2 will enter a beta this year, and NCSoft says it will be released "when it's ready. "

Comments are Closed

  • Simon_TH3SH1T

    I have a feeling this game will be fun at first but will definately get boring pretty quick. I see its downfall being Repetitive imo, based on how much Blizz has packed into Wow

    Posted: March 6, 2011 6:15 PM
  • HardBaller

    @ ZoMbIEx23x

    Not everything is on the gw2 website. I've seen the demo from gdc11 and the thief is a really cool class. And about the stealing. It's not that you steal money from everybody. But you can steal the weapon of you oponent and use it against him/her/it. Thief's can also dual wield pistols witch is an amazing feature :D.

    Can't wait to start playing this game.

    Posted: March 6, 2011 2:06 AM
  • Spybreak

    I wasn't going to read or watch this because I didn't want to get excited. Damn it, I caved.

    Posted: March 5, 2011 6:30 PM
    Spybreak
  • RPG-fan

    Why Nikole is previewing this game? It's not that she shouldn't be previewing this game but I thought Leah was the MMO expert apart from Casey Schreiner in G4.

    Posted: March 5, 2011 5:31 PM
    RPG-fan
  • ZoMbIEx23x

    The video above is of the guardian profession not the thief which disappoints me. They haven't officially announced that profession because it isn't on their site. Cool nonetheless that the assassin(thief) will be returning to Guild Wars. Can't wait for GW2 since I played WoW I can't stand to play GW.

    Posted: March 5, 2011 2:25 PM
    ZoMbIEx23x
  • gvdhsg

    I cannot wait but I noticed one skill was stealing. What is with that skill? If they have it so you can steal things the thief will have an advantage economically. Well I trust ANet to fix any balancing.

    Posted: March 5, 2011 7:37 AM
  • Greibach

    Nice preview, I've been following the development the whole time and you summed it up nicely. They are doing a lot of really cool things to encourage teamwork and discourage grind. In their experience system, you get the same EXP as anyone else who fights, and it isn't divided based on the number of players. So if killing a wolf would give you 50 exp, two people killing that wolf would both get 50 exp. The goal is to never make players mad at other players for being there helping. Also, Dynamic Events scale upwards in difficulty as more people show up to keep things interesting. Anyone interested in learning more should check out guildwars2.com for official stuff, or guildwars2guru.com for a very popular fan-forum.

    Posted: March 4, 2011 9:26 AM
    Greibach
  • koolboricua

    ok that just sounds too damn amazing, i want to play this game now.

    Posted: March 4, 2011 8:42 AM
    koolboricua
g4tv.com
AdChoices