X

Borderlands - PC

Borderlands
  • Publisher: 2K Games
  • Genre:Action, RPG
  • Developer: Gearbox Software
  • Release Date:Oct 26, 2009
  • # of Players:1 player, 4 online
  • ESRB:M - Mature (Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Mature Humor, Strong Language)
  • Platforms:
Game Description: Borderlands is a sprawling sci-fi action/role-playing game set in the deep recesses of space, featuring randomized terrain, enemies, and weapon permutations numbering in the hundreds of thousands. There are four playable characters each with their own special abilities and attributes, and lengthy quest chains that yield experience and new loot.
G4TV Rating
N/A
  • Avg User Rating
    (15 Ratings)
    4.7 / 5
  • Rate This Game
Preview: Borderlands: The Secret Armory Of General Knoxx
http://www.g4tv.com/games/pc/47775/borderlands/articles/69958/preview-borderlands-the-secret-armory-of-general-knoxx/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/216019_LGST/borderlands-general-knoxx.jpg
Article_69958

Preview: Borderlands: The Secret Armory Of General Knoxx

By Rob Manuel - Posted Feb 19, 2010

Borderlands DLC: The Secret Armory of General Knoxx

No one makes it past the boss.

It was as much of a warning as it was a statement. From what we’ve seen of Borderland’s new DLC, "The Secret Armory of General Knoxx," the level of gameplay as well as the difficulty has been ratcheted up for experienced players and the merely suicidal. Even in the new Monster vehicle, the three-rocket launcher on the back only slows down the invasion of flying probes – an enemy specifically designed to rip apart your wheels.

We didn’t have to do that. All we needed to do was cross a twisted hundred-yard stretch of dry Earth and kill a man. That’s all. Think of it as a very pretty death march.

We started off by filling in the allotted skill points. Being now closer to the new level cap of 61, I had a few more points to stretch out across Brick’s abilities. I managed to touch all three skill trees with enough points to round out the brute’s character. My partner took his time with the soldier until he was satisfied. We scurried through the rock formation. Three minutes later, we would be dead.

They came charging at us like mad men. Take one large blood thirsty Skag and put a midget on top of it. What you get is a stampede of Skag riders coming to tear us a new one. Each rider and Skag act independently of each other. If one falls, the other just keeps going. And like most of the new enemies in the game, there’s a badass version. In our case, there were two of them… on top of us… and all we could do was die and respawn right outside the vehicle.

It seemed like forever just to take out the first rush of Skag riders. The second rush was just as equally unkind. A bit of running and respawning took care of them as we crossed the arid wasteland that was once the bottom of a lake. Illuminated coral clung to the high arched ceilings. Out in the distance, a metal structure rose into the sky. This would be our destination – the Crimson Lance base.

Borderlands DLC: The Secret Armory of General Knoxx

We had traveled too far to respawn. It would take forever again just to make it over the Skag infested area. Death meant losing everything we had worked on until this point and possibly the end of the demo. In my giant cumbersome hand, I pulled out my sniper rifle to scope out the situation.

There were four of them wandering around outside of the base with our target peaking out every so often. I found the new Medic Lancer, a new class with the ability to heal others, and fired. He fell after a couple of shots. Two engineers started moving towards us, just waiting to throw down turrets. A Pyro even made it out but we killed him before he could throw out the new flamethrower turret.

When facing the new Red Lancers, you’ll need a variety of weapons with many different effects. Each class now has their own strengths and weaknesses. While they all usually keep to the same area, you might want to keep and extra elemental weapon just to be on the safe side.

I won’t go into how the final battle against out target played out other than we did the impossible. He went down and I let my partner pick up the special gun he was carrying.  Our guides gasped and cheered as we delivered the final blow. They encouraged us to go on, never knowing what would lie beyond the unbeatable boss. When the giant robot came into view, rockets blasting and massive arms swinging away, we knew that they had picked the right name for him – Devastator.

Grueling was to put it kindly.  This massive heap of metal put up a fight that would rival some of the earlier bosses of the game. Our guides just grinned as I pounded away at his knees with my bare fists.

Oh, they said, that’s just the small one.
 

Comments are Closed

  • salll

    what is this for

    Posted: July 27, 2010 12:26 PM
    salll
  • Xodi

    im lvl 61 yay

    Posted: February 24, 2010 11:00 AM
    Xodi
  • hamster_doom360

    I think the reason the level cap is 61 is because of the Mad Moxxi DLC, which granted a bonus skill point upon completing the Prove Yourself challenge and each long challenge coming to a total of 4 points. Add on the 11 points given by the new DLC level cap and you have 15 points, which is just enough to max out three additional skills. This is only speculation mind you because I have only completed the Prove Yourself challenge but I did receive a skill point at the time of completion. I can only assume that completing the other challenges does the same. Thus is my reasoning.

    Posted: February 23, 2010 9:58 AM
    hamster_doom360
  • wowgoldgate

    cheap wow gold from wowgoldgate. now you can get the coupon code: g4tv1 and g4tv3 queckly :)

    Posted: February 22, 2010 11:32 PM
    wowgoldgate
  • Wolfknuck

    cant wait to get it, im sure its gonna be good.

    Posted: February 22, 2010 6:11 PM
    Wolfknuck
  • PixAlchemist

    Did I read this wrong or is the new lvl cap going to be 61? That just seems weird to me. But I'm still buying this no matter what!

    Posted: February 22, 2010 4:40 PM
    PixAlchemist
  • WARLORDV

    one more thing the characters will be more animated and move and talk and stuff instead of just sit and or stand there

    Posted: February 22, 2010 12:24 PM
    WARLORDV
  • WARLORDV

    oh and the level will be raised to 61 cause they wanted to raise it one more than fallout 3's dlc did

    Posted: February 22, 2010 12:19 PM
    WARLORDV
  • WARLORDV

    there will be 2 new cars the lances apc which seats 4 ppl and the monster which shoot homing missles and i belive seats 3, also a new type of weapons crate will be add and its bigger and has a better chance of getting better weapons, mad moxie from the last dlc will be in this one, this dlc continues the main story, there will be alot of character in the story and to fight, and it should be out before the end of the month.

    Posted: February 22, 2010 12:18 PM
    WARLORDV
  • TheFeedMack

    not to mention level cap raise

    Posted: February 21, 2010 10:49 PM
    TheFeedMack
  • TheFeedMack

    gearbox is so awesome they put in borderlands anything missing that it should have zombies , a horde mode but the horde mode wasnt that great i wanted spiderants in it and now new vehicles weapons possibly a flamethrower new ai and some menacing new creatures with a giant wastelands to add on the heep of dead fun in the borderlands i cant wait

    Posted: February 21, 2010 10:48 PM
    TheFeedMack
  • teraMEL0S

    I really hated spending ten dollars on Mad Moxxi! That's what I got for having faith in your DLC quality after Zombie Island. Fortunately, you listened and kick me right upside the head with this gargantuan pile of awesome! Thank you, Gearbox!!

    Posted: February 21, 2010 1:39 AM
    teraMEL0S
  • StubbyfromKCMO

    How can anyone be done with Mad Moxxi? There are 3 more levels opened up and at 100 levels apiece, should keep anyone busy for quite some time. Unless you cheat. True it has been out for a while, but still.

    Took me and couple other guys 2 HOURS of playing just to get to level 80 something. Still had a few levels left for just that map. Needless to say, Life gets in the way. Bathroom breaks, dinner, work, family...game has to stop for a while somehow.

    But this sounds like it will be fun times! Cant wait.

    Posted: February 20, 2010 10:02 AM
    StubbyfromKCMO
  • Crock-a-duck Enthusiast

    Eh, the gunplay truly is fantastic but until they decide to capitalize more on the great sense of humor we got glimpses of and actually merge that great gameplay with the story and context that it deserves and would keep it interesting, I'll wait for the sequel. Here's hoping that the sequel is like assassin's creed 2 in that it takes the mechanics and art style that worked so well in the first game, spares us the monotony of rote repetition of the first title, and give us the game that it deserved to be in the all along.

    Posted: February 20, 2010 12:49 AM
    Crock-a-duck+Enthusiast
  • Really_another_Sequel?

    Wow, I can't wait! Really enjoyed Zombie Island (outrageously funny), still need to download Underdome first though. I am really excited for this dlc.

    Posted: February 19, 2010 3:26 PM
    Really_another_Sequel%3f
  • m1michael

    Fun time with friends again with missions!!!! Level caps are a big add as well. Can't wait.. Anyone know when it's coming out??

    Posted: February 19, 2010 3:13 PM
    m1michael
  • Hoss70

    Holy S. This is frigging awesome.

    Posted: February 19, 2010 1:07 PM
    Hoss70
  • Wozman23

    Can't wait. I was a bit disappointed with the Mad Moxxi arenas, so I'm glad to see them going back to a mission-structured add on. Unlike a lot of people, I don't really care a bout the level cap, I just want a new area to explore.

    Posted: February 19, 2010 12:50 PM
    Wozman23
  • VeggieWokker

    Does the new level cap take into account all of the experience gained since you reached the previous cap? In other words, do you jump up a few levels just by installing the dlc?

    Posted: February 19, 2010 12:31 PM
    VeggieWokker
  • benh20

    Sounds great, definitely ready for more Borderlands content

    Posted: February 19, 2010 12:29 PM
    benh20
g4tv.com
AdChoices